# **Central Connecticut State University**

## Report Pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes Section 10a – 55m January 1, 2017 – December 31, 2017

Prepared by the CCSU Office of Diversity and Equity



CCSU is an equal opportunity employer and educator.

## **Enclosed Documents**

- Narrative
- Sexual Violence Statistics and Data
- Policies
- Written Notification
- Resources
- Presentations
- Posters

Narrative

()

#### Narrative

#### Introduction

Central Connecticut State University (CCSU) is a regional, comprehensive public university dedicated to learning in the liberal arts and sciences and to education for the professions. The University is located in New Britain, CT and has been an important part of that city's educational and cultural life since CCSU's founding. It is comprised of the following schools – Business, Education & Professional Studies, Graduate Studies, Science, Engineering & Technology, and the Carol Ammon College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences.

CCSU is the largest of four comprehensive universities within the Connecticut State University System (CSUS). It serves nearly 11,800 students (9,800 undergraduates and 2,000 graduate students). Female students account for 48 percent of the student population; males 52 percent. CCSU is richly diverse: more than 30 percent of students are students of color; African American students comprise 11 percent, Latinos nearly 12 percent, and Asians approximately 3 percent of the student body.

#### Sexual Violence Prevention Efforts

CCSU utilizes a comprehensive, multi-level approach to the prevention of sexual violence. Programs and awareness initiatives are provided to students in a variety of settings and formats throughout the entirety of the calendar year. Prevention is an on-going aspect of the educational environment.

Students at CCSU engage in prevention strategies before they even begin classes. In the summer before their first year, students are required to complete an on-line training focused on sexual violence prevention. At student orientation, parents and guardians are then presented information about sexual violence and guidance on how to talk to their student about these issues. Directly before classes begin, new students also participate in a 90-minute in-person program focused on consent and bystander intervention.

As the fall semester begins, students soon notice the blanket of physical "red flags" on Vance Lawn, marking the start of the Red Flag Campaign, an annual project focused on intimate partner violence awareness and prevention. Hundreds of students interact with the CCSU staff who facilitate brief classroom presentations focused on relationship violence, during the campaign. Students may also attend a "Red Flag" campus-wide event or read one of the posters distributed throughout campus highlighting red flags of abuse, and how students can both help a friend and access help for themselves.

As the fall semester moves forward, residential students have the opportunity to take part in programming, held in each hall, focused on sexual violence and facilitated by staff from the Office of Diversity and Equity (ODE), Office of Victim Advocacy (OVA) and the Ruth Boyea Women's Center. This is also when NCAA athletic teams begin their mandatory training program with OVA. CCSU regularly hosts speakers throughout the fall semester with special expertise or experience on sexual violence. Faculty across the university incentivize students to attend these events through extra credit or assignments.

As the spring semester begins, so does the Stand UP CCSU campaign. This project, developed by student peer educators, entails presentations, major events, a poster campaign and an educational social media presence. Thousands of students interact with Stand UP in different capacities, culminating in a large outdoor event focused on bystander intervention. The spring semester is also when seminal events such as Take Back the Night, organized by the Ruth Boyea Women's Center, take place. Each spring, students classified as seniors or graduate students are additionally required to complete another on-line training.

As CCSU students engage in prevention efforts, so do faculty and staff. All employees are required to complete annual Title IX training to be up to date on their responsibilities when receiving disclosures or complaints of sexual misconduct, as well as to be fully informed of their own rights on campus. The training is provided both in-person and on-line. Employees also participate in numerous committees, notably the Sexual Assault and Interpersonal Violence Resource Team (SART), focused on addressing issues of sexual violence. Faculty and staff throughout the campus community, lend their expertise and experience to benefit the CCSU community.

#### **Reportable Data**

#### Students - Incidences of Sexual Violence

A total of sixty-six (66) disclosures and reports, involving students, were made to a non-confidential employee at CCSU throughout calendar year 2017.

#### Disclosures

A total of forty-four (44) disclosures of sexual assault, intimate partner violence or stalking were made to a non-confidential employee at CCSU. Of these disclosures, twenty-six (26) were sexual assaults, sixteen (16) involved intimate partner violence and two (2) involved stalking. Disclosures are when information about sexual violence is communicated but there is no request for an investigation or adjudication. However, these individuals were all offered advocacy services, appropriate accommodations when applicable and support in making connections with a variety of campus and community resources.

#### Reports

A total of twenty-two (22) individuals reported experiencing sexual assault, intimate partner violence or stalking to a non-confidential employee at CCSU. A report indicates that there was a disclosure of sexual violence accompanied by an immediate request for an investigation and adjudication or there was a disclosure which included enough information (i.e., name of the accused, location and description of incident) that internal investigators were obligated to move forward with an investigation. Twelve (12) of the reports resulted in investigation by the CCSU Office of Student Conduct (OSC). Ten (10) reports did not result in a in an investigation by Student Conduct. The following data was provided by the CCSU Office of the Vice-President of Student Affairs and the CCSU Office of Student Conduct (OSC).

#### Sexual Assault Reports

A total of ten (10) sexual assaults were reported to CCSU in 2017. Seven (7) of these reports resulted in an investigation from the Office of Student Conduct (OSC), with the following outcomes:

- One (1) report resulted in disciplinary action, which included a four year suspension from CSCU colleges.
- After a pre-hearing investigation was conducted by the Office of Student Conduct, it was determined in three (3) reports that the evaluated behavior did not amount to a violation of prohibited conduct.
- After an initial review in one (1) case, it was determined that the reported behavior had occurred when the accused student was not a student at CCSU and, therefore, the CCSU Office of Student Conduct did not have the jurisdiction to adjudicate the report. A no-contact order and academic accommodations were put in place. Support services from OVA were provided to the reporting student.
- In one (1) report, brought by a third-party, no victims were identified and no action was taken by OSC.
- Student Conduct conducted a pre-investigation of one (1) third-party report, but did not issue an outcome. The alleged victim in the matter did not respond to outreach from the OVA.

Additionally, three (3) of the sexual assault reports did not result in an investigation by the Office of Student Conduct, for the following reasons:

- In two (2) of the initial reports, the reporting parties provided initial information and then withdrew from participating in the conduct process. No outcome was issued by the CCSU Office of Student Conduct. The interim Director of the CCSU Office of Student Conduct is currently reaching out to the reporting parties.
- In one (1) of the initial reports to a non-confidential employee, OSC did not initiate an investigation. The matter is currently under review by that office.

#### Intimate Partner Violence Reports

A total of eight (8) incidents of intimate partner violence were reported to CCSU. Of these reports, three (3) reports resulted in an investigation being conducted by OSC, resulting in the following outcomes.

- Two (2) reports resulted in disciplinary action from the OSC. Both reports resulted in a two-semester suspension and additional educational requirements for the responding party.
- After a pre-hearing investigation, it was determined in one (1) report that the evaluated behavior did not amount to a violation of prohibited conduct.

Five (5) reports of intimate partner violence did not result in an investigation from the Office of Student Conduct, for the following reasons.

- In four (4) of the reports, the accused person was not a student or employee at CCSU and so, outside of the authority of Student Conduct or the Office of Diversity and Equity. However, CCSU police responded to all four of those reports.
- One (1) of the reports was made by a third-party. When the alleged victim was approached about the report they denied any abuse had ever occurred.

#### Stalking Reports

A total of four (4) reports of stalking were made to CCSU in 2017. Two (2) of the reports resulted in an investigation by the Office of Student Conduct, with the following outcomes:

- After a pre-hearing investigation, it was determined in one (1) report that the evaluated behavior did not amount to a violation of prohibited conduct.
- After an initial review of one (1) of the reports, the reporting party requested an informal resolution to the incident. The OSC received a second report in 2018 and met with the accused student and their parents to address the matter informally.

Two (2) of the reports did not result in an investigation by the Office of Student Conduct, for the following reasons:

- In one (1) of the reports, the accused person was not a student or employee at CCSU and so, outside of the authority of Student Conduct or the Office of Diversity and Equity. However, CCSU police did respond to the report.
- One (1) report of stalking was made by the same individual who reported a sexual assault, included in the previous section. In this matter, the reporting party provided initial information to the OSC and then declined to participate further in the process. Student Conduct did not issue an outcome.

#### Employees - Incidences of Sexual Violence

Throughout the 2017 calendar year, two (2) reports of sexual violence were made to CCSU and zero (0) disclosures. Both of these reports involved an employee accused of sexual assault. One report was investigated by the Office of Diversity and Equity, who found that the accused person had violated the CSCU Board of Regents Sexual Misconduct Reporting, Support Services and Processes Policy. The result of this process was that the employee was not re-hired by CCSU. The second report was investigated by an outside law firm. The employee is currently on administrative leave pending disciplinary review.

#### Total Anonymous and Confidential Reports and Disclosures

The University Police monitors an on-line form where individuals can report anonymous crimes, including those of sexual assault, intimate partner violence stalking. In 2017 there were zero (0) anonymous report.

The only employees on the CCSU campus who are able to receive confidential disclosures of sexual assault, intimate partner violence and stalking are licensed counselors in the CCSU Student Wellness Services. That following data was provided by the CCSU Student Wellness Services as an estimate of confidential disclosures throughout 2017:

- Sexual assault: 28
- Intimate Partner Violence: 7
- Stalking: 0

It is important to note that these confidential disclosures could potentially also be included in the Total Reported Incidents of Sexual Violence (see Sexual Violence Reportable Statistics and Data, Table III). Some students may disclose to a confidential counselor and also make a report or disclosure to a non-confidential employee at the university.

Sexual Violence Statistics and Data

)



## SEXUAL VIOLENCE REPORTABLE STATISTICS AND DATA

## CSCU INSTITUTION: Central Connecticut State University REPORTING OFFICE/DEPARTMENT: Office of Diversity and Equity INSTITUTION CONTACT: Rosa Rodriguez, Chief Diversity Officer/Title IX Officer YEAR: 2018

		Number of Programs:		
Program Category	Prevention:	Awareness:	Risk Reduction:	
Sexual Assault	58	56	3	
Stalking	30	37	3	
Intimate Partner Violence	30	60	3	
	Program T			
	(List and Describe Eac	n Program Typej		
PREVENTION				
Spring 2017				
Stand Up CCSU – Community O Type of program: Prevention (se				
Number of sessions offered: On				
Audience: CCSU students who w		ammunity organizer prog	ram	
Number of participants: Eleven				
Description: Following an applic		ess eleven students were	selected to be a part of	
peer education program focuse				
where they participated in work				
strategic planning session to dev				
		I		
Student Support Seminar – Hea	lthy Relationships			
Type of program: Prevention (se		rtner violence, stalking)		
Number of sessions offered: Tw				
Audience: NCAA Student Athlet	es			
Number of participants: Twenty	-eight (28) approximate			
Number of participants, twenty		ablester able office of Mint	$\lim_{n \to \infty} \Delta dv \alpha c \alpha c v (\Omega)(\Delta)$	
	ne CCSU Department of A	thietics, the Office of Vici	(ITT AUVOLACY (OVA)	
Description: At the request of the provided an intensive seminar c				
Description: At the request of th	on relationships to NCAA	athletic teams. The majo	rity of teams completed	
Description: At the request of the provided an intensive seminar of the training in the Fall of 2016. The purpose of the training was	n relationships to NCAA Two additional teams co to provide a space for st	athletic teams. The majo mpleted the requirement udents to consider what	rity of teams completed in the Spring of 2017. they want from a	
Description: At the request of the provided an intensive seminar of the training in the Fall of 2016.	n relationships to NCAA Two additional teams co to provide a space for st	athletic teams. The majo mpleted the requirement udents to consider what	rity of teams completed in the Spring of 2017. they want from a	

#### Stand UP CCSU Classroom Presentations

Type of program: Prevention (sexual assault) Number of sessions: Twenty-four (24) Audience: Students

Number of participants: Eight-hundred (800) approximate

Description: Student peer educators developed a twenty minute presentation to open discussion about sexual assault myths, bystander intervention and resources within classrooms. Facilitators for this brief intervention were a Stand UP CCSU community organizers and professional staff from OVA.

#### Stand Up Day

Type of program: Prevention (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking)

Number of sessions offered: One (1)

Audience: Students, employees and community members

Number of participants: Six-hundred (600) approximate

Description: This campus wide event was developed and implemented by the Stand Up CCSU Community Organizers. The four hour long event was held outside of the Student Center. Students could stop by and learn about resources, take part in a bystander intervention themed activity, sign the Stand Up pledge and have their picture taken with their own Stand Up message.

## Courage through Controversy: Standing up to Rape Culture (A keynote address by Kamilah Willingham)

Type of program: Prevention (sexual assault)

Number of sessions: One (1)

Audience: Students

Number of participants: Three-hundred and fifty (350) approximate

Description: This keynote address explored rape myths that cloud our understanding of sexual violence, the importance of compassion for others and ourselves as we challenge rape culture and the future of the movement to end gender-based violence.

#### Take Back the Night March: NBA Player, Child Sexual Abuse Survivor, Mr. Keyon Dooling

Type of program: Prevention (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking)

Number of sessions offered: One (1)

Audience: Students, faculty and staff

Number of participants: One-hundred and fifty (150) approximate

Description: At this annual event, hosted by the CCSU Ruth Boyea Women's Center and Student Government Association, former NBA player Mr. Keyon Dooling served as a keynote speaker. During his 12th season as a professional Basketball player, Dooling was at the top of his game as the designated team leader of the Boston Celtics. Known for firing up his teammates with the challenge, "What's driving you?" – found himself a few months later locked away in a mental institution, confused, frightened and on the verge of losing everything. Students heard his experience of sexual abuse and journey to healing.

The Secret, The Reveal, The Triumph: Mr. Keyon Dooling Type of program: Prevention (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking) Number of sessions offered: One (1) Audience: NCAA Student Athletes Number of participants: twenty-five (25) Description: An NBA great who has always appeared to have it together experienced a serious mental breakdown, landing him in a Boston area mental hospital. Over-medicated, paranoid and hallucinating all of which was brought on by the trauma he endured as a child – What's Driving You? How I Overcame Abuse and Learned to Lead in the NBA. Mr. Dooling speaks and meets with CCSU men's basketball team to discuss sexual violence and men's violence against women/men.

## Summer 2017

## **Orientation – Community Expectations**

Type of program: Prevention (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking)

Number of sessions offered: Twelve (12)

Audience: Parents of CCSU Students

Number of participants: Eight-hundred and seventy (870) approximate

Description: Throughout the summer of 2017 the Office of Victim Advocacy participated in a panel, directed at parents and family members of incoming students. Information was provided on the reality of sexual and interpersonal violence on college campuses. Participants were given tips on how to speak with their student about these issues prior to coming to campus.

## Sexual Violence Prevention Program (on-line)

Type of program: Prevention (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking)

Number of sessions offered: On-Line

Audience: Incoming and Transfer CCSU students

Number of participants: 1,513 (one-thousand five-hundred and thirteen)

Description: The CCSU Office of Diversity and Equity and Department of Student Affairs collaborate in requiring incoming students to complete an evidence-based, on-line training. This module provides information about campus policies, definitions, campus and community resources, scenarios to identify signs of abusive behaviors, information on bystander intervention, scenarios to build skills and confidence to intervene and steps to support victims/survivors of sexual violence.

## Sexual Assault Prevention and Title IX Training for Resident Assistants

Type of program: Prevention (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking)

Number of sessions: Two (2)

Audience: Resident Assistants

Number of participants: Ninety-Three (93) approximate

Description: All Resident Assistants complete required training on an annual basis. Facilitated by staff from the Office of Victim Advocacy, new Resident Assistants receive training in consent, alcohol and sexual violence, dynamics of relationship violence, rape myths, and stalking behavior. Both new and returning resident assistants then participate in a training on policies, protocols, response and their particular responsibilities as Resident Assistants. An extensive portion of the training in 2017 focused on building bystander intervention skills and empathy for survivors.

## Bringing in the Bystander "Train the Trainer"

Type of program: Prevention (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking) Number of sessions: Two (2) Audience: Faculty, staff and students from CSCU campuses

Number of participants: Fifty (50)

Description: In collaboration with the CSCU SAFE Grant, CCSU hosted two "train-the-trainer" workshops on campus. The workshop, facilitated by SAFE Grant members, trained campus community members to

facilitate Bringing in the Bystander (BITB), an evidence based program, on their home campus. Approximately thirty (30) faculty, staff and students from CCSU were trained.

#### Fall 2017

#### **Sex Signals**

Type of program: Prevention (sexual assault)

Number of sessions offered: Two (2)

Audience: Incoming CCSU undergraduate students

Number of participants: One thousand (1,000)

Description: CCSU offers a comprehensive orientation for new students each summer. At Orientation 2017 students were required to attend "Sex Signals" a 90-minute, interactive program facilitated by two trained professionals. The program focuses on beliefs, attitudes and behavior that can lead to sexual violence, the difference between seduction and coercion, consent, how to identify predatory behavior and how to intervene to support members of the CCSU community. Additionally, incoming students were informed of campus resources

#### Why We Say Something: A Conversation with Everyday CCSU Activists Working to End Relationship Violence

Type of program: Prevention (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking)

Number of sessions offered: One (1)

Audience: Students, faculty and staff

Number of participants: Four-Hundred (400) approximate

Description: As a part of the Fall 2017 Red Flag Campaign, The Office of Diversity and Equity hosted the a forum on how individuals can play a role in ending relationship violence. The panel, moderated by Sarah Dodd (CCSU Office of Victim Advocacy), showcased real stories of bystander intervention, helping friends and family and connecting with resources on and off campus.

#### **Bringing in the Bystander – NCAA Athletes**

Type of program: Prevention (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking)

Number of sessions: Seven (7)

Audience: NCAA Student Athletes

Number of participants: One-hundred and fifty-seven (157)

Description: Bringing in the Bystander (BITB) is an evidence-based program intended to both increase participant understanding of the dynamics of interpersonal violence, elicit increased empathy for survivors and build safe and effective Bystander Intervention Skills. All NCAA athletes completed the 90 minute training during the 2017 – 2018 academic year. Approximately half of the teams participated during the fall 2017 semester.

#### AWARENESS

Spring 2017

#### Love Jones Café

Type of program: Awareness (sexual assault, intimate partner violence and stalking) Number of sessions offered: One (1) Audience: Students, Faculty and Staff Number of participants: Sixty (60) approximate Description: This program, developed by the CCSU Ruth Boyea Women's Center, was an evening mixed with spoken words, poetry, singing lyrics representing the art and beauty in healthy relationships. Information is distributed to audience members that includes brochures on dating violence, sexual violence and other aspects of unhealthy relationships, while highlighting the characteristics of a Healthy Relationship.

## The Hunting Ground: Film Screening and Guided Discussion

Type of program: Awareness (sexual assault)

Number of sessions: One (1) Audience: Students

Number of participants: Twenty-five (25)

Description: At this program students were able to view the award winning film, *The Hunting Ground*, followed by a guided discussion facilitated by the Stand Up Community Organizers.

## Free Zumba Class and Clothing Drive for the YWCA Sexual Assault Crisis Services (SACS)

Type of program: Awareness (sexual assault) Number of sessions: One (1)

Audience: Students

Number of participants: Thirty (30)

Description: Participants at this event were able to attend a free Zumba class if they brought a donation item for the YWCA of New Britain SACS. Prior to the class, representatives of the YWCA SACS gave a brief presentation on their services.

## International Women's Strike: Solidarity is our Weapon, Let's March

Type of program: Awareness (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking)

Number of sessions offered: One (1)

Audience: Students, faculty and staff

Number of participants: one-hundred and seventy-five (175)

Description: A campus wide speak out with women addressing the importance of their solidarity should they wish to change the world. The women proclaimed the following, "We, the Women of the World are fed up with violence addressed at us, be it physical, economic, verbal or moral. We will no longer tolerate it passively. We demand that our governments stop using misogynistic insults and start taking real measures to solve the numerous problems related to our safety: free access to medical care including abortion, the establishment of severe legal penalties to be applied to our oppressors in cases of rape, domestic violence and every gender-based crime we are experiencing increasingly. We demand our governments enforce effective secularization and recognize that before our biological conditions, we are first of all human beings."

Fall 2017

## Dare to be a Blue Devil

Type of program: Awareness (sexual assault)

Number of sessions offered: Two (2)

Audience: Incoming CCSU students (freshman and transfer)

Number of participants: 1,000 (approximate)

Description: This 90 minute training is a required component of Orientation for new students. Facilitated by the Director of Student Conduct, the Coordinator of Wellness Education and the Chief of Police, participants receive information on their responsibilities under the Student Code of Conduct. Facilitators discussed the dynamics of sexual assault.

#### Sweatpants Drive

Type of program: Awareness (sexual assault) Number of sessions offered: N/A Audience: Students, faculty and staff Number of participants: fifty (50) Description: A program initiated by the CCSU Ruth Boyea Women's Center, that brings awareness to the needs of Sexual Assault Victims/Survivors and the importance of Hospital Rape Kits for evidence collection.

#### **Red Flag – Classroom Presentations**

Type of program: Awareness (intimate partner violence) Number of sessions offered: Eighteen (18) Audience: Students Number of participants: six-hundred (600) approximate Description: Staff from the Office of Victim Advocacy facilitated 20 minute classroom presentations that focused on aspects of healthy relationships, signs of abusive relationships and how to help a friend who is in an abusive relationship. Resources for students both on and off campus were also discussed. Presentations reached students in a variety of different disciplines across campus.

#### Recognizing Stalking and Intimate Partner Violence on Campus – Facilitated Discussion with Daniel Cargill

Type of program: Awareness (stalking, intimate partner violence)

Number of sessions offered: One (1)

Audience: Students

Number of participants: one-hundred (100) approximate

Description: Cargill is the Director of Law Enforcement Services for the Connecticut Coalition Against Domestic Violence (CCADV). Prior to coming to work at CCADV, Cargill spent twenty years working for the Connecticut State Police, where he spent several years as an Adjunct Professor and P.O.S.T. certified instructor training law enforcement in various topics including Law Enforcements Response to Domestic Violence.

Throughout Spring 2017 and Fall 2017

#### Sexual Assault and Interpersonal Violence Resource Team (SART) Meetings

Type of program: Awareness (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking) Number of sessions offered: Four (4)

Audience: Administrators, faculty, staff, students and community partners.

Number of Participants: Between eight (8) and twenty (20) approximate / meeting

Description: The CCSU SART Team is a group of faculty, staff, students and community partners who meet regularly throughout the academic year to provide leadership to the campus community regarding the prevention and response to sexual assault and interpersonal violence. The team receives regular training. In 2017 training included a workshop on the criminal justice process by Assistant State's Attorney Elizabeth Moseley and a presentation on new Title IX guidance from the Office of Civil Rights by Carolyn Magnan(CCSU General Counsel) and Rosa Rodriguez (Chief Diversity Officer/Title IX Officer).

Sexual Assault Awareness Residence Hall Training

Type of program: Awareness (sexual assault) Number of sessions offered: Sixteen (16) Audience: Students living in the CCSU Residence Halls Number of Participants: Three-hundred and one (301) Description: Throughout the beginning of the fall and spring semesters staff from the Ruth Boyea Women's Center and the CCSU Office of Victim Advocacy, in coordination with Residence Life, facilitated sexual assault awareness programs in each of the Residence Halls. The one hour training focused on the definition of sexual assault and resources for students both on and off campus.

## **Intimate Partner Violence Residence Hall Training**

Type of program: Awareness (intimate partner violence)

Number of sessions offered: Five (5)

Audience: Students living in the CCSU Residence Halls

Number of Participants: Sixty-nine (69)

Description: Facilitators from the Women's Center and OVA, in coordination with Residence Life, facilitated intimate partner awareness programs in some of the Residence Halls. The one hour workshop focused on healthy relationships and red-flags for abusive behaviors. Resources and reporting options were also discussed.

## Initial Title IX Training for CCSU Employees - In-Person

Type of program: Awareness (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking)

Number of sessions offered: Six (6)

Audience: CCSU employees

Number of participants: Eighty-eight (88)

Description: This three hour session is offered regularly to all CCSU employees. Facilitated by staff from the OVA, the workshop focuses on understanding CCSU's policy and protocol as it pertains to Title IX and sexual misconduct, CCSU employee responsibilities under these policies and under state and federal law and how to assist colleagues and students who may have experienced sexual misconduct. An in-depth lecture and discussion regarding the reality of sexual assault, intimate partner violence and stalking on campus is conducted. Participants are also provided information on resources and referrals both on and off campus.

## Title IX Training for CCSU Employees – On-Line

Type of program: Awareness (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking)

Number of sessions offered: Offered to all employees on-line

Audience: CCSU employees

Number of participants: Five-hundred and seventy-nine (579)

Description: All CCSU employees are required to attend annual Title IX training. This training is offered both in person and on-line. The on-line session covers policy and procedure related to sexual misconduct, employee responsibilities, sexual assault, intimate partner violence and stalking.

## Title IX Refresher Training for CCSU Employees

Type of program: Awareness (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking) Number of sessions offered: Twenty-One (21)

Audience: CCSU Employees who have already completed an initial Title IX Training

Number of participants: Three-hundred and ten (310)

Description: This 45 minute training, facilitated by staff from the Office of Victim Advocacy, is required on an annual basis for all employees who have completed a three-hour initial training or the full on-line training. The training focuses on updates to policy, protocol and relevant legislation. Participants also review their responsibilities as CCSU employees and discuss a case study. Resources from both on and off campus are also discussed.

## Other Awareness Initiatives

"How to Help" Manuals

Type of program: Awareness (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking)

Number of sessions offered: N/ A

Audience: CCSU employees, students

Number of participants: 10,000 approximate

Description: "How to Help" manuals include basic information on sexual assault, stalking and intimate partner violence, resources on and off campus, reporting options, victim rights and how individuals can help prevent violence. Approximately 10,000 copies were distributed in 2016 at events, "tabling" in the student center, at new student and employee orientations, in the residence halls, in classroom presentations and in offices throughout the CCSU campus. Note: All new students and employees received copies of the Policy and Procedure booklet, How to Help Booklet and an informational pamphlet that includes definitions and contact names for on- and off-campus resources.

## "Pipeline" Announcement

Type of program: Awareness (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking)

Number of sessions offered : N/ A

Audience: CCSU employees, students

Number of participants: Unknown

Description: At the beginning of each semester, CCSU posts an announcement on the Central Pipeline (student, faculty and staff on-line portal) on student resources for sexual assault and interpersonal violence prevention and awareness and new policy changes.

## **Risk Reduction**

## Live Safe App

Type of program: Risk Reduction (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking) Number of sessions offered: N/A

Audience: CCSU employees and students, family and friends of CCSU community members Number of participants: 1,209 individuals using app

Description: CCSU now offers a mobile safety app--LiveSafe--that enables individuals to report tips to CCSU Police, use friends as "virtual escorts" in real time, place emergency calls, and access safety features. CCSU's LiveSafe app provides students, faculty and staff with a direct connection to CCSU Police so that everyone can easily communicate their safety needs. Its easy-to-use features help you stay safe and enable us to better protect you.

## Campus "Blue Lights

Type of program: Risk Reduction (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking) Number of sessions offered: N/A Audience: CCSU employees and students

Number of participants: N/A

Description: The University has installed approximately 100 well-paced emergency telephones on campus that automatically dial into the police dispatch center on campus.

## Police Safety Escort Service

Type of program: Risk Reduction (sexual assault, intimate partner violence, stalking) Number of sessions offered: N/A Audience: CCSU employees and students Number of participants: N/A Description: Concerned students or employees at CCSU can call the CCSU Police and will be escorted to their destination (within the campus). Escorts include police student workers, public safety assistants and police officers.

	Number of Campaigns:					
Campaign Category	Prevention:	Awareness:				
Sexual Assault	1	1				
Stalking						
Intimate Partner Violence	1	1				
	Campaign Types: (List and Describe Each Campaign 1	Гуре)				

**Stand Up CCSU** is a student-led bystander intervention campaign that focuses on the prevention of sexual assault, intimate partner violence and stalking.

Summary of Initiatives

## Peer Education Program

Stand Up CCSU is primarily led by students. In the fall of 2016 recruitment began for the Stand Up CCSU Community Organizer program. After an application and interview process, twelve students were ultimately selected to be a part of the program. These students were provided a full day of training on sexual and interpersonal violence and prevention strategies. They then facilitated classroom presentations, developed a poster campaign and planned outreach events.

## Freeze Mob

Stand UP CCSU community organizers recruited approximately fifty of their peers to implement a freeze mob in the Student Center. Participants froze in place, holding posters with facts and information about sexual assault at CCSU. They stayed "frozen" for two minutes. The event drew attention and facilitated discussion on the issue of sexual violence.

## Twenty-Four (24) Bystander Intervention Classroom Presentations

At the beginning of the spring 2017 semester a sub-committee of community organizers developed a twenty minute presentation for classrooms with assistance from their advisor. They then reached out to faculty across campus. The community organizers co-facilitated presentations in 24 classrooms, directly reaching approximately 800 students. Their presentation focused on sexual assault myths, bystander intervention and resources on campus. They reached students from a variety of disciplines including math, English, business, manufacturing, criminal justice, sociology, psychology and geology.

#### Outreach Events (Described in previous section)

- > The Hunting Ground: Film Screening and Guided Discussion
- Courage through Controversy: Standing up to Rape Culture (Keynote Event with Kamilah Willingham)
- Stand Up Day
- > Free Zumba Class and Clothing Drive for the YWCA Sexual Assault Crisis Services (SACS)

#### **Poster Campaign**

The community organizers began developing the poster campaign during their initial training. After much reflection they developed a campaign that featured each of the community organizers in a poster with a message that either challenged a rape myth or sent a message of support to survivors. As a group they designed the concept, took the photographs and created an implementation plan. Additionally, the organizers invited the President of the university to be featured in a poster. Thirteen unique posters were developed and distributed throughout campus.

#### Social Media

Photos, events, poster campaign promotion and links were shared on an on-going basis on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

"WE BELIEVE YOU" CAMPAIGN - SPRING 2017

The Ruth Boyea Women's Center developed and distributed a poster campaign focused on ending victim blaming and shaming. Additional goals of the campaign were to promote institutional courage and support for individuals who experienced sexual violence. T-shirts were distributed along with fact cards providing statistics and campus resources.

WHITE RIBBON CAMPAIGN - FALL 2017

The White Ribbon Campaign is a global movement of men and boys working to end male violence against women and girls. It was formed by a group of pro-feminist men in London, Ontario in November 1991 as a response to the École Polytechnique massacre of female students by Marc Lépine in 1989. The campaign was intended to raise awareness about the prevalence of male violence against women, with the ribbon symbolizing "the idea of men giving up their arms. The movement seeks to promote healthy relationships, gender equity, and a compassionate vision of masculinity. The Ruth Boyea Women's Center promoted the campaign on the CCSU campus.

## **RED FLAG CAMPAIGN - FALL 2017**

**The Red Flag Campaign** is an annual project to address and prevent dating violence in our community. This campaign features a series of posters illustrating behaviors (red flags) that may be present in a relationship in which dating violence is occurring, 15 minute presentations facilitated by members of the Red Flag Campaign Committee and several programs. Attention is drawn to the campaign through the use of physical red flags being placed throughout the campus at the start of the campaign.

Summary of initiatives

- > Physical red flags distributed across campus
- > Red Flag posters hung throughout campus residence halls, academic buildings and other facilities
- Classroom Presentations
- Event: Recognizing Stalking and Intimate Partner Violence on Campus A Facilitated Discussion with Daniel Cargill
- Red Flag Campaign Scavenger Hunt
- Event: Why we say something: A conversation with everyday CCSU activists working to end relationship violence
- Rev. 6/2018

III. TOTAL REPORTED INCIDENCES OF SEXUAL VIOLENCE:					
Incident Category Number of Incidents Reported: Number of Incidents Disclo					
Sexual Assault	12	26			
Stalking	4	2			
Intimate Partner Violence	8	16			

1.1 1.1	WE VERSE	Final Outcome:					and man of the second	
Case Category	Total Number of Cases:	Warning:	Probation:	Suspension:	Expulsi on:	Persona Non Grata (PNG):	Sanctions/ Sexual Violence Remediation:	Other:
Sexual Assault	7			1. Eight semester suspension		1.PNG	1.Complete on-line module: personal decision making	2.Outside of student conduct jurisdiction. 3. Evaluated behavior did not amount to a violation of prohibited conduct

- J.					 		
- 1						2.No-contact	and no disciplinary
						order in place	charges were filed.
			0			3. No-contact	4. Evaluated
						order in place.	behavior did not
						4.No Contact	amount to a
						order in	violation of
						place	prohibited conduct
							and no disciplinary
							charges were filed.
							5. Evaluated
							behavior did not
							amount to a
							violation of
							prohibited conduct
							and no disciplinary
							charges were filed.
							6. No action taken
							by Student Conduct
							7. Pre-investigation
							by Student Conduct
				0			but no outcome
				 	 		issued.
	Stalking	2					1. Evaluated
							behavior did not
$\leq$							amount to a violation
							of prohibited
							conduct and no
							disciplinary charges
							were filed.
							2. Informal
							resolution requested
							by reporting party
	Intimate	3		1.Two	1.PNG		3. Evaluated
- 1	Partner		1	semester	2.PNG	, complete	behavior did not
	Violence			suspension			amount to a violation
				2.Two		training	of prohibited
				semester		modules:	conduct and no
				suspension		healthy	disciplinary charges
						relationship,	were filed.
						anger	
						management	
						, personal	
						decision	
						making.	
						2.	
						Assessment,	
						complete the	
						following	

	training modules: healthy relationship, anger management , personal decision making. 3. No contact order in place.
--	---

Appeal	Total Outcome of Appeal Decision:			
Category	Number of Cases:	Upheld:	Overturned:	
Sexual Assault				
Stalking				
Intimate	1	Upheld		
Partner Violence				

	Total		201 31	Final Outcome	e:	
Case Category	Number of Cases:	Reprimand:	Education/ Training:	Administrative Leave:	Termination:	Other:
Sexual Assault	2			1.Administrative leave pending disciplinary review		2.Not re-hired by the university
Stalking						
Intimate Partner Violence						

V.b. FINAL OUTCOMES OF APP	EALS OF ORIGINAL OUTCOMES OF ( (EMPLOYEES):	CASES RELATING TO SEXUAL VIOLENCE		
Appeal Outcome of Appeal Decision:				
Category	Upheld:	Overturned:		
Sexual Assault				
Stalking				

ł,

Intimate Partner Violence	

VI. TOTAL ANONYMOUS OR CONFIDENTIAL SEXUAL VIOLENCE REPORTS OR DISCLOSURES TO THE INSTITUTION:							
Cotogony	Number o	of Reports:	Number of Disclosures:				
Category	Anonymous:	Confidential:	Anonymous:	Confidential:			
Sexual Assault	0			28			
Stalking	0			0			
Intimate Partner Violence	0			7			

*\*"Sexual Violence"* was used aggregately to encompass sexual assault, stalking, and intimate partner violence, as defined by C.G.S. The full text of each of the above reportables is as follows:

- I. A copy of its most recent policies regarding sexual assault, stalking and intimate partner violence;
- II. A copy of its most recent concise written notification of the rights and options of a student or employee who reports or discloses an alleged violation of its sexual assault, stalking and intimate partner violence policy or policies;
- III. The number and type of sexual assault, stalking and intimate partner violence prevention, awareness and risk reduction programs at the institution;
- IV. The type of sexual assault, stalking and intimate partner violence prevention and awareness campaigns held by the institution;
- V. The number of incidences of sexual assault, stalking and intimate partner violence reported or disclosed to such institution;
- VI. The number of confidential or anonymous reports or disclosures to the institution of sexual assault, stalking and intimate partner violence;
- VII. The number of disciplinary cases at the institution related to sexual assault, stalking and intimate partner violence; and
- VIII. The final outcome of all disciplinary cases at the institution related to sexual assault, stalking and intimate partner violence, including, but not limited to, the outcome of any appeals of such final outcome, to the extent reporting on such outcomes does not conflict with federal law.

## STATUTORY REFERENCES AND DEFINITIONS

#### SEXUAL ASSAULT

**Sec. 53a-70.** Sexual assault in the first degree: Class B or A felony. (a) A person is guilty of sexual assault in the first degree when such person (1) compels another person to engage in sexual intercourse by the use of force against such other person or a third person, or by the threat of use of force against such

other person or against a third person which reasonably causes such person to fear physical injury to such person or a third person, or (2) engages in sexual intercourse with another person and such other person is under thirteen years of age and the actor is more than two years older than such person, or (3) commits sexual assault in the second degree as provided in section 53a-71 and in the commission of such offense is aided by two or more other persons actually present, or (4) engages in sexual intercourse with another person and such other person is mentally incapacitated to the extent that such other person is unable to consent to such sexual intercourse.

(b) (1) Except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection, sexual assault in the first degree is a class B felony for which two years of the sentence imposed may not be suspended or reduced by the court or, if the victim of the offense is under ten years of age, for which ten years of the sentence imposed may not be suspended or reduced by the court.

(2) Sexual assault in the first degree is a class A felony if the offense is a violation of subdivision (1) of subsection (a) of this section and the victim of the offense is under sixteen years of age or the offense is a violation of subdivision (2) of subsection (a) of this section. Any person found guilty under said subdivision (1) or (2) shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of which ten years of the sentence imposed may not be suspended or reduced by the court if the victim is under ten years of age or of which five years of the sentence imposed may not be suspended or reduced by the court if the victim is under sixteen years of age.

(3) Any person found guilty under this section shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of at least ten years, a portion of which may be suspended, except as provided in subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection, or a term of imprisonment and a period of special parole pursuant to subsection (b) of section 53a-28 which together constitute a sentence of at least ten years. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of section 53a-29 and except as otherwise provided in this subsection, a court may suspend a portion of a sentence imposed under this subsection and impose a period of supervised probation pursuant to subsection (f) of section 53a-29.

Sec. 53a-71. Sexual assault in the second degree: Class C or B felony. (a) A person is guilty of sexual assault in the second degree when such person engages in sexual intercourse with another person and: (1) Such other person is thirteen years of age or older but under sixteen years of age and the actor is more than three years older than such other person; or (2) such other person is impaired because of mental disability or disease to the extent that such other person is unable to consent to such sexual intercourse; or (3) such other person is physically helpless; or (4) such other person is less than eighteen years old and the actor is such person's guardian or otherwise responsible for the general supervision of such person's welfare; or (5) such other person is in custody of law or detained in a hospital or other institution and the actor has supervisory or disciplinary authority over such other person; or (6) the actor is a psychotherapist and such other person is (A) a patient of the actor and the sexual intercourse occurs during the psychotherapy session, (B) a patient or former patient of the actor and such patient or former patient is emotionally dependent upon the actor, or (C) a patient or former patient of the actor and the sexual intercourse occurs by means of therapeutic deception; or (7) the actor accomplishes the sexual intercourse by means of false representation that the sexual intercourse is for a bona fide medical purpose by a health care professional; or (8) the actor is a school employee and such other person is a student enrolled in a school in which the actor works or a school under the jurisdiction of the local or regional board of education which employs the actor; or (9) the actor is a coach in an athletic activity or a person who provides intensive, ongoing instruction and such other person is a recipient of coaching or instruction from the actor and (A) is a secondary school student and receives such coaching or instruction in a secondary school setting, or (B) is under eighteen years of age; or (10) the actor is twenty years of age or older and stands in a position of power, authority or supervision over such other person by virtue of the actor's professional, legal, occupational or volunteer status and such other person's participation in a program or activity, and such other person is under eighteen years of age; or (11) such other person is placed or receiving services under the direction of the Commissioner of Developmental Services in any

public or private facility or program and the actor has supervisory or disciplinary authority over such other person.

(b) Sexual assault in the second degree is a class C felony or, if the victim of the offense is under sixteen years of age, a class B felony, and any person found guilty under this section shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of which nine months of the sentence imposed may not be suspended or reduced by the court.

**Sec. 53a-72a.** Sexual assault in the third degree: Class D or C felony. (a) A person is guilty of sexual assault in the third degree when such person (1) compels another person to submit to sexual contact (A) by the use of force against such other person or a third person, or (B) by the threat of use of force against such other person, which reasonably causes such other person to fear physical injury to himself or herself or a third person, or (2) engages in sexual intercourse with another person whom the actor knows to be related to him or her within any of the degrees of kindred specified in section 46b-21.

(b) Sexual assault in the third degree is a class D felony or, if the victim of the offense is under sixteen years of age, a class C felony.

Sec. 53a-73a. Sexual assault in the fourth degree: Class A misdemeanor or class D felony. (a) A person is guilty of sexual assault in the fourth degree when: (1) Such person subjects another person to sexual contact who is (A) under thirteen years of age and the actor is more than two years older than such other person, or (B) thirteen years of age or older but under fifteen years of age and the actor is more than three years older than such other person, or (C) mentally incapacitated or impaired because of mental disability or disease to the extent that such other person is unable to consent to such sexual contact, or (D) physically helpless, or (E) less than eighteen years old and the actor is such other person's guardian or otherwise responsible for the general supervision of such other person's welfare, or (F) in custody of law or detained in a hospital or other institution and the actor has supervisory or disciplinary authority over such other person; or (2) such person subjects another person to sexual contact without such other person's consent; or (3) such person engages in sexual contact with an animal or dead body; or (4) such person is a psychotherapist and subjects another person to sexual contact who is (A) a patient of the actor and the sexual contact occurs during the psychotherapy session, or (B) a patient or former patient of the actor and such patient or former patient is emotionally dependent upon the actor, or (C) a patient or former patient of the actor and the sexual contact occurs by means of therapeutic deception; or (5) such person subjects another person to sexual contact and accomplishes the sexual contact by means of false representation that the sexual contact is for a bona fide medical purpose by a health care professional; or (6) such person is a school employee and subjects another person to sexual contact who is a student enrolled in a school in which the actor works or a school under the jurisdiction of the local or regional board of education which employs the actor; or (7) such person is a coach in an athletic activity or a person who provides intensive, ongoing instruction and subjects another person to sexual contact who is a recipient of coaching or instruction from the actor and (A) is a secondary school student and receives such coaching or instruction in a secondary school setting, or (B) is under eighteen years of age; or (8) such person subjects another person to sexual contact and (A) the actor is twenty years of age or older and stands in a position of power, authority or supervision over such other person by virtue of the actor's professional, legal, occupational or volunteer status and such other person's participation in a program or activity, and (B) such other person is under eighteen years of age; or (9) such person subjects another person to sexual contact who is placed or receiving services under the direction of the Commissioner of Developmental Services in any public or private facility or program and the actor has supervisory or disciplinary authority over such other person.

(b) Sexual assault in the fourth degree is a class A misdemeanor or, if the victim of the offense is under sixteen years of age, a class D felony.

## SEXUAL ASSAULT/INTIMATE PARTNER VIOLENCE

Sec. 10a-55m. (a) (1) "Affirmative Consent" means an active, clear and voluntary agreement by a person to engage in sexual activity with another person.

**Sec. 10a-55m. (a) (5)** "*Intimate partner violence*" means any physical or sexual harm against an individual by a current or former spouse of or person in a dating relationship with such individual that results from any action by such spouse or such person that may be classified as a sexual assault under section 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-70b, 53a-71, 53a-72a, 53a-72b or 53a-73a, stalking under section 53a-181c, 53a-181d or 53a-181e, or family violence as designated under section 46b-38h.

**Sec. 53a-70b.** Sexual assault in spousal or cohabiting relationship: Class B felony. (a) For the purposes of this section:

(1)"Sexual intercourse" means vaginal intercourse, anal intercourse, fellatio or cunnilingus between persons regardless of sex. Penetration, however slight, is sufficient to complete vaginal intercourse, anal intercourse or fellatio and does not require emission of semen. Penetration may be committed by an object manipulated by the actor into the genital or anal opening of the victim's body; and (2) "Use of force" means: (A) Use of a dangerous instrument; or (B) use of actual physical force or violence or superior physical strength against the victim.

(b) No spouse or cohabitor shall compel the other spouse or cohabitor to engage in sexual intercourse by the use of force against such other spouse or cohabitor, or by the threat of the use of force against such other spouse or cohabitor which reasonably causes such other spouse or cohabitor to fear physical injury.(c) Any person who violates any provision of this section shall be guilty of a class B felony for which two years of the sentence imposed may not be suspended or reduced by the court.

## **STALKING**

**Sec. 53a-181c.** *Stalking in the first degree: Class D felony.* (a) A person is guilty of stalking in the first degree when such person commits stalking in the second degree as provided in section 53a-181d and (1) such person has previously been convicted of a violation of section 53a-181d, or (2) such conduct violates a court order in effect at the time of the offense, or (3) the other person is under sixteen years of age.

(b) Stalking in the first degree is a class D felony.

**Sec. 53a-181d.** *Stalking in the second degree: Class A misdemeanor.* (a) For the purposes of this section, "course of conduct" means two or more acts, including, but not limited to, acts in which a person directly, indirectly or through a third party, by any action, method, device or means, (1) follows, lies in wait for, monitors, observes, surveils, threatens, harasses, communicates with or sends unwanted gifts to, a person, or (2) interferes with a person's property.

(b) A person is guilty of stalking in the second degree when:

(1)Such person knowingly engages in a course of conduct directed at a specific person that would cause a reasonable person to fear for such person's physical safety or the physical safety of a third person; or (2) Such person intentionally, and for no legitimate purpose, engages in a course of conduct directed at a specific person that would cause a reasonable person to fear that such person's employment, business or career is threatened, where (A) such conduct consists of the actor telephoning to, appearing at or initiating

communication or contact at such other person's place of employment or business, provided the actor was previously and clearly informed to cease such conduct, and (B) such conduct does not consist of constitutionally protected activity.

(c) Stalking in the second degree is a class A misdemeanor.

Sec. 53a-181e. Stalking in the third degree: Class B misdemeanor. (a) A person is guilty of stalking in the third degree when he recklessly causes another person to reasonably fear for his physical safety by wilfully and repeatedly following or lying in wait for such other person.
(b) Stalking in the third degree is a class B misdemeanor.

## PROGRAMMING:

**Sec. 10a-55m. (a) (2)** "Awareness programming" means institutional action designed to inform the campus community of the affirmative consent standard used pursuant to subdivision (1) of subsection (b) of this section, and communicate the prevalence of sexual assaults, stalking and intimate partner violence, including the nature and number of cases of sexual assault, stalking and intimate partner violence reported at or disclosed to each institution of higher education in the preceding three calendar years, including, but not limited to, poster and flyer campaigns, electronic communications, films, guest speakers, symposia, conferences, seminars or panel discussions;

**Sec. 10a-55m. (a) (6)** "*Primary prevention programming*" means institutional action and strategies intended to prevent sexual assault, stalking and intimate partner violence before it occurs by means of changing social norms and other approaches, including, but not limited to, poster and flyer campaigns, electronic communications, films, guest speakers, symposia, conferences, seminars or panel discussions;

#### "Risk Reduction"

*"Risk Reduction"* is not statutorily defined. However, the Federal regulations for the Violence Against Women Act amendments to the Clery Act (VAWA), provides the following definition:

• Risk reduction means options designed to decrease perpetration and bystander inaction, and to increase empowerment for victims in order to promote safety and to help individuals and communities address conditions that facilitate violence.

While VAWA's definition is criticized as implying that victims can prevent sexual violence by participating in risk reduction programs, it is still helpful in categorizing institution's sexual violence programs and initiatives for reporting purposes. Examples of risk reduction programs related to sexual violence include, but are not limited to, the following: blue safety lights on campus, self-defense classes, safety tips, bystander intervention techniques, the buddy system, rape whistles, and related educational programing.

#### <u>CONCERNING "REPORTS" vs. "DISCLOSURES" IN PART IV OF THE</u> <u>AFOREMENTIONED:</u>

A *disclosure* is a communication of an incident of sexual violence not accompanied with a request for an investigation or adjudication, although there may be a request for accommodations and referral to services.

A *report* is a disclosure accompanied by an immediate request for an investigation and adjudication.

Please direct all inquiries concerning this handbook to Gregory F. Daniels, Assistant Counsel, Connecticut State Colleges and Universities, at 860-723-0018 or <u>DanielsG@ct.edu</u>. Policies

J

5.2	Sexual Misconduct Reporting, Support Services and	16-067	2016-06-16
	Processes		

## 5.2 Sexual Misconduct Reporting, Support Services and Processes Policy

## Statement of Policy

The Board of Regents for Higher Education (BOR) in conjunction with the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities (CSCU) is committed to insuring that each member of every BOR governed college and university community has the opportunity to participate fully in the process of education and development. The BOR and CSCU strive to maintain a safe and welcoming environment free from acts of sexual misconduct, intimate partner violence and stalking. It is the intent of the BOR and each of its colleges or universities to provide safety, privacy and support to victims of sexual misconduct and intimate partner violence.

The BOR strongly encourages victims to report any instance of sexual misconduct, including sexual harassment, sexual assault, sexual exploitation, stalking and intimate partner violence, as an effective means of taking action by reporting such acts to the appropriate officials and pursuing criminal or disciplinary remedies, or both. The only way that action can be taken against anyone who violates another in such a manner is through reporting. Each and every BOR governed college and university shall provide those who report sexual misconduct with many supportive options, including referral to agencies that provide medical attention, counseling, legal services, advocacy, referrals and general information regarding sexual misconduct. Each and every BOR governed college and university will preserve the confidentiality of those who report sexual misconduct to the fullest extent possible and allowed by law. All BOR and CSCU employees, victim support persons and community victim advocates being consulted will make any limits of confidentiality clear before any disclosure of facts takes place. Other than confidential resources as defined above, in addition to employees who qualify as Campus Security Authorities under the Jeanne Clery Act, all BOR and CSCU employees are required to immediately communicate to the institution's designated recipient any disclosure or report of sexual misconduct received from a student as well as communicate any disclosure or report of sexual misconduct the employee received from another employee when misconduct is related to the business of the institution.

Affirmative consent must be given by all parties before engaging in sexual activity. Affirmative consent means an active, clear and voluntary agreement by a person to engage in sexual activity with another person. Sexual misconduct, as defined herein, is a violation of BOR policies and, in addition, may subject an accused student or employee to criminal penalties. The BOR and each of its governed colleges and universities are committed to providing an environment free of personal offenses. Sexual relationships of any kind between staff/faculty and students are discouraged pursuant to BOR policy.

The Board of Regents for Higher Education hereby directs the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities to implement the Policy stated above pursuant to the following provisions:

Terms, Usage and Standards

Sexual Misconduct Reporting Support Services and Processes Policy

**Consent** must be affirmed and given freely, willingly, and knowingly of each participant to desired sexual involvement. Consent is a mutually affirmative, conscious decision – indicated clearly by words or actions – to engage in mutually accepted sexual contact. Consent may be revoked at any time during the sexual activity by any person engaged in the activity.

Affirmative consent may never be assumed because there is no physical resistance or other negative response. A person who initially consents to sexual activity shall be deemed not to have affirmatively consented to any such activity which occurs after that consent is withdrawn. It is the responsibility of each person to assure that he or she has the affirmative consent of all persons engaged in the sexual activity to engage in the sexual activity and that affirmative consent is sustained throughout the sexual activity. It shall not be a valid excuse to an alleged lack of affirmative consent that the student or employee responding to the alleged violation believed that the student reporting or disclosing the alleged violation consented to the activity (i) because the responding student or employee was intoxicated or reckless or failed to take reasonable steps to ascertain whether the student or employee reporting or disclosing the alleged violation affirmatively consented, or (ii) if the responding student or employee knew or should have known that the student or employee reporting or disclosing the alleged violation was unable to consent because the student or employee was unconscious, asleep, unable to communicate due to a mental or physical condition, or incapacitated due to the influence of drugs, alcohol or medication. The existence of a past or current dating or sexual relationship between the persons involved in the alleged violation shall not be determinative of a finding of affirmative consent.

**<u>Report</u>** of sexual misconduct is the receipt of a communication of an incident of sexual misconduct accompanied by a request for an investigation or adjudication by the institution.

**Disclosure** is the receipt of any communication of an incident of sexual misconduct that is not accompanied by a request for an investigation or adjudication by the institution.

Sexual misconduct includes engaging in any of the following behaviors:

- (a) Sexual harassment, which can include any unwelcome sexual advance or request for sexual favors, or any conduct of a sexual nature when submission to such conduct is made either explicitly or implicitly a term or condition of an individual's education or employment; submission to or rejection of such conduct by an individual is used as a basis for academic or employment decisions affecting the individual; or such conduct has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an individual's academic or work performance or creating an intimidating, hostile or offensive educational or employment environment. Examples of conduct which may constitute sexual harassment include but are not limited to:
  - sexual flirtation, touching, advances or propositions
  - verbal abuse of a sexual nature
  - pressure to engage in sexual activity
  - graphic or suggestive comments about an individual's dress or appearance
  - use of sexually degrading words to describe an individual
  - display of sexually suggestive objects, pictures or photographs

Approved by Board of Regents 1/15/15 revised 6/16/16

Sexual Misconduct Reporting Support Services and Processes Policy

- sexual jokes
- stereotypic comments based upon gender
- threats, demands or suggestions that retention of one's educational status is contingent upon toleration of or acquiescence in sexual advances.

Retaliation is prohibited and occurs when a person is subjected to an adverse employment or educational action because he or she made a complaint under this policy or assisted or participated in any manner in an investigation.

(b) <u>Sexual assault</u> shall include but is not limited to a sexual act directed against another person without the consent (as defined herein) of the other person or when that person is not capable of giving such consent.

Sexual assault is further defined in sections 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-70b, 53a-71, 53a-72a, 53a-72b and 53a-73a of the Connecticut General Statutes.

- (c) <u>Sexual exploitation</u> occurs when a person takes non-consensual or abusive sexual advantage of another for anyone's advantage or benefit other than the person being exploited, and that behavior does not otherwise constitute one of the preceding sexual misconduct offenses. Examples of behavior that could rise to the level of sexual exploitation include:
  - Prostituting another person;
  - Non-consensual visual (e.g., video, photograph) or audio-recording of sexual activity;
  - Non-consensual distribution of photos, other images, or information of an individual's sexual activity, intimate body parts, or nakedness, with the intent to or having the effect of embarrassing an individual who is the subject of such images or information;
  - Going beyond the bounds of consent (for example, an individual who allows friends to hide in the closet to watch him or her having consensual sex);
  - Engaging in non-consensual voyeurism;
  - Knowingly transmitting an STI, such as HIV to another without disclosing your STI status;
  - Exposing one's genitals in non-consensual circumstances, or inducing another to expose his or her genitals; or
  - Possessing, distributing, viewing or forcing others to view illegal pornography.

Sexual exploitation is further defined as a crime in Connecticut State Law.

(d) Intimate partner, domestic and/or dating violence means any physical or sexual harm against an individual by a current or former spouse of or person in a dating or cohabitating relationship with such individual that results from any action by such spouse or such person that may be classified as a sexual assault under section 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-70b, 53a-71, 53a-72a, 53a-72b or 53a-73a of the general statutes, stalking under section 53a-181c, 53a-181d or 53a-181e of the general statutes, or domestic or family violence as designated under section 46b-38h of the general statutes. This includes any physical or sexual harm against an individual by a current or former spouse or by a partner in a dating relationship that results from (1) sexual assault (2)

sexual assault in a spousal or cohabiting relationship; (3) domestic violence; (4) sexual harassment (5) sexual exploitation, as such terms are defined in this policy.

Offenses that are designated as "domestic violence" are against family or household members or persons in dating or cohabitating relationships and include assaults, sexual assaults, stalking, and violations of protective or restraining orders issued by a Court. Intimate partner violence may also include physical abuse, threat of abuse, and emotional abuse.

- Physical abuse includes, but is not limited to, slapping, pulling hair or punching.
- Threat of abuse includes but is not limited to, threatening to hit, harm or use a weapon on another (whether victim or acquaintance, friend or family member of the victim) or other forms of verbal threat.
- Emotional abuse includes but is not limited to, damage to one's property, driving recklessly to scare someone, name calling, threatening to hurt one's family members or pets and humiliating another person.
- Cohabitation occurs when two individuals dwell together in the same place as if married.
- The determination of whether a "dating relationship" existed is to be based upon the following factors: the reporting victim's statement as to whether such a relationship existed, the length of the relationship, the type of the relationship and the frequency of the interaction between the persons reported to be involved in the relationship.
- (e) <u>Stalking</u>, which is defined as repeatedly contacting another person when contacting person knows or should know that the contact is unwanted by the other person; and the contact causes the other person reasonable apprehension of imminent physical harm or the contacting person knows or should know that the contact causes substantial impairment of the other person's ability to perform the activities of daily life.

As used in this definition, the term "contacting" includes, but is not limited to, communicating with (including internet communication via e-mail, instant message, on- line community or any other internet communication) or remaining in the physical presence of the other person.

#### **Confidentiality**

When a BOR governed college or university receives a report of sexual misconduct all reasonable steps will be taken by the appropriate CSCU officials to preserve the privacy of the reported victim while promptly investigating and responding to the report. While the institution will strive to maintain the confidentiality of personally identifiable student information reported, which information is subject to privacy requirements of the Family Education Rights Privacy Act (FERPA), the institution also must fulfill its duty to protect the campus community.

Confidential resources are defined as follows: For the Universities, entities with statutory privilege, which include campus based counseling center, health center and pastoral counseling staff members whose official responsibilities include providing mental health counseling to members of the University community as well as off campus counseling and psychological services, health services providers, member(s) of the clergy, and the local Sexual Assault Crisis Center and Domestic Violence Center. For the Colleges, confidential resources are limited to entities with statutory

Sexual Misconduct Reporting Support Services and Processes Policy

privilege, such as off campus counseling and psychological services, health services providers, member(s) of the clergy, and the local Sexual Assault Crisis Center and Domestic Violence Center. The personnel of these centers and agencies are bound by state statutes and professional ethics from disclosing information about reports without written releases.

Information provided to a confidential resource by a victim of a sexual misconduct or the person reported to have been the victim of sexual misconduct cannot be disclosed legally to any other person without consent, except under very limited circumstances, such as an imminent threat of danger to self or others or if the reported victim is a minor. Therefore, for those who wish to obtain the fullest legal protections and disclose in full confidentiality, she/he must speak with a confidential resource. Each BOR governed college and university will provide a list of such confidential resources in the College or University's geographic region to victims of sexual misconduct as well as publish these resources on-line and in various publications.

Where it is deemed necessary for the institution to take steps to protect the safety of the reported victim and/or other members of the campus community, the institution will seek to act in a manner so as not to compromise the privacy or confidentiality of the reported victim of sexual misconduct to the extent reasonably possible.

#### Mandated Reporting by College and University Employees

Other than confidential resources as defined above, in addition to employees who qualify as Campus Security Authorities under the Jeanne Clery Act, all employees are required to immediately communicate to the institution's designated recipient (e.g., Title IX Coordinator) any disclosure or report of sexual misconduct received from a student regardless of the age of the reported victim. All employees are also required to communicate to the institution's designated recipient (e.g., Title IX Coordinator) any disclosure or report of sexual misconduct received from an employee that impacts employment with the institution or is otherwise related to the business of the institution.

Upon receiving a disclosure or a report of sexual misconduct, employees are expected to supportively, compassionately and professionally offer academic and other accommodations and to provide a referral for support and other services.

Further, in accordance with Connecticut State law, with the exception of student employees, any paid administrator, faculty, staff, athletic director, athletic coach or athletic trainer who, in the ordinary course of their employment, has a reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a person under the age of 18 years has been abused or neglected, has been placed in imminent harm or has had a non-accidental injury is required by law and Board policy to report the incident within twelve hours to their immediate supervisor and to the Department of Children and Families.

#### **Rights of Parties**

Those who report any type of sexual misconduct to any BOR governed college or university employee will be informed in a timely manner of all their rights and options, including the necessary steps and potential outcomes of each option. When choosing a reporting resource the following information should be considered:

- All reports of sexual misconduct will be treated seriously and with dignity by the institution.
- Referrals to off-campus counseling and medical services that are available immediately and confidential, whether or not those who report feel ready to make any decisions about reporting to police, a college or university employee or the campus's Title IX Coordinator.
- Those who have been the victim of sexual misconduct have the right to take both criminal and civil legal action against the individual allegedly responsible.
- Those who seek confidentiality may contact a clergy member(s), a University counseling center psychologist, a University health center care provider, the Sexual Assault Crisis Center of Connecticut and/or the Connecticut Coalition Against Domestic Violence all of whom are bound by state statutes and professional ethics to maintain confidentiality without written releases.

## Right to Notify Law Enforcement & Seek Protective and Other Orders

Those who report being subjected to sexual misconduct shall be provided written information about her/his right to:

- (1) notify law enforcement and receive assistance from campus authorities in making the notification; and,
- (2) obtain a protective order, apply for a temporary restraining order or seek enforcement of an existing order. Such orders include:
  - standing criminal protective orders;
  - protective orders issued in cases of stalking, harassment, sexual assault, or risk of injury to or impairing the morals of a child;
  - temporary restraining orders or protective orders prohibiting the harassment of a witness;
  - ➢ family violence protective orders.

## **Options for Changing Academic, Housing, Transportation and Working Arrangements**

The colleges and universities will provide assistance to those involved in a report of sexual misconduct, including but not limited to, reasonably available options for changing academic, campus transportation, housing or working situations as well as honoring lawful protective or temporary restraining orders. Each and every BOR governed college and university shall create and provide information specific to its campus detailing the procedures to follow after the commission of such violence, including people or agencies to contact for reporting purposes or to request assistance, and information on the importance of preserving physical evidence.

#### Support Services Contact Information

It is BOR policy that whenever a college or university Title IX Coordinator or other employee receives a report that a student, faculty or staff member has been subjected to sexual misconduct, the Title IX Coordinator or other employee shall immediately provide the student, faculty or staff member with contact information for and, if requested, professional assistance in accessing and using any appropriate campus resources, or local advocacy, counseling, health, and mental health services. All Sexual Misconduct Reporting Support Services and Processes Policy

CSCU campuses shall develop and distribute contact information for this purpose as well as provide such information on-line.

#### **Employee Conduct Procedures**

Employees who are reported to have engaged in sexual misconduct are subject to discipline in accordance with the procedures applicable to the employee's classification of employment.

## **Student Conduct Procedures**

The **Student Code of Conduct** provides the procedures for the investigation, definitions of terms, and resolution of complaints regarding student conduct, including those involving sexual misconduct, as defined herein.

The Title IX Coordinator can assist in explaining the student conduct process. The Student Code of Conduct provides an equal, fair, and timely process (informal administrative resolution or a formal adjudication) for reported victims and accused students.

Reported victims of sexual misconduct shall have the opportunity to request that an investigation or disciplinary proceedings begin promptly; that such disciplinary proceedings shall be conducted by an official trained annually in issues relating to sexual misconduct and shall use the preponderance of the evidence (more likely than not) standard in making a determination concerning the alleged sexual misconduct.

Both the reported victim of sexual misconduct and the accused student are entitled to be accompanied to any meeting or proceeding relating to the allegation of sexual misconduct by an advisor or support person of their choice, provided the involvement of such advisor or support person does not result in the postponement or delay of such meeting as scheduled and provided such an advisor or support person may not directly address the Hearing Body, question witnesses or otherwise actively participate in the hearing process or other meeting pertaining to a report of sexual misconduct and each student shall have the opportunity to present evidence and witnesses on her/his behalf during any disciplinary proceeding.

Both the reported victim and accused student are entitled to be provided at the same time written notice of the results of any disciplinary proceeding, normally within one (1) business day after the conclusion of such proceeding, which notice shall include the following: the name of the accused student, the violation committed, if any, and any sanction imposed upon the accused student. Sanctions may range from a warning to expulsion, depending upon the behavior and its severity of the violation(s). The reported victim shall have the same right to request a review of the decision of any disciplinary proceeding in the same manner and on the same basis as shall the accused student; however, in such cases, if a review by any reported victim is granted, among the other actions that may be taken, the sanction of the disciplinary proceeding may also be increased. The reported victim and the accused student are entitled to be simultaneously provided written notice of any change in the results of any disciplinary proceeding prior to the time when the results become final as well as to be notified when such results become final.
Sexual Misconduct Reporting Support Services and Processes Policy

In accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), the accused student and the reported victim have the right to keep their identities confidential.

#### **Dissemination of this Policy**

Upon adoption by the Board all CSCU institutions shall, upon receipt, immediately post and maintain this policy at all times in an easily accessible manner on each institution's website. This policy shall thereafter be annually provided to all Title IX Coordinators, campus law enforcement officers and security personnel, and other campus personnel. Further, this policy shall be presented at student orientation and at student awareness and prevention trainings, and made broadly available at each campus. The policy shall be expanded upon by each institution to provide resources and contact information specific to their institution and geographic area as set forth above.

## **Central Connecticut State University**

# Procedures and Timetables for Processing of Discrimination, Harassment Intimate Partner Violence and Sexual Misconduct Complaints

In accordance with Section 46a-68-46 of the Affirmative Action Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, the following procedures provide an internal process for the handling of complaints involving claims of discrimination or harassment, including sexual misconduct/violence.

This procedure is designed to further implement Central Connecticut State University (CCSU) policies relating to Nondiscrimination in Education and Employment, Sexual Harassment and Sexual Misconduct by providing a process through which individuals alleging violation of these policies may pursue a complaint. This includes allegations of retaliation, discrimination, harassment based on age, ancestry, color, disability, gender identity or expression, genetics, national origin, marital status, race, sex (including pregnancy, transgender status, sexual harassment and misconduct), religious creed, veteran status, sexual orientation, prior criminal conviction and any other status protected by federal or state laws.

When responding to an internal complaint, disclosure of information relating to the internal complaint and the identity of the complainant will be handled with appropriate sensitivity and in accordance with applicable laws.

# A. Process for Filing Internal Complaints of Alleged Discrimination or Sexual Harassment and Misconduct

#### 1. Who may file:

Any employee, applicant for employment, student, applicant for admission or any other person, including visitors.

#### 2. When to file:

To provide adequate opportunity for a prompt investigation, complainants are encouraged to file as soon as possible but, except in cases involving sexual misconduct, must file no later than ninety (90) calendar days following the complainant's first knowledge of the alleged discriminatory act.

For cases involving allegations of sexual misconduct, there is no time limit for the filing of complaints. In extenuating circumstances, the Chief Diversity Officer has the discretion to waive the deadline for the filing of complaints involving matters other than sexual misconduct. Once filed, the internal complaint must be resolved within ninety (90) calendar days unless the complainant consents to extend this time period.

#### 3. Where to File:

The Office of Diversity and Equity handles internal complaints alleging violations of the Nondiscrimination Opportunity in Education and Employment, Sexual Harassment and/or BOR/CSCU Sexual Misconduct, Sexual Assault and Intimate Partner Violence policies. The Chief Diversity Officer (CDO) or his/her designee reviews and, if necessary, conducts an investigation into each complaint that, if proven, would constitute a violation of CCSU policies. Complaints against students are file with the Office of Student Conduct. See CCSU Student Code of Conduct and Statement of Disciplinary Procedures.

#### **All complaints**

Rosa Rodríguez, Chief Diversity Officer Office of Diversity and Equity Davidson Hall 860-832-0178

#### **Complaints against Students**

Christopher Dukes, Director Office of Student Conduct Carroll Hall 860-832-1667

The CDO serves as the Title IX officer. Complaints against students may be referred to the Office of Student Conduct.

#### Reports against the President, Chief Diversity Officer or Office of Diversity and Equity Employees

If a discrimination complaint is made against the President, Chief Diversity Officer or an Office of Diversity and Equity employee alleging that these employees directly or personally engaged in discriminatory, the complaint shall be referred to the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO) for review and, if appropriate, investigation by the Department of Administrative Services, except if any such complaint has been filed with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission or the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities, the CHRO or Department of Administrative Services may rely upon the process of the applicable commission in lieu of such investigation.

#### 4. Process for filing complaints

At the time an individual makes his/her complaint, the CDO or designee will provide the individual with the University's respective policies on non-discrimination, sexual harassment and/or BOR/CSCU Sexual Misconduct, Sexual Assault and Intimate Partner Violence Policy and the procedures and timetables for processing internal complaints.

#### No Basis to Proceed.

At any point during the processing of the complaint, the CDO or designee may determine that there is no basis to proceed under the Nondiscrimination in Education and Employment Policy, Sexual Harassment Policy and/or Sexual Misconduct Policy. The CDO or designee shall refer the complaint as appropriate. The CDO or designee shall notify the complainant and, if necessary, the respondent of the outcome as appropriate, in accordance with applicable state and federal laws.

#### **Investigatory Process.**

The Office of Diversity and Equity shall provide the respondent with a written summary of the complaint, including a description of the alleged discriminatory acts, within ten (10) business days of the filing of the complaint. If the complaint is in writing, the Office of Diversity and Equity shall provide the respondent with a copy of the written complaint or summary of the complaint. Disclosure of information shall be in accordance with applicable state and federal laws.

The CDO or designee shall weigh all evidence pertaining to the internal complaint, make findings of fact, recommendations, and, with the consent of the parties and appropriate executive officer, propose settlements to the University President. Without investigation, the CDO or designee may also mediate issues between parties where the allegations, if proven, would not constitute a violation of CCSU policies.

The complainant and the respondent (person accused) will be allowed to have one non-participating support person present for the interview(s). For represented employees, this support person could be a union representative; however, if the support person is not a union representative, the employee who is the respondent will be asked to sign a union waiver. For more information, see the Right to Union Representation section.

#### Timeline

Internal complaints shall be investigated and resolved within ninety (90) calendar days of the receipt of the complaint, including the written notification to the complainant(s) and respondent(s) regarding the results of the investigation. Whenever possible, complaints should be resolved in accordance with relevant University policies at the supervisory, Dean or Director's level with the concurrence of the CDO.

#### **Right to Union Representation.**

In accordance with federal law and applicable collective bargaining agreements, represented employees may have the right to request and receive union representation during an investigatory meeting.

Nothing in this procedure is intended to expand, diminish or alter in any manner whatsoever any right or remedy available under a collective bargaining agreement, personnel policy or law.

#### Determination.

Upon the conclusion of its investigation, the CDO or designee will determine whether or not discrimination or harassment in violation of CCSU policy occurred. A preponderance of the evidence standard is used to make this determination. A copy of the investigatory report will be provided to the University President.

- 1. Unsupportable Complaints. If the CDO or designee determines that the evidence is insufficient to support the allegation, he or she shall dismiss the complaint.
- 2. Supportable Complaints. If the CDO concludes that the allegations are supported by the evidence, he or she will report his or her findings and recommendations to the appropriate administrator.

#### 5. Disciplinary Action

If the CDO or designee believes that disciplinary action against the respondent may be warranted at this or a subsequent stage, a recommendation will be made to the Chief Human Resource Office (for employees) or the Office of Student Conduct (for students).

#### **B. Process for Filing an Appeal**

Within fifteen (15) calendar days of the issuance of the Chief Diversity Officer's determination, the complainant or respondent may file an appeal of the determination. The appeal and all supporting documentation shall be submitted in writing to the University President, with copies to the CDO and other parties to the complaint.

The President or designee shall review the investigation and determine whether to affirm or modify the decision. The President or designee may receive additional information if the President or designee believes such information would aid in the consideration of the appeal.

If an appeal of the CDO's determination is filed, the University President or designee shall conduct a review of said appeal and issue a written decision within thirty (30) calendar days of the appeal. The University President shall notify all parties in writing of his/her decision.

AAUP members have the option of appealing the decision using a review panel as outlined in the AAUP Complaint Procedure.

The decision on appeal exhausts the complainant's and the respondent's administrative remedies under this procedure except as provided herein.

#### Appeal Process for AAUP Members

The complaint will be processed according to an agreed-upon procedure consistent with the CSU-AAUP Collective Bargaining Agreement, Appendix F. See AAUP Complaint Review Procedure.

#### **C. Records Maintenance**

The CDO shall create and maintain a file of each internal complaint received under these procedures. All information, including records and correspondence pertaining to said internal complaint will be kept in this file. Access to the file will be in accordance with applicable State and Federal statutes and collective bargaining agreements. The CDO will secure these files.

All records of internal complaints and dispositions shall be reviewed on a regular basis by the Office of Diversity and Equity to discern any pattern in the nature of the internal complaints.

#### Related policies and procedures:

- Nondiscrimination in Education and Employment Policy
- BOR/CSCU Sexual Misconduct, Sexual Assault and Intimate Partner Violence Policy
- Consensual Relationship Policy
- Student Code of Conduct and Statement of Disciplinary Procedures

#### Revised October 25, 2011

Revised June 6, 2014—added BOR Sexual Misconduct, Sexual Assault and Intimate Partner Violence Policy, and revised the following sections: Investigatory process; Reports against CDO

Revised June 15, 2016 the following section: Investigatory Process: removal of sexual harassment policy from related policies and procedures; update notification timeframe for responding parties; clarification of support person for represented employees

Revised June 12, 2017 the following section: Investigatory Process: The right to a support person has been modified to expressly state a respondent or complainant is entitled to only one support person during the investigatory process.

Revised November 27, 2017 the following section: Introduction: added veteran status to protected class listing.

Revised April 23, 2018 the following section: When to file section.

S:\Policies\ODE Policies - CCSU Procedures and Timetables for Processing of Discrimination, Harassment, IPM and SM Complaints April 23, 2018.docx

4.3	Consensual Relationships Policy	16-114	2016-10-20
-----	---------------------------------	--------	------------

## 4.3 **Policy on Consensual Relationships**

The Board of Regents for Higher Education (BOR) of the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities' respects that the educational mission of its institutions is founded on an atmosphere of mutual trust and respect between all members of the academic community. Faculty members, as well as those individuals upon whom the institution confers managerial, supervisory, or evaluative responsibilities, (including graduate assistants or undergraduate teaching assistants) carry a special responsibility to adhere to the highest ethical and professional standards and to avoid any actions that may appear to undermine this atmosphere of trust and respect and thereby hinder the institution's educational mission.

Because of the inherent imbalance of power and need for trust, faculty members, supervisory staff, and those with evaluative authority should be aware that dating or sexual relationships that might be appropriate in other circumstances have inherent dangers when they occur between a faculty and or staff member and a student as well as when they occur between a supervisor and employee.

Such relationships can create real conflicts, are susceptible to an appearance of exploitation, and can impair the trust and integrity of the teaching, coaching, or other supervisory or evaluative relationship and may cause a perception of favoritism or bias on the part of the staff. In addition, although these relationships may begin and remain consensual, they may easily be later characterized as non-consensual and could potentially lead to sexual harassment charges.

Affirmative consent is the standard used to determine whether sexual activity was consensual. As defined by Public Act 16-106, "Affirmative consent" means an active, clear and voluntary agreement by a person to engage in sexual activity with another person.

#### Policy Prohibited Between Employee and Student

Consensual romantic, dating, or sexual relationships between any employee and any student over whom that employee exercises direct or otherwise significant academic, supervisory, or evaluative authority or influence are prohibited at all State Universities and Colleges. The evaluative relationship can take a variety of forms, such as teacher to student, advisor to advisee, coach to athlete, supervisor to student employee, or similar relationship.

#### Strongly Discouraged Between Employee and Student

Romantic, dating or sexual relationships between employees and students over whom said employee does *not* have supervisory or evaluative authority are strongly discouraged. Such relationships are not only susceptible to future conflicts of interest, but also may present the appearance of impropriety.

If this situation exists, no employee should agree to supervise or evaluate a student with whom he or she has, or formerly had, a consensual relationship. A faculty member should inform the Dean if such a student wishes to enroll in a credit bearing course that he or she is teaching so that alternate arrangements can be made. Nor should a faculty member direct the student's independent study, internship, or thesis; participate in decisions regarding grades; or write letters of recommendation or reference

#### **Between Employee and Employee**

BOR discourages employees with supervisory or evaluative authority from engaging in romantic, dating or sexual relationships with employees who they supervise or evaluate. If such a relationship exists or develops, the supervisory employee must notify his/her manager so that arrangements can be made for the unbiased supervision and evaluation of the employee. These situations are handled on a case-by-case basis and may require transfer or reassignment of one or more employees.

#### In the Event of a Sexual Harassment Charge

Anyone who enters into a romantic, dating or sexual relationship where a professional power differential exists must realize that if a charge of sexual harassment is subsequently filed, it may be difficult to defend the charge by claiming that there was mutual consent. Employees could be held personally liable in a criminal or civil lawsuit. Affirmative consent is the standard used to determine whether sexual activity was consensual. As defined by Public Act 16-106, "Affirmative consent" means an active, clear and voluntary agreement by a person to engage in sexual activity with another person.

#### Sanctions

All violations of this policy should be reported to Human Resources for investigation and appropriate administrative action, up to and including disciplinary action.

### **Policy Regarding Reporting Suspected Abuse or Neglect of a Child** BOR approved 1/17/14 and Revised 1/15/15; requires annual distribution to employees

The Board of Regents for Higher Education (BOR) of the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities (CSCU) accept that institutions of higher education foster educational opportunities for people under the age of 18 years. The BOR, in acknowledging the special care required for children, strives to the utmost to protect children on its campuses from any form of abuse or neglect.

Pursuant to state law, with the exception of student employees, any paid administrator, faculty, staff, athletic director, athletic coach or athletic trainer, collectively referred to as "mandatory reporters" who in the ordinary course of their employment has a reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a person under the age of 18 years has been abused or neglected, has been placed in imminent harm or has had a non-accidental injury is required to cause a report to be made to the Department of Children and Families within 12 hours of becoming aware or suspecting abuse, neglect or imminent harm to a child.

The BOR recognizes that each CSCU campus must be a safe and secure environment for children to grow and develop. Therefore, the BOR further requires mandatory reporters to report any witnessed or suspected abuse or neglect of a child on a CSCU campus to their immediate supervisor in addition to DCF. The supervisor must report the incident to their director or vice president who must then inform the campus President and the System Office Vice President for Human Resources or his/her designee.

If the director or vice president reasonably believes that a reportable incident has occurred, and, if the suspected perpetrator is a BOR or CSCU employee, he/she will immediately contact their Chief Human Resources Officer who shall assign an objective person to investigate the report. An employee under investigation may be placed on administrative leave pending the results of the investigation. Employees who report suspicions of abuse or neglect are protected from any disciplinary action unless the report is determined to have been maliciously made. An employee who fails to report, but is later determined to have had previous knowledge of the abuse, may be subject to discipline.

A report is required if there is reasonable cause to suspect that a person under the age of 18 is in imminent harm, has had non accidental injuries or has been abused or neglected. Reasonable cause to believe or suspect that child abuse has occurred is sufficient to make a report.

All staff designated as mandatory reporters are required to take the Department of Children and Families Mandated Reporter Training, either on-line or in person, and Mandated Reporter Training will be included in New Employee Orientation. Compliance with training will be monitored by each CSCU campus's Department of Human Resources. A copy of this policy shall be disseminated annually to all employees.

Reasonable steps will be taken to preserve privacy while promptly investigating and responding to the report. While the institution will strive to maintain the confidentiality of the information reported, which information may be subject to privacy requirements of the Family Education

Rights Privacy Act (FERPA), the institution also must fulfill its duty to protect the CSCU community and to assure that the appropriate disciplinary processes are implemented.

1)



Connecticut State Colleges グ Universities Boxees Reason Digital Foresties Approved 3/13/2014; amended 4/17/2014; 1/15/2015, 6/16/2016

# **BOR/CSCU STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT**

Contents	
I. STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT	1
PREAMBLE	1
INTRODUCTION	1
PART A: DEFINITIONS	2
PART B: APPLICATION, DISTRIBUTION, AND ADMINISTRATION OF THE STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT	4
PART C: SCOPE OF AUTHORITY	5
PART D: PROHIBITED CONDUCT	6
PART E: HEARING PROCEDURES FOR SEXUAL MISCONDUCT, SEXUAL INTIMA PARTNER, DOMESTIC VIOLENCE & STALKING REPORTS	
PART F: CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY RECORDS	. 13
PART G: INTERPRETATION AND REVISION	. 13
II. CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES APPLICABLE TO STATE UNIVERSITY STUDENTS	. 14
PART A: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES - ACADEMIC MISCONDUCT	. 14
PART B: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES - NONACADEMIC MISCONDUCT	. 15
PART C: INTERIM SUSPENSIONS AND RESIDENCE HALL SEPARATIONS	. 20
PART D: DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS	. 21
1. Sanctions Which May Be Imposed for Violations of the Code:	. 21
2. Revocation of Admission and/or Degree	. 23
3. Consequences of Failure to Comply with a Duly Assigned Sanction	. 23
4. Sanctions Which May Be Imposed on Student Organizations	, 24
III. CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES APPLICABLE TO COMMUNITY COLLEGE STUDENTS	. 25
PART A: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES	. 25
PART B: DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS	. 27
IV. CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES APPLICABLE TO CHARTER OAK STATE COLLEGE STUDENTS	
PART A: RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF HEARING PARTICIPANTS	. 29
PART B: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES	. 30
PART C: INTERIM ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION	. 32
PART D: DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS	. 32

# I. STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT

# PREAMBLE

Academic institutions exist for the transmission of knowledge, the pursuit of truth, the development of students, and the general well-being of society. In line with this purpose, the Board of Regents for Higher Education ("BOR") in conjunction with the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities ("CSCU") has the duty to protect the freedoms of inquiry and expression, and furthermore, has the responsibility to encourage all of its members to develop the capacity for critical judgment in their sustained and independent search for truth.

CSCU has certain self-defined institutional values. Principal among these values is respect for the safety, dignity, rights, and individuality of each member of the CSCU Community. The opportunity to live, study, and work in an institution which values diverse intellectual and cultural perspectives and encourages discussion and debate about competing ideas in an atmosphere of civility is a basic component of quality higher education.

All members of CSCU must at all times govern their social and academic interactions with tolerance and mutual respect so that the students who pass through a CSCU door are enriched by these experiences and are prepared for full and enlightened participation in a multi-cultural society. Because of the BOR's and CSCU's commitment to principles of pluralism, mutual respect, and civility, certain activities are not acceptable on CSCU campuses. Acts of intolerance, of hatred or violence based on race, religion, sexual orientation or expression, disability, gender, age, or ethnic background are antithetical to the BOR's and CSCU's fundamental principles and values. It is the BOR's and CSCU's responsibility to protect our students' right to learn by establishing an environment of civility.

The disciplinary process is intended to be part of the educational mission of CSCU. Student disciplinary proceedings are not criminal proceedings and are not subject to court rules of procedure and evidence.

# INTRODUCTION

This Student Code of Conduct (hereinafter the "Student Code" or "Code") is intended to present a clear statement of student rights and responsibilities established by the Board of Regents for Higher Education. The BOR has charged the President of the Board of Regents for Higher Education with developing procedures to protect those rights and to address the abdication of responsibilities in collaboration with the four State Universities, the twelve Community Colleges and Charter Oak State College. The Student Code describes the types of acts that are not acceptable in an academic community.

Disclaimer: This Code is neither a contract nor an offer of a contract between any BOR governed institution and any student. The provisions of this Code are subject to revision at any time.

#### PART A: DEFINITIONS

The following list of defined terms utilized throughout this Student Code is provided in an effort to facilitate a more thorough understanding of the Code. This list is not intended to be a complete list of all the terms referenced in the Student Code that might require interpretation or clarification. The Vice President for Student Affairs at a University, the Dean of Students at a Community College, the Provost at Charter Oak State College or their designee shall make the final decision of the interpretation of the definition of any term found in the Student Code. For purposes of interpretation and application of the Student Code only, the following terms shall have the following meanings:

- 1. *"Accused Student"* means any student accused of violating this Student Code.
- 2. *"Advisor"* means a person who accompanies an Accused Student or an alleged victim to a hearing (or a proceeding pertaining to a report of sexual violence) for the limited purpose of providing advice and guidance to the student. An advisor may not directly address the Hearing Body, question witnesses, or otherwise actively participate in the hearing process (or other proceeding pertaining to a report of sexual violence).
- 3. *"Appellate Body"* means any person or persons authorized by the University Vice President for Student Affairs, Community College Dean of Students, Charter Oak State College Provost or their designee to consider an appeal from a determination by a Hearing Body that a student has violated the Student Code.
- 4. *"Calendar Days"* means the weekdays (Mondays through Fridays) when the University or College is open.
- 5. "College" means either collectively or singularly any of the following institutions: Asnuntuck Community College, Capital Community College, Gateway Community College, Housatonic Community College, Manchester Community College, Middlesex Community College, Naugatuck Valley Community College, Northwestern Connecticut Community College, Norwalk Community College, Quinebaug Valley Community College, Three Rivers Community College, Tunxis Community College, and Charter Oak State College.
- 6. *"Complainant(s)"* means the person(s) who initiates a complaint by alleging that a Student(s) violated the Code.
- 7. "CSCU" means either collectively or singularly, any of the following institutions: Central Connecticut State University, Eastern Connecticut State University, Southern Connecticut State University, Western Connecticut State University; Asnuntuck Community College, Capital Community College, Gateway Community College, Housatonic Community College, Manchester Community College, Middlesex Community College, Naugatuck Valley Community College, Northwestern Connecticut Community College, Norwalk Community College, Quinebaug Valley Community College, Three Rivers Community College, Tunxis Community College, and Charter Oak State College.

- 8. *"CSCU Affiliates"* means individuals and/or entities with whom or with which the College or University has a contractual relationship.
- 9. *"CSCU Official"* means any person employed by the College or University to perform assigned administrative, instructional, or professional responsibilities.
- 10. *"CSCU Premises"* means all land, buildings, facilities, and other property in the possession of, or owned, used, and/or controlled by, the University or College, either solely or in conjunction with another entity.
- 11. "Disciplinary Officer" or "Conduct Administrator" means a University, College or CSCU official who is authorized to determine the appropriate resolution of an alleged violation of the Code, and/or to impose sanctions or affect other remedies as appropriate. Subject to the provisions of this Code, a disciplinary officer or conduct administrator is vested with the authority to, among other duties: investigate a complaint of an alleged violation of the Code decline to pursue a complaint, refer identified disputants to mediation or other appropriate avenues of resolution, establish charges against a student, enter into an administrative agreement developed with an Accused Student in accordance with Section II-B-3 of this Code, advise a Hearing Body, and present the case before the Hearing Body.
- 12. "Hearing Body" or "Hearing Panel" means any person or persons authorized by the University Vice President for Student Affairs, Community College Dean of Students or Charter Oak State College Provost to determine whether a student has violated the Code and to impose sanctions as warranted, including a hearing officer or hearing board.
- 13. "Institution" means the University or College within CSCU.
- 14. *"Instructor"* means any faculty member, teaching assistant or any other person authorized by the University to provide educational services, including, but not limited to, teaching, research, and academic advising.
- 15. *"Member of the CSCU Community"* means any person who is a student, an official or any other person who works for CSCU, either directly or indirectly (e.g., for a private enterprise doing business on a CSCU campus).
- 16. *"Policy"* means the written regulations, standards, and student conduct expectations adopted by the BOR and found in, but not limited to the Student Handbook, the Residence Life Handbook, the housing contract, the graduate and undergraduate catalogs, and other publicized University and College notices.
- 17. *"Prohibited Conduct"* means the conduct prohibited by this Code, as more particularly described in Part I-D of this Code.
- 18. *"Reporting Party"* means any person who alleges that a student has violated this Code.

- 19. "Student" means either (1) any person admitted, registered, enrolled or attending any CSCU course or CSCU conducted program, whether full-time or part- time, and whether pursuing undergraduate, graduate or professional studies, or continuing education; (2) any person who is not officially enrolled for a particular term but who has a continuing relationship with a CSCU; or (3) any person within two calendar years after the conclusion of their last registered Community College course unless the student has formally withdrawn, graduated or been expelled from the College.
- 20. "Student Code" or "Code" means this Student Code of Conduct.
- 21. *"Student Organization"* means an association or group of persons that have complied with the formal requirements for University or College recognition.
- 22. "Support Person" means a person, who accompanies an Accused Student, a Reporting Party or a victim to a hearing for the limited purpose of providing support and guidance. A support person may not directly address the Hearing Body, question witnesses, or otherwise actively participate in the hearing process.
- 23. *"University"* means any of the following institutions: Central Connecticut State University, Eastern Connecticut State University, Southern Connecticut State University, and Western Connecticut State University, whichever the alleged violation of the Code occurred.
- 24. *"Shall" and "will"* are used in the imperative sense.
- 25. *"May"* is used in the permissive sense.

# PART B: APPLICATION, DISTRIBUTION, AND ADMINISTRATION OF THE STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT

1. <u>Application of the Student Code</u>: The Student Code shall apply to the four Connecticut State Universities, the twelve Community Colleges, and the on-line college:

Central Connecticut State University, Eastern Connecticut State University, Southern Connecticut State University, Western Connecticut State University; Asnuntuck Community College, Capital Community College, Gateway Community College, Housatonic Community College, Manchester Community College, Middlesex Community College, Naugatuck Valley Community College, Northwestern Connecticut Community College, Norwalk Community College, Quinebaug Valley Community College, Three Rivers Community College, Tunxis Community College, and Charter Oak State College.

An alleged violation of the Student Code shall be addressed in accordance with the Code of Conduct, even if the accused Student has withdrawn from the Institution prior to the completion of the disciplinary procedures.

The Student Code shall apply to Students and to University Student Organizations. The term "student" shall generally apply to the student as an individual and to a Student Organization as a

single entity. The officers or leaders of a particular Student Organization usually will be expected to represent the organization during the disciplinary process. Nothing in this Student Code shall preclude holding certain members of a Student Organization accountable for their individual acts committed in the context of or in association with the organization's alleged violation of this Code.

2. <u>Distribution of the Student Code</u>: The Student Code shall be made readily available electronically and/or in a printed publication to students, faculty and staff. The office responsible for Student Affairs will annually distribute and make available to students, faculty and staff, electronically and/or in a printed publication, any revisions to the Code.

3. <u>Administration of the Student Code</u>: A University's and Charter Oak State College's Provost or a Community College's Dean of Students shall be the person designated by the institution President to be responsible for the administration of the Academic Misconduct portion of the Student Code. A University's Vice President for Student Affairs, a Community College's Dean of Students, or Charter Oak State College's Provost shall be the person designated by the institution President to be responsible for the administration of the Non-Academic Misconduct portion of the Student Code.

#### PART C: SCOPE OF AUTHORITY

A Student who is found responsible for engaging in conduct that violates the Student Code on any CSCU campus or on property controlled by the BOR or by any CSCU Affiliate or any CSCU sponsored function or event shall be subject to the sanctions described in this Code. The Student Code of Conduct also applies to online activities, where applicable. Students who attempt to engage in conduct that violates this Code, who knowingly encourage, aid or assist another person in engaging in such conduct, or who agree with another person, explicitly or otherwise, to engage in such conduct, may also be subject to disciplinary action.

Off-campus misconduct by University students may be subject to the jurisdiction of the University and addressed through its disciplinary procedures if one of the following conditions is met: (i) a Student engages in prohibited conduct at an official University event, at a Universitysanctioned event, or at an event sponsored by a recognized University Student Organization; or (ii) a Student engages in prohibited conduct under such circumstances that reasonable grounds exist for believing that the Accused Student poses a threat to the life, health or safety of any member of the CSCU or to the property of the CSCU.

Community College students conduct is subject to the Code on campus and off-campus whenever such conduct impairs College-related activities or affairs of another member of the College community or creates a risk of harm to a member or members of the College community. Students must be aware that, as citizens, they are subject to all federal and state laws in addition to all CSCU regulations governing student conduct and responsibilities. Students do not relinquish their rights nor do they shed their responsibilities as citizens by becoming members of the CSCU Community. However, where a court of law has found a student to have violated the law, an institution has the right to impose the sanctions of this Code even though the conduct does not impair institution-related activities of another member of the university or college community and does not create a risk of harm to the college or university community. The decision to exercise this right will be in the sole discretion of the President of the impacted institution or his/her designee.

Charter Oak State College applies this Code to matriculated and non-matriculated students, including those participating in portfolio assessment, credential evaluation, testing, or contract learning. Jurisdiction shall be limited to student conduct that occurs while students are taking Charter Oak State College courses or availing themselves of Charter Oak State College services. However, if a matriculated Charter Oak State College student is found guilty of student misconduct at another institution, including but not limited to misrepresentation of records from other institutions, the student may be subject to disciplinary action at Charter Oak State College.

#### PART D: PROHIBITED CONDUCT

The following list of behaviors is intended to represent the types of acts that constitute violations of this Code.

1. Academic misconduct, which includes, but is not limited to, plagiarism and all forms of cheating.

*Plagiarism* is defined as the submission of work by a student for academic credit as one's own work of authorship which contains work of another author without appropriate attribution.

*Cheating* includes, but is not limited to: (i) use of any unauthorized assistance in taking quizzes, tests or examinations; (ii) use of sources beyond those authorized by the instructor in writing papers, preparing reports, solving problems or carrying out other assignments; (iii) the acquisition, without permission, of tests or other academic material belonging to a member of the University faculty or staff; and (iv) engaging in any other behavior specifically prohibited by a faculty member in the course syllabus.

- 2. Acts of dishonesty, including but not limited to the following:
  - a. Misuse of University or College documents, including, but not limited to forging, transferring, altering or otherwise misusing a student fee card, student payroll card, identification card or other College or University identification document, course registration document, schedule card, transcript, or any other institution-issued document or record.
  - b. Knowingly furnishing false information to any CSCU Official, faculty member or office.
- 3. Theft of property or services, or damage to, defacement or destruction of, or tampering with, real or personal property owned by the State of Connecticut, CSCU/BOR, the institution, or any member of the CSCU Community.
- 4. Actual or threatened physical assault or abuse, threatening behavior, intimidation, or coercion.
- 5. Sexual misconduct may include engaging in one of more behaviors:

- (a) Sexual harassment, which can include any unwelcome sexual advance or request for sexual favors, or any conduct of a sexual nature when submission to such conduct is made either explicitly or implicitly a term or condition of an individual's education; submission to or rejection of such conduct by an individual is used as a basis for academic decisions affecting the individual; or such conduct has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an individual's academic performance or creating an intimidating, hostile or offensive educational environment. Examples of conduct which may constitute sexual harassment include but are not limited to:
  - sexual flirtation, touching, advances or propositions
  - verbal abuse of a sexual nature
  - pressure to engage in sexual activity
  - graphic or suggestive comments about an individual's dress or appearance
  - use of sexually degrading words to describe an individual
  - display of sexually suggestive objects, pictures or photographs
  - sexual jokes
  - stereotypic comments based upon gender
  - threats, demands or suggestions that retention of one's educational status is contingent upon toleration of or acquiescence in sexual advances.

(b) **Sexual assault** shall include but is not limited to a sexual act directed against another person when that person is not capable of giving consent, which shall mean the voluntary agreement by a person in the possession and exercise of sufficient mental capacity to make a deliberate choice to do something proposed by another.

A person who initially consents to sexual activity shall be deemed not to have consented to any such activity which occurs after that consent is withdrawn. Consent cannot be assumed because there is no physical resistance or other negative response. A lack of consent may result from mental incapacity (e.g., ingestion of alcohol or drugs which significantly impair awareness or judgment) or physical incapacity (e.g., the person is unconscious or otherwise unable to communicate consent). Consent must be affirmative. (See Sexual Misconduct Reporting, Support Services and Processes Policy).

Sexual assault is further defined in sections 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-70b, 53a-71, 53a-72a, 53a-72b and 53a-73a of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(c) **Sexual exploitation** occurs when a person takes non-consensual or abusive sexual advantage of another for anyone's advantage or benefit other than the person being exploited, and that behavior does not otherwise constitute one of the preceding sexual misconduct offenses. Examples of behavior that could rise to the level of sexual exploitation include:

- Prostituting another person;
- Non-consensual visual (e.g., video, photograph) or audio-recording of sexual activity;
- Non-consensual distribution of photos, other images, or information of an individual's sexual activity, intimate body parts, or nakedness, with the intent to or having the effect of embarrassing an individual who is the subject of such images or information;
- Going beyond the bounds of consent (such as letting your friends hide in the closet to watch you having consensual sex);
- Engaging in non-consensual voyeurism;
- Knowingly transmitting an STI, such as HIV to another without disclosing your STI status;
- Exposing one's genitals in non-consensual circumstances, or inducing another to expose his or her genitals; or
- Possessing, distributing, viewing or forcing others to view illegal pornography.
- 6. Intimate partner violence is defined as:
  - Including intimate partner violence, which is any physical or sexual harm against an individual by a current or former spouse or by a partner in a dating relationship that results from (1) sexual assault, as defined in section 5 above; (2) sexual assault in a spousal or cohabiting relationship; (3) domestic violence; (4) sexual harassment, as defined in section 5 above or, (5) sexual exploitation, as defined in section 5 above.
  - Physical abuse, which can include but is not limited to, slapping, pulling hair or punching.
  - Threat of abuse, which can include but is not limited to, threatening to hit, harm or use a weapon on another (whether victim or acquaintance, friend or family member of the victim) or other forms of verbal threat.
  - Emotional abuse, which can include but is not limited to, damage to one's property, driving recklessly to scare someone, name calling, threatening to hurt one's family members or pets and humiliating another person.
  - 7. Violations of privacy, including, but not limited to, voyeurism and the use of web-based, electronic or other devices to make a photographic, audio or video record of any person without his or her express consent, when such a recording is intended or likely to cause injury or distress. This includes, but is not limited to: (i) surreptitiously taking pictures or videos of another person in spaces such as sleeping areas, bathrooms, gymnasiums, locker rooms, and changing areas; and (ii) sexually exploiting another person by electronically recording or permitting others to view or electronically record, consensual sexual activity without a partner's knowledge or permitting others to view or listen to such video or audio tapes without a partner's knowledge and consent. Publicizing or threatening to publicize such records will also be considered a violation of this Code.
  - 8. Hazing, which is defined as an act which endangers the mental or physical health or safety of a Student, or which destroys, damages, or removes public or private property for the purpose of initiation or admission into, affiliation with or as a condition for continued membership in a group or organization. The express or implied consent of the victim will not be a defense to an allegation of hazing. Consenting to the activity by remaining silent or not objecting in the presence of hazing is not a neutral act and is also a violation of this Student Code.

- 9. Stalking, which is defined as repeatedly contacting another person when:
  - a. The contacting person knows or should know that the contact is unwanted by the other person; and
  - b. The contact causes the other person reasonable apprehension of imminent physical harm or the contacting person knows or should know that the contact causes substantial impairment of the other person's ability to perform the activities of daily life.

As used in this definition, the term "contacting" includes, but is not limited to, communicating with (including internet communication via e-mail, instant message, on-line community or any other internet communication) or remaining in the physical presence of the other person.

- 10. Harassment, which is defined as conduct which is abusive or which interferes with a person's pursuit of his or her customary or usual affairs, including, but not limited to, such conduct when directed toward an individual or group because of race, ethnicity, ancestry, national origin, religion, gender, sexual orientation or expression, age, physical attribute, or physical or mental disability or disorder, including learning disabilities and mental retardation.
- 11. Conduct that is disorderly, lewd or indecent (including, but not limited to, public nudity and sexual activity in areas generally open to members of the campus community), breach of peace or aiding, abetting or procuring another person to breach the peace on CSCU premises or at functions sponsored by, or affiliated with the University or College.
- 12. Behavior or activity which endangers the health, safety, or well-being of oneself or others.
- 13. Offensive or disorderly conduct which causes interference, annoyance or alarm or recklessly creates a risk thereof at CSCU or CSCU premises, CSCU web or social media sites, at a CSCU-sponsored activity or in college or university courses, including cyber bullying. This offense does not apply to speech or other forms of constitutionally protected expression.
- 14. Unauthorized possession, duplication or use of keys (including, but not limited to, card access, card keys, fobs, etc.) to any CSCU premises or forcible and/or unauthorized entry on or into CSCU premises.
- 15. Starting fires, causing explosions, falsely reporting the presence of fire, bombs, incendiary or explosive devices, or falsely reporting an emergency.
- 16. Unauthorized or improper possession, use, removal, tampering or disabling of fire and/or safety equipment and warning devices, failure to follow standard fire and/or emergency safety procedures, or interference with firefighting or emergency response equipment or personnel.

- 17. Use, possession, purchase, sale or distribution of alcoholic beverages, except as expressly permitted by law and CSCU regulations. Alcoholic beverages may not, under any circumstances, be used by, possessed by, or distributed to any person under twenty-one (21) years of age.
- 18. Use, possession, purchase, sale, distribution or manufacturing of narcotics, controlled substances and/or drugs, including, but not limited to, marijuana and heroin, or drug paraphernalia, except as expressly permitted by law.
- 19. Use, possession or distribution of firearms, ammunition for firearms, other weapons or dangerous instruments, facsimiles of weapons or firearms, fireworks, explosives or dangerous chemicals. A dangerous instrument is any instrument, article or substance that, under the circumstances in which it is being utilized, is capable of causing death or serious physical injury. The possession of a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument on campus is strictly prohibited, even if such item is legally owned.
- 20. Gambling, including, but not limited to, promoting, wagering, receiving monies for wagering or gambling for money or property on CSCU premises.
- 21. Disruption or obstruction of any College or University function, activity or event, whether it occurs on or off the campus, or of any non-University or College function, activity or event which is authorized by the institution to occur on its premises.
- 22. Intentional obstruction of the free flow of pedestrian or vehicular traffic on CSCU premises or at University or College-sponsored or supervised functions or interference with entry into or exit from CSCU premises or with the free movement of any person.
- 23. Failure to comply with the directions of CSCU officials or law enforcement officers acting in the performance of their duties and/or failure to identify oneself to these persons when requested to do so.
- 24. Conduct that violates published BOR/CSCU policies, rules, and regulations, including, but not limited to, residence hall rules and regulations.
- 25. Conduct prohibited by any federal, state, and/or local law, regulation or ordinance.
- 26. Unauthorized use of CSCU property or the property of members of the CSCU Community or of CSCU Affiliates.
- 27. Theft, unauthorized use, or abuse of University or College computers and/or peripheral systems and networks, including, but not limited to:
  - a. Unauthorized access to CSCU computer programs or files;
  - b. Unauthorized alteration, transfer or duplication of CSCU computer programs or files;
  - c. Unauthorized use of another individual's identification and/or password;

- d. Deliberate disruption of the operation of CSCU computer systems and networks;
- e. Use of the Institution's computing facilities and resources in violation of copyright laws (including unauthorized peer-to-peer file sharing of copyrighted material, including, but not limited to, copyrighted music, movies, and software);
- f. Use of computing facilities and resources to send obscene messages (which are defined as messages which appeal mainly to a prurient, shameful or morbid interest in nudity, sex, excretion, sadism or masochism, go well beyond customary limits of candor in describing or representing such matters, and are utterly without redeeming social value); and
- g. Violation of the BOR Policy Statement on Acceptable and responsible use of Information Technology resources and/or any applicable BOR computer use policy.
- 28. Abuse of the CSCU conduct and disciplinary system, including but not limited to:
  - a. Failure to obey the notice from a Hearing Body or CSCU Official to appear for a meeting or hearing as part of the Student Conduct system;
  - b. Falsification, distortion, or intentional misrepresentation of information to a Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator, or before a Hearing Body;
  - c. Initiation of a conduct or disciplinary proceeding knowingly without cause;
  - d. Disruption or interference with the orderly conduct of a disciplinary proceeding;
  - e. Attempting to discourage an individual's proper participation in, or use of, the disciplinary system;
  - f. Attempting to influence the impartiality of a Disciplinary Officer, Conduct Administrator or member of a Hearing Body prior to, and/or during the course of, the disciplinary proceeding;
  - g. Harassment (verbal or physical) and/or intimidation of a Disciplinary Officer, Conduct Administrator, or member of a Hearing Body prior to, and/or during the course of the disciplinary proceeding;
  - h. Failure to comply with the sanction(s) imposed under the Student Code; and
  - i. Influencing or attempting to influence another person to commit an abuse of the disciplinary system.

## PART E: HEARING PROCEDURES FOR SEXUAL MISCONDUCT, SEXUAL INTIMATE PARTNER, DOMESTIC VIOLENCE & STALKING REPORTS

In addition to disciplinary procedures applicable to State University students in Section II, Community College students in Section III, or Charter Oak State College Students in Section IV, for any hearing

conducted involving allegations of sexual misconduct, including sexual harassment, sexual assault, sexual exploitation, stalking and intimate partner violence the reported victim and the accused student shall each have the following rights::

- At any meeting or proceeding, both the reported victim and accused student may be accompanied by an advisor or support person of the student's choice provided the advisor or support person does not cause a scheduled meeting or hearing to be delayed or postponed and provided an advisor or support person may not directly address the Hearing Body, question witnesses, or otherwise actively participate in the hearing process (or other proceeding or pertaining to a report of sexual misconduct);
- 2. The reported victim of sexual misconduct is entitled to request that disciplinary proceedings begin promptly;
- 3. Any hearing regarding an accusation of sexual misconduct shall (i) be fair, prompt and impartial; (ii) be conducted by a Hearing Body annually trained in issues relating to sexual misconduct (iii) use the preponderance of evidence (more likely than not ) standard; (iv) shall allow both the accused student and reported victim the opportunity to present evidence and witnesses on their behalf during any disciplinary proceeding; (v) shall provide both the accused student and the reported victim with equal access to any information that will be used during meetings and hearings; and (vi) invoke the standard of "affirmative consent<sup>1</sup>" in determining whether consent to engage in sexual activity was given by all persons who engaged in sexual activity.
- 4. In accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), the accused student and the reported victim have the right to keep their identities confidential;
- 5. Any reported victim shall be provided written notice of the decision of the Hearing Body at the same time as the accused student, normally within one (1) business day after the conclusion of the Hearing. In accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) the notice to any reported victim of sexual misconduct shall contain only the following: the name of the accused student, the violation committed, if any, and any sanction imposed against the accused student.
- 6. The reported victim shall have the same right to request a review of the decision of the Hearing Body (appeal rights) in the same manner and on the same basis as shall the accused student; however, if a request for review by a reported victim is determined to be properly made and if the review determines there is sufficient grounds for altering the decision of the Hearing Body, among the other actions that may be taken as set forth above, the sanction of the hearing may also be increased. Notwithstanding the foregoing, in any hearing pertaining to sexual misconduct both the reported victim and the accused student are entitled to be simultaneously provided notice of any change in the results of the hearing prior to the time when the results become final as well as to be notified when such results become final.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>The standard of "Affirmative Consent" is set forth in the BOR Sexual Misconduct Reporting, Support Services and Processes Policy and is incorporated herein by reference.

## PART F: CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY RECORDS

The written decision resulting from an administrative conference or a hearing under this Code shall become part of the student's educational record and shall be subject to the provisions of the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA). A student's disciplinary record shall be maintained separately from any other academic or official file maintained by the Institution. Disciplinary records will be maintained for a period of five (5) years from the date of the incident, except that the sanction of expulsion shall be noted permanently.

While student education records are generally protected from disclosure by FERPA, there are a number of exceptions to this rule. Students should be aware that a record concerning his/her behavior while a student at the College or University may be shared with other colleges or universities to which the student may subsequently wish to transfer or be admitted. Similarly, prospective employers may require a student to provide access to his/her education records as part of the employment application process. A record of having been sanctioned for conduct that violates Section I.D. of the Code may disqualify a student for admission to another college or university, and may interfere with his/her selection for employment.

#### PART G: INTERPRETATION AND REVISION

Questions regarding the interpretation of this Code shall be referred to the University's and Charter Oak State College's Provost or a Community College's Dean of Students or their designees for the administration of the Non-Academic Misconduct portion of the Student Code and to the University's Vice President for Student Affairs, a Community College's Dean of Academic Affairs or Charter Oak State College's Provost or their designees for the administration of the Academic Misconduct portion of the Student Code.

This Code shall be reviewed and revised, if and as necessary, every five (5) years, or as directed by the President of the Board of Regents for Higher Education.

# **II. CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES APPLICABLE TO STATE UNIVERSITY STUDENTS**

Procedures for University students differ from those procedures applicable to either the Community Colleges or Charter Oak State College. This is due to the environmental, cultural, and administrative differences within the types of the institutions comprising CSCU. Procedures for addressing allegations and sanctions regarding academic misconduct (as defined in Section I.D.1) for University Students as set for in this Section II of the Code.

#### PART A: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES - ACADEMIC MISCONDUCT

1. Instructor's Role:

When the instructor of record or his or her designee believes that an act of academic misconduct has occurred, he or she shall notify the student of the allegation and save any evidence of such misconduct in its original form. (Copies of the Accused Student's work will be provided to the Student upon request.) In addition, the instructor shall not transmit a final grade to the Registrar until such time as the allegation(s) of academic misconduct are finally determined. Each institution shall establish implementation guidelines in accordance with this Code.

- 2. <u>Information from Person Other than Student's Instructor</u>: Any member of the CSCU Community may provide information which might lead to a complaint against a Student alleging academic misconduct.
- 3. <u>The Academic Misconduct Hearing Board</u>: There shall be an academic misconduct hearing board convened by the University's Disciplinary Officer to consider allegations of academic misconduct lodged against a Student. The University's disciplinary officer shall be a non-voting member of the board and act as convener.
- 4. <u>Hearing Process</u>: The Accused Student shall be afforded adequate notice of the allegation, an opportunity to discuss the allegation with the instructor, and adequate time to request and prepare for a hearing. All parties shall have an opportunity to be heard and a record of the proceedings shall be made. The decision of a hearing board shall be communicated in writing.
- 5. <u>Sanctions</u>: If the academic misconduct hearing board determines that the Accused Student is "Not Responsible," the board shall not impose any sanctions. The board shall so advise the Student's instructor and the instructor shall reevaluate the student's course grade in light of the Board's determination. If the academic misconduct hearing board determines that the Accused Student is "Responsible," the academic sanction set forth in the instructor's course syllabus shall be imposed.

The academic misconduct hearing board may make a recommendation to change the academic sanction imposed by the instructor on the basis of its hearing of the evidence of academic misconduct. (Should the academic sanction not be changed pursuant to this recommendation, the University reserve the right to change the academic sanction.) Upon

consideration of the Accused Student's record of misconduct and/or the nature of the offense, the academic misconduct hearing board may impose additional non-academic sanctions in proportion to the severity of the misconduct. These sanctions may include the following: warning, written reprimand, discretionary sanctions, suspension and/or expulsion, as described in II.D of this Student Code of Conduct.

6. <u>Appeals</u>: The decision rendered by the academic misconduct hearing board may be appealed to the Provost/Academic Vice President, who shall review the record of the hearing, including any and all documents presented to the academic misconduct hearing board. An appeal shall be in writing and shall be delivered to the Provost/Academic Vice President within three (3) calendar days of receipt of the academic misconduct hearing board's written decision.

An appeal may be brought on any of four grounds: (a) a claim that error in the hearing procedure substantially affected the decision; (b) a claim that new evidence or information material to the case was not known at the time of the hearing; (c) a claim that the non-academic sanction(s) imposed were not appropriate for the violation of the Code for which the accused student was found responsible; and/or (d) a claim that the academic sanction imposed has resulted in a palpable injustice. The Provost/Academic Vice President shall have the right to deny an appeal not brought on any of the foregoing grounds. The decision rendered by the Provost/Academic Vice President shall be final and there shall be no further right of appeal.

#### PART B: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES - NONACADEMIC MISCONDUCT

The following procedures shall be followed in addressing allegations of non-academic misconduct.

- 1. <u>Providing Information leading to a Complaint</u>: Any person may provide information leading to the filing of a complaint against a Student or a Student Organization alleging a violation of the Student Code. A complaint must be made in writing and submitted to the University's Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator.
- 2. Disciplinary Proceedings Against a Student Charged with a Violation of Law and a Violation of the Code: University proceedings may be instituted against an Accused Student who has been charged with a violation of state or federal law for conduct which also constitutes a potential violation of this Code (that is, if both possible violations result from the same factual situation) without regard to the pendency of civil or criminal litigation in court or criminal arrest and prosecution. Proceedings under this Student Code may be carried out prior to, simultaneously with, or following the institution of civil or criminal court proceedings against the Accused Student. Determinations made or sanctions imposed under this Student Code shall not be subject to change because criminal charges arising out of the same facts giving rise to violation of University rules were dismissed, reduced, or resolved in favor of or against the criminal law defendant.

- 3. <u>Disciplinary Proceedings Against a Student Charged with Sexual Assault, Sexual,</u> Intimate Partner, Domestic Violence or Other Sex Related Offense: See Section I.E
- 4. <u>Pre-Hearing Investigation and Administrative Disposition</u>:
  - a. The Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator may conduct an investigation to determine if the charges have merit and/or if they can be disposed of administratively by mutual consent of the Accused Student and the Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator. Such disposition shall be final and there shall be no subsequent proceedings. If the charges are not admitted and/or cannot be disposed of by mutual consent, the Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator may also present the case for the University at any subsequent hearing, but if he or she does, he or she shall not serve as a member of the Hearing Body.
  - The Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator may conduct an investigation to b. determine if there is reason to believe the student has committed a violation of any part of Section I.D. of the Code and, after considering both the possible violation and the prior conduct record of the student, if the Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator determines that a sanction of less than residential hall separation or suspension or expulsion from the University is appropriate, the Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator shall schedule an administrative conference with the student. The student shall be given reasonable notice of the time and place of the conference. At the administrative conference, the student shall have the opportunity to present information for the Disciplinary Officer's or Conduct Administrator's consideration. At the conclusion of the administrative conference, the Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator shall determine whether it is more likely than not that the student has violated the Policy and, if so, impose a sanction less than residential hall separation, or suspension or expulsion from the University. The Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator shall provide the student with a written explanation for the determination. The decision of the Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator shall be final.
- 5. <u>Hearing Bodies</u>: A Student accused of misconduct has the right to be heard by an impartial Hearing Body. Any concern surrounding the impartiality of the Hearing Body or any member thereof will be referred to the Vice President for Student Affairs or his or her designee, who will review the matter and make a determination. Any Hearing regarding an accusation of sexual assault, sexual misconduct, intimate partner, domestic violence or other sex related offense or intimate partner violence shall be conducted by an impartial Hearing Body trained in issues relating to sexual assault, sexual violence, intimate partner, and domestic violence.
- 6. <u>Hearing Procedures</u>:
  - a. <u>Notice of Hearing</u>: Normally, a hearing will be conducted within ten (10) calendar days of the Accused Student being notified of the charges. Notice may be provided to the Accused Student by in-hand delivery, by registered mail, with delivery receipt attached or by certified mail, return receipt requested by University email or by overnight delivery with signature of recipient required. Should the

Accused Student refuse to accept in-hand delivery, a written statement of the attempted delivery of the notice signed by the person attempting to make such delivery shall constitute notice. Should the Accused Student refuse to sign for registered or certified mail, the postal document indicating such refusal shall constitute notice.

The notice shall advise the Accused Student of each section of the Student Code alleged to have been violated and, with respect to each such section, a statement of the acts or omissions which are alleged to constitute a violation of the Code, including the approximate time when and the place where such acts or omissions allegedly occurred.

The Accused Student shall be afforded a reasonable period of time to prepare for the hearing, which period of time shall not be less than three (3) Calendar Days. The Accused Student, the Reporting Party and/or any alleged victim may request a delay of the hearing due to extenuating circumstances. Any decision to postpone the hearing shall be made by the Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator or by the Hearing Body, or by the designee of the Vice President for Student Affairs.

b. <u>Hearing</u>: Hearings shall be closed, but the Hearing Body may, in its discretion, admit any person into the hearing room. The Hearing Body shall have the authority to discharge or to remove any person whose presence is deemed unnecessary or obstructive to the proceedings.

The Accused Student, the Reporting Party and any alleged victim shall have the right to be present at all stages of the hearing process except during the private deliberations of the Hearing Body and the presentation of sanctions. In hearings involving more than one Accused Student, the Hearing Body may determine that, in the interest of fairness, separate hearings should be convened.

In any Hearing alleging sexual assault, sexual, intimate partner, domestic violence or other sex related offense, any alleged victim and the Accused Student are entitled to:

- be accompanied to any meeting or proceeding by an advisor or support person of their choice, provided that the advisor or support person does not cause a scheduled meeting to be delayed or postponed;
- 2) present evidence and witnesses on their behalf;
- 3) in accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), to have their identities kept confidential.

In addition, the alleged victim of sexual assault, sexual, intimate partner, domestic violence or other sex related offense is entitled to request that disciplinary proceedings begin promptly.

c. <u>Record of Hearing</u>: When expulsion or suspension from the University or residence hall separation is a possibility, the University shall make a recording of the hearing. The recording shall be the property of the University. No other recordings shall be made by any person during the hearing. Upon request, the Accused Student may review the recording in a designated University office in order to prepare for an appeal of the decision rendered by the Hearing Body. Further disclosure of the recording shall be governed by applicable state and federal law.

- d. <u>Opportunity to Present a Defense</u>: The Accused Student shall have the full opportunity to present a defense and information, including the testimony of witnesses, in his or her behalf. The Reporting Party and the Accused Student may question the statements of any person who testifies in a manner deemed appropriate by the Hearing Body. The Reporting Party and the Accused Student may make concluding statements regarding the charges made and the information presented during the hearing. The Hearing Body may question the Accused Student and the Reporting Party, any witness presented by the Accused Student or the Reporting Party, and any other witness(e)s the Hearing Body may choose to call to testify.
- e. <u>Accused Student Can Choose Whether or Not to Testify in His or Her Own</u> <u>Defense</u>: The Accused Student who is present at the hearing shall be advised by the Hearing Body that he or she is not required to testify, to answer questions, or to make any statement regarding the complaint or the allegations set forth in the complaint. Refusal to do so shall not be considered by the Hearing Body to constitute evidence of responsibility.
- f. <u>Non-Appearance of Accused Student at Disciplinary Hearing</u>: If an Accused Student does not appear at a disciplinary hearing, the Hearing Body shall enter a plea of "not responsible" on behalf of such student and the hearing shall proceed in the normal manner of hearing evidence, weighing facts, and rendering judgment. The failure of an Accused Student to appear at the disciplinary hearing shall not be considered by the Hearing Body to constitute evidence of responsibility.
- g. <u>Advisors and Support Persons</u>: The Reporting Party, any alleged victim, and the Accused Student shall each have the right to be accompanied by an Advisor and Support Person. The Advisor and the Support Person should be someone whose schedule allows attendance at the scheduled date and time for the disciplinary hearing because delays will not normally be allowed due to the scheduling conflicts of an Advisor or Support Person.
- h. <u>Presentation of Evidence</u>: Only evidence introduced at the hearing itself may be considered by the Hearing Body in determining whether it is more likely than not that the alleged violation was committed by the accused student.
- i. <u>Evidence of Prior Convictions or Disciplinary Actions</u>: Evidence of prior criminal convictions or University disciplinary actions may be presented to the Hearing Body only after a determination of responsibility has been made and only for consideration in connection with determining the sanction.
- j. <u>Accommodation of Witnesses</u>: The Hearing Body may accommodate concerns for the personal safety, well-being, and/or fears of confrontation of the Reporting Party, the Accused Student, and/or other witnesses during the hearing by providing separate facilities, by using a visual screen, and/or by permitting

participation by telephone, videophone, closed circuit television, video conferencing, videotape, audio tape, written statement, or other means, where and as determined in the sole judgment of the Hearing Body to be appropriate.

k. <u>Written Notice of Decision</u>: The Accused Student shall receive written notice of the decision of the Hearing Body that shall set forth the decision rendered, including a finding of "responsible" or "not responsible," and the sanctions imposed, if any. The decision of the Hearing Body, as well as the sanction(s) imposed, if any, generally will not be released to third parties without the prior written consent of the Accused Student. However, certain information may be released if and to the extent authorized by state or federal law.

With respect to Hearings alleging sexual assault, sexual, intimate partner, domestic violence or other sex related offense, any alleged victim shall receive written notice of the decision of the Hearing Body at the same time as the Accused Student, normally within one (1) business day after the conclusion of the Hearing.

In accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) the notice to any alleged victim of sexual assault, sexual, intimate partner, domestic violence or other sex related offense shall contain only the following: the name of the student, the violation committed and any sanction imposed against the student.

6. <u>Review</u>: An Accused Student may request that the decision of the Hearing Body be reviewed by the Vice President for Student Affairs or his or her designee. A request for review must be made in writing to the Vice President for Student Affairs or his or her designee within three (3) Calendar Days of the Accused Student's receipt of the written notice of decision. For good cause shown, the Vice President for Student Affairs may extend the three-University Calendar Day limitation on filing a request for a review. An Accused Student may request only one review of each decision rendered by the Hearing Body. A decision reached as a result of an Administrative Disposition may not be reviewed.

- a. <u>Grounds for Review</u>: The Accused Student has the right to request a review of the decision of the Hearing Body on the grounds that: (i) the procedures set forth in this Code were not followed and, as a result, the decision was substantially affected; (ii) the sanction(s) imposed were not appropriate for the violation of the Code for which the Accused Student was found responsible; and/or (iii) new information, sufficient to alter the decision, or other relevant facts were not brought out in the original hearing because such information and/or facts were not known to the Accused Student at the time of the original hearing. The review shall be limited to a review of the record except as required to explain the basis of new information.
- b. <u>Review Procedures</u>: In order to prepare for the review, the Accused Student may review the recording of the original hearing in a designated University office but will not be permitted to remove the recording from that office or make copies. The review will not be heard by anyone involved in the initial hearing. The review shall be considered and a decision rendered within ten (10) Calendar Days of the filing of the request for review.

If a request for review is granted, the matter shall be referred to the original Hearing Body for reconsideration of its original determination or to a newly-constituted Hearing Body for a new hearing, or the sanction imposed may be reduced, as appropriate. If a request is not granted, the matter shall be considered final and binding upon all involved.

- c. <u>Status of Student Pending Review</u>: All sanctions imposed by the Hearing Body shall be and continue in effect pending the outcome of a review. Any request to delay the commencement of sanctions pending a review must be made by the Accused Student, in writing, to the Vice President for Student Affairs or his or her designee.
- d. With respect only to Hearings related to sexual assault, sexual, intimate partner, domestic violence or other sex offense, the alleged victim shall have the same right to request a review in the same manner and on the same basis as shall the Accused Student as set forth above; however, in such cases, if a review by any alleged victim is granted, among the other actions that may be taken as set forth above, the sanction of the Hearing may also be increased.

Upon review, if the decision or sanction of the disciplinary proceeding is changed, any alleged victim must be notified in writing of the change indecision or sanction at the same time that the Accused Student is notified.

#### PART C: INTERIM SUSPENSIONS AND RESIDENCE HALL SEPARATIONS

In certain circumstances, the Vice President for Student Affairs, or his or her designee, may impose an interim suspension or residence hall separation on an Accused Student prior to the hearing before the Hearing Body.

1. <u>Basis for Imposition of Interim Suspension or Residence Hall Separation</u>: An interim suspension may be imposed upon an Accused Student only: (i) to ensure the safety and well-being of members of the University Community or preservation of University property; (ii) to ensure the Student's own physical or emotional safety and well-being; or (iii) if the student poses an ongoing threat of disruption of, or interference with, the normal operations of the University.

A residence hall separation may be imposed if a Student's continued presence will disrupt the academic and social well-being of the residential community. Residence hall separation is the removal of a student from the University residence hall in which he or she resides. Such separation may include a restriction of access to all or designate University residence halls. During the period of the separation, the removed Student shall not be permitted to enter the designated hall(s) as a guest of another resident.

An interim suspension or residence hall separation is not a sanction and will continue in effect only until such time as a hearing on the alleged violation has been completed.

- 2. <u>Effect of Interim Suspension or Residence Hall Separation</u>: During the interim suspension or residence hall separation, the removed Student shall be denied access to the residence halls and/or to the campus (including classes) and/or all other University activities or privileges for which the Student might otherwise be eligible, as the Vice President for Student Affairs, or his or her designee, may determine to be appropriate.
- 3. <u>Procedure</u>: The Accused Student shall be notified, either orally or in writing, of the pending imposition of an interim suspension or residence hall separation. Whenever possible prior to the imposition of the interim suspension or suspension, the affected Student will be afforded an opportunity to meet with the Vice President for Student Affairs, or his or her designee. Otherwise, the meeting will be held on the first Calendar Day that the Student is available.

At that meeting, the Accused Student will be advised of his/her reported behavior and be offered the opportunity to provide information upon which the determination may be based whether or not the Student engaged in conduct warranting an interim suspension or residence hall separation.

Any Student placed on an interim suspension will be given an opportunity to appear at an administrative conference or a formal hearing on the misconduct charges lodged against him or her in accordance with II.B.5 of this Code within ten (10) Calendar Days of being placed on such suspension, or as soon as practical after the Accused Student is prepared to participate in such a hearing.

#### PART D: DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS

Sanctions which may be imposed for violations of the Student Code are listed below. In determining appropriate sanctions, the Hearing Body may take into consideration any and all prior violations of the Code for which the Accused Student was determined to be responsible. The Hearing Body shall have the authority to defer the imposition of any sanction when deemed appropriate. The University may withhold awarding a degree otherwise earned until the completion of the process set forth in this Student Code, including the completion of all sanctions imposed, if any.

- 1. Sanctions Which May Be Imposed for Violations of the Code: The following sanctions may be imposed, individually or in various combinations, on any student found to have violated the Student Code, and will be entered into the Student's disciplinary records. Notation of disciplinary sanctions shall be on file only in the appropriate office in the Division of Student Affairs and shall not be released without the written consent of the Student except to appropriate University enforcement personnel, University police, staff and administrators, or as required by law.
  - a. <u>Warning</u>: A disciplinary warning is a written notice to a Student advising him or her that specific behavior or activity constitutes a violation of the Code and that the repetition of such behavior will likely result in the commencement of more serious disciplinary action by the University.

- b. <u>Fine</u>: A sanction involving the imposition of a specified dollar amount due and payable by a specified date.
- c. <u>Probation</u>: Disciplinary probation is a designated period of time during which a Student is given the opportunity to modify unacceptable behavior and/or to complete specific assignments in an effort to regain full student privileges within University Community. Disciplinary probation may involve the imposition of certain restrictions and/or conditions upon the Student including, but not limited to, financial restitution, community service, fines, referral for professional services such as counseling, participation in educational programs, parental notification under limited circumstances, and ineligibility to participate in University Community or non-college professional may be required. If the Student fully complies with the terms and conditions imposed in connection with the disciplinary probation, full student privileges will be restored to the student upon termination of the probationary period. Failure to comply with the terms

upon termination of the probationary period. Failure to comply with the terms and conditions of the probation constitutes prohibited conduct that is separate from and in addition to the conduct for which the probation was imposed. A Student accused of violation of probation will be given due notice of the alleged violation and the procedures set forth in this Code shall be followed.

- d. Loss of Privileges: Denial of specified privileges for a designated period.
- e. <u>Restitution</u>: Compensation for loss, damage to real or personal property. This may take the form of appropriate service and/or monetary or material replacement.
- f. <u>Discretionary Sanctions</u>: Work assignments, essays, service to the University, or other related discretionary assignments, referral for professional services such as counseling, participation in educational programs, parental notification under limited circumstances, and ineligibility to participate in University activities or events. Periodic contact with a designated member of the University Community or noncollege professional may be required.
- g. <u>Residence Hall Warning</u>: A written notice to a Student advising him or her that specific behavior or activity constitutes a violation of the Code and that the repetition of such behavior will likely result in the commencement of more serious disciplinary action by the University.
- h. <u>Residence Hall Probation</u>: Residence hall probation is a designated period during which an Accused Student is given the opportunity to modify unacceptable behavior and/or to complete specific assignments in an effort to regain full student privileges within the residence hall in which the Student resides. Residence hall probation may include restrictions and/or conditions on the exercise of residence hall activities and privileges. Periodic contact with a designated member of the residence hall staff or professional may be required. If the Accused Student fully complies with the terms and conditions imposed in connection with the residence hall probation,

full residence hall privileges will be restored to the Student upon termination of the probationary period. Failure to comply with the terms and conditions of the probation constitutes prohibited conduct that is separate from and in addition to the conduct for which the probation was imposed. A Student accused of violation of probation will be given due notice and the procedures set forth in this Code shall be followed.

- i. <u>Residence Hall Separation</u>: Separation of the Student from the residence halls for a definite period of time, after which the Student is eligible to return. Conditions for readmission may be specified.
- j. <u>Residence Hall Expulsion</u>: Permanent separation of the Student from the residence halls.
- k. <u>Suspension</u>: Suspension is temporary disciplinary separation from all universities among CSCU and the denial of all student privileges. Suspension shall be effective on the date that notice of the suspension is provided to the Accused Student, or later, if so stated in the notice, and shall prescribe the date and conditions upon which the Student may petition for readmission to the University. A Student separated from all universities within CSCU by suspension may under the terms of the suspension be excluded from the premises of all CSCU premises when in the judgment of the suspending authority, the Student's continued presence would constitute a danger to persons or property or a threat to the academic process. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the suspending authorize a suspended student who has been excluded from all University premises to enter the premises of the student's home University for designated purposes.
- 1. <u>Expulsion</u>: Expulsion is permanent disciplinary separation from all universities within CSCU and the denial of all student privileges. Expulsion shall be effective on the date that notice of expulsion is provided to the Accused Student, or later, if so stated in the notice. A student separated from all universities of CSCU by expulsion may under the terms of the expulsion be excluded from all CSCU Premises when in the judgment of the expelling authority the Student's presence would constitute a danger to persons or property or a threat to the academic process.
- 2. Revocation of Admission and/or Degree: Upon the recommendation of the Hearing Body, admission to or a degree awarded from the University may be revoked by the University, acting through its President (or his or her designee) for fraud, misrepresentation, or other violation of University standards in obtaining admission or the degree.
- 3. Consequences of Failure to Comply with a Duly Assigned Sanction: Failure to comply with sanctions which have been assigned through a formal judicial process may lead to one or more of the following consequences:
  - a. Denial of access to certain university services, including, but not limited to housing and parking;

- b. Denial of access to administrative processes, including, but not limited to, course add/drop, pre-registration, registration, and room selection; and/or
- c. Withholding of the privilege of participation in university sponsored activities and/or public ceremonies, or formal disciplinary charges under II.B hereof.
- 4. Sanctions Which May Be Imposed on Student Organizations
  - a. <u>Sanctions</u>: Those sanctions listed in subsections 1.a through f of Section II.D.
  - b. <u>Loss of recognition</u>: Loss of recognition for a specified period of time results in the loss of privileges, such as the use of university space, access to student activity fee funding, and/or the privilege of functioning as a student organization. Loss of recognition for more than two (2) semesters shall require that an organization reapply for University recognition. Conditions for future recognition may be imposed by the hearing body.

# **III. CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES APPLICABLE TO COMMUNITY COLLEGE STUDENTS**

Procedures for Community College students differ from those procedures applicable to either the Universities or Charter Oak State College. This is due to the environmental, cultural and administrative differences within the types of the institutions comprising CSCU. Procedures for addressing allegations and sanctions regarding academic misconduct (as defined in Section I.D.1 above) for Community College Students as set for in this Section III of the Code.

## PART A: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES (Academic and Non-Academic Misconduct)

In regard to College Students, the following procedures shall govern the enforcement of the Code:

- Information that a student may have violated the Code should be submitted to the Dean of Students, Dean of Academic Affairs or other designee of the President (hereinafter referred to as "the Dean"), normally within thirty (30) calendar days of the date of a possible violation or within thirty (30) calendar days of the date that the facts constituting a possible violation were known.
- 2. Upon receipt of information relating to a possible violation, the Dean may immediately place restrictions on or suspend a student on an interim basis if, in the judgment of the Dean, the continued presence of the student at the College or continued participation in the full range of college activities poses a danger to persons or property or constitutes an ongoing threat of disrupting the academic process.
  - a. "Interim restrictions" are limitations on the Student's participation in certain College functions and activities, access to certain locations on campus or access to certain persons, that do not prevent the Student from continuing to pursue his/her academic program. A Student upon whom the Dean has placed interim restrictions shall be afforded written reasons for the restrictions, as well as the time period during which the interim restrictions shall apply. The decision of the Dean regarding interim restrictions shall be final.
  - b. "Interim suspension" is the temporary separation of the Student from the College that involves the denial of all privileges, including entrance to College premises. Prior to imposing an interim suspension, the Dean shall make a good faith effort to meet with the Student. At this meeting, the Dean shall inform the Student of the information received and provide the Student an opportunity to present other information for the Dean's consideration. Based upon the information available at that time, the Dean shall determine whether the Student's continued presence on campus poses a danger to persons or property or constitutes an ongoing threat of disrupting the academic process. A Student suspended on an interim basis by the Dean shall be provided written reasons for the suspension and shall be entitled to an administrative conference or a hearing as soon as possible, normally within ten (10) calendar days from the date the interim suspension was imposed. The decision of the Dean regarding an interim suspension shall be final.
- 3. Following the imposition of interim restrictions or interim suspension, if any, the Dean shall promptly investigate the information received by meeting with individuals who may have knowledge of the matter, including the accused Student, and by reviewing all relevant documents.

If upon the conclusion of the Dean's investigation, the Dean determines that there is insufficient reason to believe the Student has committed a violation of any part of Section I.D. of this Policy, the Dean shall dismiss the matter and shall so inform the Student in writing.

- 4. If upon the conclusion of the Dean's investigation, the Dean determines that there is reason to believe the Student has committed a violation of any part of Section I. D. of this Code and, after considering both the possible violation and the prior conduct record of the Student, that a sanction of less than suspension or expulsion is appropriate, the Dean shall schedule an administrative conference with the Student. The Student shall be given reasonable notice of the time and place of the conference. At the administrative conference, the Student shall have the opportunity to present information for the Dean's consideration. At the conclusion of the administrative conference, the Dean shall determine whether it is more likely than not that the Student has violated the Policy and, if so, impose a sanction less than suspension or expulsion. The Dean shall provide the Student with a written explanation for the determination. The decision of the Dean shall be final.
- 5. If upon the conclusion of the Dean's investigation, the Dean determines that there is reason to believe the Student has committed a violation of any part of Section I.D. of this Code and, after considering both the violation and the prior conduct record of the Student, that a sanction of suspension or expulsion is appropriate, the Dean shall provide the Student with reasonable written notice of a meeting and shall inform the Student that his/her failure to attend the meeting or to respond to the notice may result in the imposition of the maximum permissible sanction. At the meeting, the Dean shall provide the Student with a written statement that shall include the following:
  - a. a concise statement of the alleged facts;
  - b. the provision(s) of Section I.D. that appear to have been violated;
  - c. the maximum permissible sanction; and
  - d. a statement that the student may resolve the matter by mutual agreement with the Dean, or may request a hearing by notifying the Dean in writing, which must be received by 5:00pm on the following business day.
- 6. If the Student requests a hearing, he/she is entitled to the following:
  - a. to be heard within five (5) days or as soon as reasonably possible, by an impartial party or panel whose members shall be appointed by the Dean;
  - b. if the Dean appoints an impartial panel, to have a Student on the panel if requested by the Student;
  - c. to appear in person and to have an advisor who not shall attend as a representative of the Student. However, if there is pending at the time of the hearing a criminal matter pertaining to the same incident that is the subject of the hearing, a lawyer may be present for the sole purpose of observing the proceedings and advising the Student concerning the effect of the proceedings on the pending criminal matter;
  - d. to hear and to question the information presented;
  - e. to present information, to present witnesses, and to make a statement on his or her behalf; and
  - f. to receive a written decision following the hearing.
- 7. As used herein, the term "impartial" shall mean that the individual was not a party to the incident under consideration and has no personal interest in the outcome of the proceedings. Prior to the
commencement of the hearing, the Student who is subject to the hearing may challenge the appointment of an impartial party or panel member on the ground that the person(s) is (are) not impartial. The challenge shall be made in writing to the Dean and shall contain the reasons for the assertion that the person(s) is (are) not impartial. The decision of the Dean shall be final.

- 8. The written decision of the impartial party or panel shall specify whether, based on the information presented, it is more likely than not that the Student committed the violation(s) reported and shall state the sanction to be imposed, if any. The written decision shall be provided to the Student.
- 9. Sanctions imposed by an impartial party or panel are effective immediately. The President may, for good cause, suspend imposition of the sanctions imposed by the impartial party or panel to allow the Student time to prepare a written request for review. If a written request is received, the President may continue to suspend imposition of the sanctions until he has reviewed and acted on the Student's request.
- 10. A written request for review of the decision of the impartial party or panel must be received by the President within three (3) calendar days after the Student is notified of the decision and must clearly identify the grounds for review. The review by the President is limited to the record of the hearing, the written request, and any supporting documentation submitted with the request by the Student. The decision of the impartial party or the panel shall be upheld unless the President finds that:
  - a. a violation of the procedures set forth herein significantly prejudiced the Student; and/or
  - b. the information presented to the impartial party or panel was not substantial enough to justify the decision; and/or,
  - c. the sanction(s) imposed was (were) disproportionate to the seriousness of the violation.
- 11. Decisions under this procedure shall be made only by the college officials indicated.

#### PART B: DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS

The prior conduct record of a Student shall be considered in determining the appropriate sanction for a Student who has been found to have violated any part of Section I.D. of this Code. Sanctions shall be progressive in nature; that is, more serious sanctions may be imposed if warranted by the prior conduct record of the Student.

A "sanction" may be any action affecting the status of an individual as a Student taken by the College in response to a violation of this Policy, and for the purposes of this Section III of the Code include but are not limited to the following:

- 1. "Expulsion" is a permanent separation from the College that involves denial of all Student privileges, including entrance to College premises;
- 2. "Suspension" is a temporary separation from the College that involves denial of all Student privileges, including entrance to college premises for the duration of the suspension, and may include conditions for reinstatement;

- 3. "Removal of College Privileges" involves restrictions on Student access to certain locations, functions and/or activities but does not preclude the Student from continuing to pursue his/her academic program;
- 4. "Probation" is a status that indicates either (a) serious misconduct not warranting expulsion, suspension, or removal of College privileges, or (b) repetition of misconduct after a warning has been imposed;
- 5. A "Warning" is a written notice to the Student indicating that he or she has engaged in conduct that is in violation of Section I.D. of this Code and that any repetition of such conduct or other conduct that violates this Code is likely to result in more serious sanctions;
- 6. "Community Restitution" requires a Student to perform a number of hours of service on the campus or in the community at large.

### IV. CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES APPLICABLE TO CHARTER OAK STATE COLLEGE STUDENTS

Procedures for Charter Oak State College students differ from those procedures applicable to either the Community Colleges or the Universities. This is due to the environmental, cultural, and administrative differences within the types of the institutions comprising CSCU. Procedures for addressing allegations and sanctions regarding academic misconduct (as defined in Section I.D.1 above) for Charter Oak State College Students as set for in this Section IV of the Code.

### PART A: RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF HEARING PARTICIPANTS

Hearing participants may include the accused student(s), a complainant, witnesses, support person(s), and the members of the hearing body.

The complaining party, any alleged victim, and the student who has been charged shall each have the right to:

- 1. Be notified of all charges.
- 2. Review any written complaint(s) submitted in support of the charge(s).
- 3. Be informed of the hearing process.
- 4. Request a delay of a hearing due to extenuating circumstances.
- 5. Be accompanied by an advisor or support person during the hearing.
- 6. Be present at all stages of the hearing process except during the private deliberations of the hearing body.
- 7. Submit a written statement regarding the incident.
- 8. Give a personal statement.
- 9. Question all statements and other information presented at the hearing.
- 10. Present information and witnesses when deemed appropriate and relevant by the hearing body.
- 11. Be informed of the finding(s) as well as any sanctions imposed.
- 12. Present a personal or community impact statement to the hearing body upon a finding of "Violation."

In addition to the above-mentioned rights, a student who has been charged with a violation of the Student Code of Conduct shall have the right to:

- 1. Be notified of the proposed information to be presented and to know the identity of witnesses who have been called to speak at the hearing when the Chair of the disciplinary hearing knows such information.
- 2. Request an alternate hearing panel member when there is reasonable cause to believe that the hearing panel will be unable to conduct an impartial hearing.
- 3. Be presumed not to be in "violation" of the code unless the facts presented at the hearing prove otherwise.
- 4. Deny or admit violating the Code of Conduct.
- 5. Decline to give a personal statement.
- 6. Present Character Witnesses, if appropriate.
- 7. Receive a written notice of the sanction(s) imposed.

### PART B: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES

The Administration and the Faculty of Charter Oak State College believe that all members of the academic community are entitled to expect compliance with Section I.D.1 Prohibited Conduct. Accordingly, any Student or employee of the College may initiate a disciplinary process in the manner specified by this section. Once the process has been initiated, all subsequent decisions concerning possible discipline of a Student or students rest with the appropriate College officials. The President shall designate the Provost or another College official to have responsibility for the disciplinary procedures.

- 1. A statement of possible violation must be filed in writing with the Provost within thirty (30) business days of the date of the alleged violation or within thirty (30) business days of the date the alleged violation was known. Said statement must specify the Student conduct in question and the part or parts of Section I.D.1 Prohibited Conduct, which it is alleged said conduct violates, if applicable.
- 2. If the Provost determines that the alleged conduct may violate the provisions of the Code or otherwise threatens the safety or order of the College, the Provost shall, within ten (10) business days of receiving a written statement, provide written notice to the Student of the statement of possible violation(s) and the fact that the allegations will be investigated. The investigation shall be conducted by the Provost and/or his or her designee(s), and may include but not be limited to interviews with witnesses, the complainant(s), and review of any pertinent materials and information, and shall include an interview with the Student suspected in engaging in misconduct conduct unless the Student suspected declines to be interviewed. The investigation shall be completed within thirty (30) business days of the Provost's receipt of the written statement of possible violation. A record of the investigations will be maintained.
- 3. Following completion of the informal investigation specified above, the Provost will (a) determine that there is insufficient basis in fact and dismiss the matter or (b) conclude that there is a sufficient factual basis for discipline.
- 4. If the Provost determines there is a sufficient factual basis for moving forward with disciplinary proceedings, he or she shall cause a written statement of charges to be provided to the Student. Said statement shall contain (a) a concise statement of the facts on which the charge is based; (b) a citation of the rule or rules alleged to have been violated; (c) a statement of the maximum penalty sought; (d) a statement that the Student may request a hearing by responding in writing to the Provost within thirty (30) business days requesting such hearing; and (e) a statement that failure to request a hearing may result in imposition of the penalty sought.
- 5. If the Student requests a formal hearing, the Student is entitled to the following: (a) a hearing be conducted within thirty (30) business days after receipt by Provost of a written request for a hearing; (b) to be heard by an impartial panel chaired by the Dean of the Faculty or his/her designee and composed of no fewer than two members of the Charter Oak State College Faculty, one appointed by the Dean of the Faculty and one Student appointed by the Student Association; (c) to appear in person or through a conference call or other mutually agreed upon electronic means, or to have a representative attend on his/her behalf; (d) be accompanied by a support person during the hearing; (e) to hear and have a reasonable opportunity to question adverse witnesses and to present evidence and testimony in his/her behalf; and (f) to receive a written decision within ten (10) business days following the hearing specifying the panel's

findings and the penalty assessed, if any. The hearing shall be taped and a record shall be maintained of this hearing.

6. Hearing: A hearing shall be conducted following the guidelines specified below:

**On-site:** 

- a. A hearing shall be conducted in private.
- b. Admission of any person into the hearing room shall be at the discretion of the chair of the hearing body. The chair, who is the Dean of the Faculty or his/her designee, shall have the authority to discharge or to remove any person whose presence is deemed unnecessary or obstructive to the proceeding.
- c. Except as directed by the chair, support persons shall limit their role in a hearing to that of a consultant to the accused, to the complainant or to the victim.
- d. The complainant and the accused are responsible for presenting their respective witnesses, any additional information, and any concluding statements regarding the charges and the information.
- e. In a manner deemed appropriate by the chair, the complainant and/or the accused may question the statements of any person who testifies.
- f. The hearing panel may question any witness presented by the accused and the complainant, including the complainant and the accused as well as any other witnesses the chair may choose to call.
- g. Pertinent records, exhibits, and written statements may be accepted as information for consideration by the Hearing Body at the discretion of the chair.
- h. All procedural questions are subject to the final decision of the chair or the Provost.
- i. After the hearing has concluded, the hearing panel, in private, will decide whether the Student charged with misconduct is in violation of the Student Code of Conduct. The Dean of the Faculty or his/her designee may participate in the discussion, but is a non-voting member. Only evidence introduced at the hearing shall be considered in the determination of the decision. Each decision shall be made on the basis of whether or not the information presented at the hearing substantiates the charges in a more likely than not manner.
- j. If the panel finds that the student violated the Student Conduct Code, the panel, in private, shall review the Student's academic transcript and disciplinary record, hear **a** character witness, if appropriate, and impose the appropriate sanction (s). The decision of the panel will be provided in writing to the Provost. The decision and sanction will be sent to the student in writing by the Provost.
- k. A taped record of the hearing will be maintained. The record shall be the property of the College.

#### Via the Phone:

- a. For the accused or complainant who cannot attend in person, Charter Oak State College will set up a conference call.
- b. Twenty-one (21) business days before the hearing, the Provost must receive all materials to be presented by the accused and by the complainant, including the names and relationships of the character witnesses and support persons. The Provost will send copies of the materials to the hearing panel, the accused, and

the complainant at least seven (7) business days before the hearing. The Provost will arrange for the conference call.

- c. The procedures outlined in the "on- site" section will be followed, unless they specifically apply only to the on-site hearing.
- d. Within ten (10) business days of the conclusion of the formal hearing, a Student may appeal the decision, in writing, to the President. An appeal shall be limited to a consideration of the verbatim record of the hearing and supporting documents for one or more of the following: a.) the process set forth in the guidelines was not followed and resulted in prejudice to the Student; b.) the evidence presented was insufficient to justify the decision; and c.) sanction(s) imposed was/were disproportionate to the gravity of the offense. The President may accept the decision of the hearing panel, overturn their decision, return the matter to the original hearing panel, or appoint a new hearing panel. The decision of the original hearing panel or the new hearing panel or the President will be sent to the Student in writing by the President and will be final.
- e. During any appeal period, any sanctions will remain in place and the Student will not be allowed to participate in a graduation ceremony nor graduate until the review process has been completed and a final decision rendered.

### PART C: INTERIM ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

The President or his/her designee may impose an interim "College Suspension" and/or other necessary restrictions on a Student prior to a hearing on the Student's alleged violation. Such action may be taken when, in the professional judgment of the President or his/her designee, a threat of imminent harm to persons or property exists.

Interim Administrative Action is not a sanction. Rather, it is an action to protect the safety and wellbeing of an accused Student, or other members of the College community, or greater community or to protect property. Such action is in effect only until a hearing is completed.

#### **PART D:** DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS

Disciplinary penalty shall mean any action affecting the status of an individual as a Student taken by the College in response to a Student's misconduct in violation of Section I.D.1 Prohibited Conduct above, which penalties shall include but not be limited to:

- 1. Warning A written notice that the Student has violated College Policy and a warning that another violation will likely result in a more severe sanction.
- 2. Restitution Compensation for loss of or damage to property.
- 3. Academic Sanctions
- 4. Suspension Suspension is a temporary disciplinary separation from the College involving denial of all Student privileges, including entrance to College premises. A notation of "suspension" will be placed in the Student database but will not be placed on the Student transcript. Charter Oak State College will not accept credits earned at another institution or through any other means during a period of suspension. Suspensions shall range from one semester to two years.
- 5. Students who are suspended will receive no refund of tuition or fees.
- 6. A Student who has been suspended must apply for re-matriculation if he/she plans to return.
- 7. Expulsion Expulsion is mandatory separation from the College involving denial of all Student privileges, including entrance to college premises for a minimum of 5 years.

After the length of the term for expulsion has expired, the Student may request in writing directed to the Provost permission to re-matriculate. That permission must indicate why Charter Oak State College should allow the Student to return.

8. Charter Oak State College will not accept credits earned at another institution or through any other means during a period of expulsion. A permanent notation of "Dismissed" shall be placed on the Student's transcript.

Failure to comply with requirements of Restitution or Academic Sanctions above will result in dismissal from the institution. The Student must complete the requirements of the sanction before he/she would be allowed to apply for readmission and/or graduate.

Approved 3/13/2014; amended 4/17/2014; 1/15/2015, 6/16/2016

Written Notification



you are not alone

### Resources and Options

For survivors of sexual assault, intimate partner violence and stalking.

You have options. If you or someone you know has experienced interpersonal violence, please know that there are people at CCSU and in the local community who are here to help. We can answer your questions about where to start.

### CCSU has a professional advocate dedicated to assisting survivors/victims.

Sarah Dodd – CCSU's Office of Victim Advocacy
860-832-3795
sarahdodd@ccsu.edu
DiLoreto Hall, Room 207*
M-F, 9 AM – 5 PM from mid-August thru mid-June
Sarah is here to assist and support you.
*Office will be moved beginning fall 2016. Call for new location.

Remember, no matter what, this was not your fault.

### Medical and Emotional Care

- You may need basic medical treatment for current injuries or those injuries that you are not aware of at this time. **Call 911 for immediate assistance**.
- Contact the CCSU Student Wellness Services (SWS) for on-campus evaluation and advice at 860-832-1925. For more information go to www.ccsu.edu/healthservices.
- For off-campus evaluation, advice and the collection of medical evidence go to the Hospital of Central Connecticut at 100 Grand St., New Britain or call 860-224-501.
- Please seek emotional support. It is important not to neglect your emotions. This may mean reaching out to a trusted friend, family member or a confidential professional counselor. The CCSU SWS, Counseling Services is the only on-campus confidential resource. There are options for confidential counseling both on- and off-campus.

SWS, Counseling Services CCSU Marcus White Hall, Room 205 860-832-1945 *Free. Confidential.*  YWCA Sexual Assault Crisis Services 22 Glen St. New Britain CT 860-223-1787 (24/7) ywcanewbritain.org/sacs/ Free. Confidential. Prudence Crandall Center (for Domestic Violence) 888-774-2900 (24/7) prudencecrandall.org/ Free. Confidential.



### Filing a Report - It's up to you.

It is important to note that the ODE/OSC and police processes are separate. You have the right to file reports with both, one or neither systems. **CCSU's Office of Victim Advocacy** (860-832-3795) can provide information on options and can assist you with making reports.

<u>All Complaints</u>
Office of Diversity and Equity (ODE)
Rosa Rodriguez, Title IX Officer
860-832-1652
TitleIXReport@ccsu.edu
Davidson Hall, Room 102

Complaints against Students

Office of Student Conduct (OSC) Christopher Dukes, Director 860-832-1667 DukesC@ccsu.edu Willard Hall, Room 107

### Filing a Criminal Complaint and Orders for Protection

You may choose to file a report with the police within the jurisdiction where the incident occurred. For on-campus incidents call the **CCSU Police at 860-832-2375 or 911 (24/7)**. If you don't know which law enforcement agency to contact, CCSU can assist you.

You have the right to obtain a protective order, apply for a temporary restraining order or seek enforcement of an existing order against the perpetrator. If the perpetrator is not affiliated with CCSU, at your request, CCSU can still take actions for your protection and comfort on campus. The CCSU Police or the **Office of Victim Advocacy** can provide guidance on the process of requesting one of these orders.

You have the right to be on the CCSU campus. Regardless of whether or not you choose to file a formal complaint, CCSU's Office of Victim Advocacy can assist in requesting reasonable accommodations including changing academic, living, campus transportation or working situations. Each person's situation may be different. We will support you in determining what is best for you.

You may want to talk to someone where you feel most comfortable. **These offices are not confidential**. Consider asking about their limits of their confidentiality before you sit down to talk.

Office of Victim Advocacy	Women's Center	LGBT Center	Residence Life
860-832-3795	860-832-1655	860-832-2090	860-832-1660

### Other Helpful Information

- www.knowyourix.org
   Provides information on Title IX and student rights. Created by and for students.
- www.ccsn.edu/diversity/ Links to CCSU Title IX policies and procedures and staff contact information
   www.ccsn.edu/studentconduct/resources.asp Links to the CCSU Student Code of Conduct

#### you are not alone.

There are people available to help.

Resources

.



## You Have Options: The Choice is Yours.

- Go to a safe place.
- confidential off-campus provider are there Consider calling someone you trust-The CCSU Office of Victim Advocacy or a for you.
- on campus, or through local resources. Seek medical care and/or counseling
- Preserve evidence.
- Call CCSU Police at 860-832-2375 or 911 (24 hours/7 days).

interpersonal violence and stalking. These acts when they are reported to CCSU officials, they Student Code of Conduct. It is essential that CCSU is committed to ending sexual assault, may be a violation of the law and the CCSU campus policies and procedures, and State are treated seriously and consistent with laws.

goal is to strengthen and improve the delivery accountable while protecting the rights of all We believe that everyone has the right to an environment free of violence and fear. Our offenses, and to hold responsible persons of services, encourage the reporting of involved parties.

A publication of the CCSU's Sexual Assault and Interpersonal Violence Resource Team (SART) To obtain this publication in alternate formats, call Student Disability Services at 860-832-1957.

portunity Employer and Educator

Equ

### **CCSU Resources**

Available 24 hours/7 days a week

Emergency - Police and/or Medical call 911 **CCSU Police Department** 860-832-2375

## Wonday - Friday, 8 AM - 5 PM

Office of Diversity and Equity 860-832-1652

Office of Student Conduct 860-832-1667 Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs 860-832-1601

**CCSU's Office of Victim Advocacy** 

860-832-3795 (Sarah Dodd)

The Ruthe Boyea Women's Center 860-832-1655 Student Wellness Services (Confidential) 860-832-1925 (health) 860-832-1945 (counseling)

**Residence Life** 860-832-1660

LGBT Center 860-832-2091

# **Off-Campus Confidential Resources**

Available 24 hours/7 days a week

**YWCA Sexual Assault Crisis Service** 

1-860-223-1787 English

Hospital of Central Connecticut 860-224-5671

**Prudence Crandall Center for Domestic Violence** 







**Suicide Prevention Lifeline** 

1-888-273-8255



you are

not alone

**Information and Resources on** Sexual Assault Interpersonal Violence

To report an invident at CCSU

Rights of Victims/Survivors	<ul> <li>Be treated with respect and dignity.</li> <li>Not be judged based on your race, age, class, gender, sexual orientation, the</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>offender's relationship to you and any other protected class.</li> <li>You can refuse to answer questions about the sexual assault, your sexual orientation, and your sexual, medical (including HIV status), and mental health histories.</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Have confidential conversations with a CCSU licensed counselor in Student Wellness Services.</li> <li>Decide if you want to make a police report.</li> <li>Have an advocate accompany you to medical, law enforcement and legal proceedings.</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Request that someone you are comfortable with stay with you in the examination room.</li> <li>Ask questions and get answers regarding any tests, examinations, medications, treatments or police reports.</li> </ul>	The campus community and outside agencies must work together. Public safety is everyone's responsibility. By increasing our knowledge and accepting our ability to make a difference at CCSU, we can begin to reduce the risk. Consider the following ways to stop violence: Don't be afraid to get involved. Take care of yourself and your friends. Talk openly with friends about these issues. Speak up. Take a stand in situations that could escalate to abuse and violence.	file a report, contact -832-1652.
What is Intimate Partner.	Domestic and/or Dating Violence? Intimate partner, domestic and/or dating violence	includes acts of violence or threats of violence that occur between individuals who are family or household members, or persons in a current or former dating relationship. Intimate partner violence may include physical abuse, emotional abuse and threats of abuse.	<b>Examples:</b> assaults, rape, domestic or family violence involving physical force, stalking, texting that contains obscene material, electronic communications that contain serious threats of physical violence, and violation of a protective or restraining order issued by a court.	If it doesn't feel right or safe,	Stalking is defined as obsessive or unwanted contact of another person. This contact may cause reasonable apprehension of imminent physical harm or affect one's ability to perform daily life functions. It is when someone repeatedly contacts you, follows you, talks to you when you don't want them to, or threatens you. <b>Examples</b> : unwanted communication (email, texting, instant messaging, and other electronic forms), damaging personal property, showing up at places you go, and/or sending unwanted gifts.	ation on resources and/or to file a report, contact Renort@ccsu.edu or call 860-832-1652.
What is Sexual Assault?	Sexual assault is a crime and it will not be tolerated at Central Connecticut State University. It includes, but is not limited to, a	sexual act directed against another person without the consent (as defined in the CT State Colleges and Universities Board of Regent's Sexual Misconduct Policy) of that person or when the person is not capable of giving such consent. Any person can be a victim or a	perpetrator. Examples: rape, attempted rape, and/or touching a person's body for sexual gratification without their consent. What is Consent?	Consent is active; both parties say "yes." It is ongoing and can be withdrawn at any time without fear or explanation. Consent is a must for every form of sexual activity <u>every time</u> . You have the right to withdraw consent even if you have consented to sexual activity with the person in the nast Consent is.	<ul> <li>agreeing to specific sexual behavior willingly. Obtaining consent is the responsibility of the person initiating the sexual contact.</li> <li><u>not</u> valid if forced, intimidated or coerced.</li> <li><u>not</u> valid when judgment is impaired by the use of alcohol/drugs or if the person is sleeping or unconscious.</li> <li>State law is clear that having sexual intercourse with someone who cannot consent is <b>RAPE</b>.</li> </ul>	To obtain information



you are not alone

### How to Help

in case of sexual or interpersonal violence Central Connecticut State University



Women's Center

860 832 1655

860 832 3795

**Residence Life** 

860 832 1660

860 832 1945

LGBT Center

860 832 2091

Definitions

CCSU Police 860 832 2375

860 832 1667

860 832 1925

\*Off-campus and confidential services

Helpful Tips

**Student Rights** 

**Your Rights** 

### What is Sexual Assault?

Sexual assault is a crime and it will not be tolerated at Central Connecticut State University. It includes, but is not limited to, a sexual act directed against another person without the consent (as defined in the Board of Regent's Sexual Misconduct Policy) of the other person or when that person is not capable of giving such consent. Any person can be a victim or a perpetrator.

4

**Examples:** rape, attempted rape, and/or intentional touching a person's body for sexual gratification without their consent.

# What is Consent?

Consent is active; both parties say "yes." It is ongoing and can be withdrawn at any time without fear or explanation. Consent is a must for every form of sexual activity every time. You have the right to withdraw consent even if you have consented to sexual activity with the person in the past. Consent is ...

- » agreeing to specific sexual behavior willingly. Obtaining consent is the responsibility of the person initiating the sexual contact.
- » not valid if forced, intimidated or coerced.
- » not valid when judgment is impaired by the use of alcohol/drugs or if the person is sleeping or unconscious.

State law is very clear that having sexual intercourse with someone who cannot consent is RAPE.

### If someone tells you about a sexual assault... **Remember**

1 Listen and don't form opinions

9 1

- 2 Don't judge the severity of the situation based on their response to it
- 3 Empower them to make their own decisions
- 4 Trust their word and help them
- 5 Tell them you believe them
- 6 Let them know they are not alone

### What is Intimate Partner, Domestic and/or Dating Violence?

Intimate partner, domestic and/or dating violence includes acts of violence or threats of violence that occur between individuals who are family or household members, or persons in a current or former dating or cohabitating relationship. Intimate partner violence may include physical abuse, emotional abuse and threats of abuse. **Examples**: assaults, rape, domestic or family violence involving physical force, stalking, texting that contains obscene material, electronic communications that contain serious threats of physical violence, and violation of a protective or restraining order issued by a court.

I

# What is Stalking?

Stalking is defined as obsessive or unwanted contact of another person. This contact may cause reasonable apprehension of imminent physical harm or affect one's ability to perform daily life functions. It is when someone repeatedly contacts you, follows you, talks to you when you do not want them to, or threatens you.

Examples: unwanted communication (email, texting, instant messaging and other electronic forms), damaging personal property, showing up places you go, or sending unwanted gifts.

00

## If it doesn't feel right or safe, it probably isn't.





# To report an incident

### Office of Diversity & Equity (Title IX Officer) All complaints 860 832 1652

ព ព

## **Office of Student Conduct**

Complaints against students 860 832 1667

### **CCSU Police**

All criminal complaints 860 832 2375

# **Emergency Medical Attention**

911 for immediate assistance

CCSU **faculty, staff, or administrators** who are made aware of a sexual assault involving a member of the CCSU community is required to report it to the Title IX Officer at 860-832-0178 or via email at TitlelXreport@ccsu.edu.

## Office of Diversity & Equity (ODE)

If you believe you or someone you know has been sexually assaulted, you can contact the ODE, which will investigate complaints of discrimination and sexual harassment including sexual violence. Complaints against students are handled by the Office of Student Conduct. (See page 12) ODE is committed to fostering a positive learning, working and living environment. The Chief Diversity Officer serves as the **Title IX Officer**. The ODE also:

- » Conducts training on the prevention of sexual harassment
- Assists faculty, staff and students who believe they have been harassed or treated unfairly because they are a member of a protected class
- > Provides referrals to on-campus or off-campus services including, but not limited to, medical and counseling providers, and victim services

Rosa Rodriguez Chief Diversity Officer/Title IX Officer On-campus Davidson Hall, Rm. 102 MON-FRI, 8:00AM-5:00PM\* 860 832 1652 www.ccsu.edu/diversity

\*Other times available by appointment

» Investigates allegations involving students

of Disciplinary Procedures.

12 Ĵ

- » Resolves discipline cases
- » Provides referrals to CCSU and community programs

## **CCSU Police**

The CCSU Police Department will give its full assistance in response to a report of sexual assault. The police department will:

- » Obtain medical assistance
- » Conduct a criminal investigation
- » Establish a safety plan
- » Obtain a court order to protect the victim/ survivor
- » Connect the victim/survivor with support services

assist in contacting the police department of the town If the incident occurred off-campus, CCSU police can in which it took place.

> MON-FRI, 8:00AM-5:00PM Carroll Hall, Rm. 202 860 832 1667 On-campus

www.ccsu.edu/studentconduct

Dispatch Center, 24-hours: **Detective Division** 860 832 2375 On-campus

MON-FRI, 9:00AM-5:00PM 860 832 2383

www.ccsu.edu/police



### Options for Medical Attention

911 Emergency For immediate assistance Student Wellness Services, (SWS) Medical Services (Confidential) On-campus evaluation or advice 860 832 1925 Hospital of Central Connecticut

Off-campus evaluation or advice when SWS is closed and for the collection of medical evidence 860 224 5011 / 860 225 6244

# SWS, Medical Services\*

The SWS staff are trained in caring for victims of sexual assault. The office is staffed by a physician, two APRNs, and an RN. All are ready to listen and provide medical care and support. The collection of medical evidence is offered at New Britain's Hospital of Central Connecticut. SWS staff provide:

» Medical evaluation and treatment

16

- » Referral to medical specialists and counseling
- » Coordination with the CCSU Office of Victim Advocacy or YWCA Sexual Assault Crisis Services
- » Medical evidence collection facilitation
- » Emergency contraception
- » Screening for STD/infections
- » Medication to prevent any STD/infection

On-campus Marcus White Annex MoN-FRI, 8:00AM-5:00PM **860 832 1925** fax: 860 832 2579 www.ccsu.edu/health

\*Confidential

## Hospital of Central Connecticut (HCC)

Part of the Gail Burns-Smith Sexual Assault Forensic Examiner (SAFE) program, HCC has specially trained staff (SAFEs) who can collect the necessary evidence to aid criminal conviction. Procedures are carried out with compassionate care to help the survivor feel at ease.

These services are on-call 24/7 to improve the chances of gathering successful evidence, as it is best within 72 hours. SAFEs are specifically trained to safely guide survivors through the entire medical-legal process after a sexual assault incident.

- » Closest location for free state-funded rape analysis
- » 24/7 sexual assault examinations and counseling
- » Forensic evidence collection
- » Collaboration with law enforcement and justice personnel

Off-campus New Britain General Campus 100 Grand St. New Britain, CT 06050 24-hour SAFE program **860 224 5011 860 224 5671 (For emergencies)** 

Office of Victim Advocacy On-campus services and support

19 19 Women's Center

On-campus support and referral

LGBT Center On-campus resources for LGBT and gender non-conforming population

Residence Life
On-campus referral for resident students

SWS, Counseling Services\*

On-campus crisis intervention and counseling services

Sexual Assault Crisis Services\*

Prudence Crandall Center for Domestic Violence\*

\*Confidential

# Office of Victim Advocacy

The Office of Victim Advocacy provides services to assist and support individuals affiliated with CCSU who have been impacted by sexual assault, relationship violence, and/or stalking.

- » Professional advocacy services for students, faculty and staff
  19
- » Provides information on different options available to address safety and other concerns
- » Assists in the navigation of different reporting systems
- » Provides referrals to campus or community entities depending on individual needs
- » Collaborates with other offices at CCSU to develop meaningful violence prevention initiatives for the benefit of the entire campus community and to assess the impact

*On-campus* Carroll Hall, Rm. 248 MON, 9:00AM–12:30PM TUES, 9:00AM–5:00PM WED, 1:00–4:30PM FRI, 9:00AM–5:00PM **B60 832 3795** sarahdodd@ccsu.edu Additional times available upon request

The Ruthe Boyea

# Women's Center

The Women's Center Coordinator is available to listen, provide support, guidance, and referrals for victims, survivors, family members, friends, and partners of those who have been affected by violence. The coordinator will explain your options ranging from reporting a sexual assault to seeking on-campus housing changes.

20

- » Advocates for women of the campus community
- » Provides support services and hosts peer support groups
- » Provides referrals to on- and off-campus resources
- » Conducts training on the prevention of sexual assault

## LGBT Center

The LGBT Center offers community building, education, resources, individual support, and advocacy for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, and gender non-conforming population. The center provides an LGBT/Queer friendly place for victims of sexual assault, harassment, or interpersonal violence to find support, resources, and referrals.

- » Refers to on- and off-campus LGBT-friendly victim support services
- » Provides information and resources regarding sexual assault, harassment, or interpersonal violence within LGBT communities and relationships

During the hours referred to below, the Center is generally staffed by a professional. Please check online or call for coordinator's availability. Their hours may be subject to change each semester.

> On-campus Student Center, Rm. 215 MON-FRI, 9:00AM-5:00PM (SEPTEMBER - JUNE) 860 832 1677 fax: 860 832 1677 www.ccsu.edu/womenctr

On-campus Student Center, Rm. 304-305 MoN & FRI, 8:30AM-4:30PM WED, 9:00AM-Noon **860 832 2091** www.ccsu.edu/lgbtcenter

Residence Life staff are often the first line of admittance, when calling, be sure to indicate that it is a crisis connection during times of crisis because they are a good connection during times of crisis because they are a good connection during times of crisis because they are a good connection during the first admittance, when calling, be sure to indicate that it is a crisis situation, and he/she will be seen immediately. The initial intake assessment is made during the first appointment from which a counseling referral to other main office of each building to contact the resources will be given. Residence Life staff member on duty. If the initial intake assessment is made during the first appointment from which a counseling referral to other resources. If estaff member on duty. Conducts training on violence prevention connecting on violence prevention when a counseling for students. To constant the state assessments are assessment as a stuations are assessed to on duty. Conducts training on violence prevention the state assessments are assessment as a crisis situations. Residence building to contact the state assessment are assessments are assessments are assessments as a crisis situations are conseling to students. The initial intake assessments are assessments are assessed as a struations are assessed to a struations. Conducts training on violence prevention the state assessments are assessments as a struation as a struation as a struation are assessment as a struation are astruation are assessment as a
--

[]

\_\_\_\_\_

Off-campus Services*	r ed to helping individ nce by providing care n a confidential settir	<ul> <li>&gt; Information &amp; service referrals</li> <li>&gt; Emergency shelter</li> <li>&gt; Individual and group counseling for adults and children</li> <li>&gt; Advocacy during court proceedings</li> <li>&gt; Domestic violence education and in-service training</li> </ul>	Off-campusOff-campusPrudence CrandallP.O. Box 895New Britain, CT 06050S60 225 6357 (Hotline)S88 774 2900 (Toll Free)prudencecrandall.org
Off-campus Services*	Sexual Assault Crisis Services (SACS) SACS offers assistance to survivors which help them regain feelings of independence, optimism and hope. Hotlines are staffed with trained, certified counselors who maintain confidentiality. SACS also offers accompaniment through	<ul> <li>medical, police, and court procedures.</li> <li>Short-term individual crisis counseling</li> <li>Support groups</li> <li>Information, referrals and campus advocacy</li> <li>Education programs</li> <li>Confidential services</li> </ul>	Off-campus vwca (sAcs) 22 Glen St. New Britain, CT 24-hour Hotlines (24/7) <i>English</i> - <b>860 223 1787</b> <i>English</i> - <b>860 223 1787</b> <i>English</i> - <b>860 223 1787</b> <i>english</i> - <b>868 568 8332</b>

24 1



# Helpful Tips

If you are the victim of sexual or internetsonal violence:

interpersonal violence:

- » Go to a safe place
- » Preserve evidence
- » Call someone you trust such as the Office of Victim Advocacy (860-832-3795), a staff or faculty member, your hall director, resident assistant (RA), or a campus advocate at the local Sexual Assault Crisis Service
- » Call CCSU Police at 860-832-2375 or dial 911
- » Seek medical care and/or counseling

### How Can I Help Stop Sexual Assault/Violence?

Sexual assault and interpersonal violence are complex and very real issues on college campuses today. In order to address this reality, all members of the campus community and relevant outside agencies must work together. Public safety is everyone's responsibility. Consider the following ways you can work to stop sexual violence and interpersonal violence.

- » Speak up. Take a stand in situations that could escalate.
- Talk openly with your friends about these issues.
   Encourage student leaders, coaches, professors,
  - and others to provide information about sexual assault to students.
- » Use the resources listed in this brochure to inform yourself and help plan activities and programs for campus clubs and organizations.
- » Don't be afraid to get involved.
- » Take care of yourself and your friends.

## **Student Rights**

CCSU has protocols and procedures in place to respond to reports of sexual violence. When a report involves students (as the accuser or the accused), all involved have equal rights throughout the disciplinary process, including the right to:

>> select an advisor or support person of their choosing and to bring that person to any meetings or proceedings that they choose.

50

- >> present a statement, evidence and witnesses on their behalf.
- >> review information, in a timely manner, that will be used at the hearing by other parties.
- » have a pre-hearing meeting.
- be informed, in writing, of the outcome of the disciplinary proceedings and any sanctions imposed.
- » appeal the outcome of the disciplinary proceedings.

These rights were established by University policies and, state and federal legislation that prohibit sex discrimination. For information on Title IX see <u>www.knowyourix.org.</u>

Info on the rights of accused students contact. Chris Gutiérrez Veterans Affairs Coordinator and Student Conduct Support Advisor gutierrezc@ccsu.edu 860 832 2838 Carroll Hall, Rm. 0350000

into on the rights of students who file a report Sarah Dodd Victim Advocacy & Violence Prevention Specialist sarahdodd@ccsu.edu 860 832 3795 Carroll Hall, Rm. 248



## **Your Rights**

- >> Be treated with respect and dignity.
- Not be judged based on your race, color, age, class, religion, disability status, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, or the offender's relationship to you.
- > You can refuse to answer any questions about the sexual assault, your sexual orientation, and your sexual, medical (including HIV status), and mental health histories.
- » Have confidential conversations with a CCSU licensed counselor in Student Wellness Services.
  - » Decide if you want to make a police report.
- > Have an advocate accompany you to medical, law enforcement and legal proceedings.
- >> Request that someone you are comfortable with stay with you in the examination room.
- Ask questions and get answers regarding any tests, examinations, medications, treatments or police reports.



### Central Connecticut State University is an equal opportunity educator and employer.

This document is available in alternate format by contacting Student Disability Services at 860 832 1957.

> This information is provided by CCSU's Sexual Assault and Interpersonal Violence Resource Team.

> > May 2016



### **Central Connecticut State University**

Nondiscrimination & Anti-Harassment Policies, Complaint Procedures and On-campus and Community Resources

### **Office of Diversity and Equity**

1615 Stanley Street Davidson Hall, 102 New Britain, CT 06050

### **Important Phone Numbers**

#### **Reporting an Incident**

University Police (Criminal Complaints) 860-832-2375 Office of Diversity & Equity (Title IX Officer) All complaints 860-832-1652 Office of Student Conduct (OSC) Complaints against students 860-832-1667

#### **Medical Attention**

Student Wellness Services, Health (Confidential) 860-832-1925 Hospital of Central Connecticut\*(HCC) 860-224-5011 Emergencies 911

#### Someone to talk to

Office of Victim Advocacy 860-832-3795 Women's Center 860-832-1655 Student Wellness Services, Counseling (Confidential) 860-832-1945 Sexual Assault & Crisis Services\*(Confidential) 860-225-4681; English Hotline 1-860-223-1787 Prudence Crandall Center for Domestic Violence\* (Confidential) 888-774-2900 (24-hour hotline) \*Off-Campus

### **President's Message**



Central Connecticut State University

Dear University Community Members:

As the newly appointed President at Central Connecticut State University (CCSU), I want you to know that I am committed to creating a safe and supportive community. A key component in our efforts is to provide policies that clearly spell out our response to reported incidents affecting our students, faculty, staff, and visitors.

These policies provide information for those whose rights have been violated and present



guidance for the campus community on the expectations we have for communication, responsibility, and respect. The established procedures ensure that any CCSU community member who is subjected to discrimination or harassment is treated with care and provided accurate and complete information. I encourage all to read the policies and procedures so that we can all support those who may need our help.

Acts of harassment and discrimination threaten personal safety and violate the standards of conduct expected of community members. To help ensure that the University remains welcoming and safe for all, we will continue to offer education and awareness programs for the campus community, and we will pursue all criminal and administrative remedies for complaints of discrimination, harassment, and violence.

At CCSU, we must continue to work to be a place of support and compassion.

Sincerely,

Zulma R. Toro President

1 | Page

### Contents

President's Message	1
Office of Diversity and Equity (ODE)	5
Mission Statement	5
ADA Accommodations	6
Ruthe Boyea Women's Center	6
Office of Victim Advocacy	7
ODE Staff Responsibilities	8
Other University Cultural Programs and Services	10
Center for Africana Studies	10
East Asian Center	10
Latin American, Latino and Caribbean Center	11
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Center (LGBT)	12
MOSAIC Center	13
Student Clubs and Organizations	14
Africana Students Organization (ASO)	14
The Chinese Students Association	14
Hillel Jewish Student Organization	14
Latin American Student Organization (LASO)	14
Muslim Student Association	14
NAACP	15
PRIDE	15
South Asian Students Association (SASA)	15
United Caribbean Club	15
Nondiscrimination in Education and Employment Policy	16

3 | Page

Definitions
Responsibility17
BOR/CSCU Sexual Misconduct, Sexual Assault and Intimate Partner Violence Policy
Statement of Policy19
Terms and Usage19
Confidentiality25
Mandated Reporting by College and University Employees 25
Rights of Those Who Report27
Options for Changing Academic, Housing, Transportation and Working Arrangements27
Support Services Contact Information
Right to Notify Law Enforcement & Seek Protective and Other Orders
Employee Conduct Procedures29
Student Conduct Procedures29
To report an incident at Central Connecticut State University 32
If you want to speak with someone at CCSU
If you want to speak with a community partner
Procedures and Timetables for Processing of Complaints
Policy Regarding Reporting Suspected Abuse or Neglect of a Child . 40
Consensual Relationship Policy42
Discrimination Complaint Agencies45
Other Important Information and Resources
Notes

4 | P a g e
### **Office of Diversity and Equity (ODE)**

### **Mission Statement**

- Provide leadership for the University in its commitment to a campus environment that fosters respect for the dignity, rights and aspirations of each member of the University community.
- Coordinate the University's efforts to promote, develop and support a culturally diverse community.
- Guide the University community in the implementation of Affirmative Action and diversity strategies.

The ODE is located in Davidson Hall, RM 102. The office reports directly to the President and is responsible for promoting diversity and fairness. Responsibilities include the administration of:

- 1. Policies and Procedures
  - Nondiscrimination in Education and Employment Policy
  - Sexual Misconduct Policy
  - Procedures for filing related complaints
- 2. Federal and State Laws
  - Affirmative action and equal employment opportunity laws
  - Section 504 of the I973 Rehabilitation Act and Americans with Disabilities Act
  - Civil Rights laws including, Title IX, Title VII

Other responsibilities include the administration/implementation of the University's:

- 3. Investigation of internally filed complaints
- 4. Monitoring of the employment process (including recruitment, hiring, promotion and training)
- 5. Development and implementation of the annual Affirmative Action Plan
- 6. Provision of the ADA reasonable accommodations for employees
- 7. Conduct training on Title IX including the prevention of sexual harassment for staff and students and Diversity. Coordinate CCSU's violence awareness campaigns

**State law requires** that all employees participate in diversity training and that all those employees with supervisory responsibility participate in the sexual harassment prevention training. Based on state law, the university requires that all employees complete Title IX training on an annual basis. Contact the ODE for the training opportunities.

### **ADA Accommodations**

<u>Employees:</u> The Office of Diversity and Equity handles employees' requests for reasonable accommodations.

**Contact Information:** Rosa Rodríguez, Chief Diversity Officer/Title IX Coordinator at 860-832-1652 or at rosa.rodriguez@ccsu.edu

<u>Students:</u> Requests for reasonable accommodations from students are handled by the Office of Student Disability Services. The office is located in Carroll Hall.

**Contact Information:** Office of Student Disability Services at 860-832-1952

### **Ruthe Boyea Women's Center**

The Ruthe Boyea Women's Center provides resources, to advocate, inform, and support personal development. The Center offers a variety of services for and about women. It also sponsors educational and cultural programs designed to promote gender equity, knowledge of women's rights issues, leadership and independence, and encourages understanding and cooperation among women of varied socio-economic groups, cultures, ethnic backgrounds, races and sexual orientations. The Women's Center welcomes all women and men.

The Center is located in the Student Center, RM 215.

**Contact Information**: Jacqueline Cobbina-Boivin, Women Center Coordinator at 860-832-1655 or <u>cobbina-boivinj@ccsu.edu</u>.

### **Office of Victim Advocacy**

The Office of Victim Advocacy provides services to assist and support individuals affiliated with CCSU who have been impacted by sexual assault, relationship violence, and/or stalking.

The office is located in Carroll Hall, RM 248 and is staffed by a professional staff member.

**Office Hours:** 

Mon. 9 AM - 12:30 PM, Tues. 9 AM - 5 PM, Wed. 1 - 4:30 PM, Fri. 9 AM - 5 PM

**Contact Information:** Sarah Dodd, Victim Advocacy and Violence Prevention Specialist at 860-832-3795 or <u>sarahdodd@ccsu.edu</u>



The Campus Sexual Assault Study. National Institute of Justice, 2007.

# We're working together to change this statistic.

### ODE Staff Responsibilities

ODE Staff	Responsibilities
Rosa Rodríguez Office of Diversity and Equity Chief Diversity Officer (CDO) & Title IX Officer Davidson Hall, RM 102 860-832-0178 rosa.rodriguez@ccsu.edu	<ul> <li>Leads/manages CCSU's programs that promote equity, diversity and equal opportunity including oversight of the affirmative action and non-discrimination policies and procedures and Title IX</li> <li>Develops and coordinate training programs as they related to nondiscrimination, diversity, equity including Title IX</li> <li>Oversees the hiring process</li> <li>Investigates complaints</li> <li>Serves as the ADA coordinator</li> <li>Develops and coordinates cultural and educational programming activities</li> <li>Provides advocacy and referral services</li> </ul>
Nicholas D'Agostino ODE Associate to CDO Davidson Hall, RM 102 860-832-1653 nicholas.dagostino@ccsu.edu	<ul> <li>Investigates complaints</li> <li>Assists with the development and implementation of the AA plan</li> <li>Serves as the lead person in the data collections as it relates to the affirmative action</li> <li>Conducts training on issues related to diversity and Title IX</li> <li>Oversees the classified search process</li> <li>Provides advocacy and referrals</li> <li>Leads awareness campaigns</li> <li>Provides advocacy and referral services</li> </ul>

ODE Staff	Responsibilities
Sarah Dodd, Victim Advocacy and Violence Prevention Specialist Office of Victim Advocacy Carroll Hall, RM 248 Mon. 9 AM-12:30 PM Tues. 9 AM – 5:00 PM Wed. 1 - 4:30 PM Fri. 9 AM – 5:00 PM Other times available upon request 860-832-3795 sarahdodd@ccsu.edu	<ul> <li>Provides professional advocacy services for students, faculty and staff who have been impacted by sexual assault, relationship violence, and/or stalking</li> <li>Provides information on different options available to address safety and other concerns and assist in the navigation of different reporting systems</li> <li>Provides referrals to campus or community entities depending on individual needs</li> <li>Collaborates with other offices at CCSU to develop meaningful violence prevention initiatives for the benefit of the entire campus community and to assess the impact</li> </ul>
Jacqueline Cobbina-Boivin Women Center Coordinator Student Center, RM 215 (Mid-August to Mid-June) 860-832-1655 <u>cobbina-boivinj@ccsu.edu</u>	<ul> <li>Offers services for and about women</li> <li>Provides resources, to advocate, inform, and support personal development</li> <li>Sponsors educational and cultural programs designed to promote gender equity, leadership, and independence</li> <li>Provides advocacy and referral services</li> </ul>

### Did you know?

Harassment based on gender stereotypes is a form of sex discrimination and is unlawful.

## Other University Cultural Programs and Services

### **Center for Africana Studies**

The Center emphasizes the study and the cultures of African peoples both in the Continent of Africa and throughout the world. Further, the Center offers various programs including lectures, conferences, student activities etc. that create a better understanding of African peoples in the wider social, economic, and political systems.

The Center is located in the Marcus White Hall, RM 008.

**Contact Information:** Dr. Evelyn Phillips, Ph.D., Co-Director at <u>PhillipsE@ccsu.edu</u> or 860-832-2617, or Sherinatu Fafunwa-Ndibe, Co-Director at <u>fafunwas@ccsu.edu</u> or 860-832-2646

### **East Asian Center**

The East Asian Center is devoted to serving the interests and needs of Asian and Asian American students and helping to create a supportive environment for living and studying. In this regard, EAC provides a range of support services, advising and mentoring services, as well as cultural, social and co-curricular programs. http://www.ccsu.edu/eastasiancenter

The Center is located in Barnard Hall, RM 209.

**Contact Information**: Dr. Helen Abadiano, Director at 860-832-2180 or EAC@ccsu.edu. She is available to address academic or personal concerns.

### Did you know?

In the U.S. in 2010, Chinese-Americans, except Taiwanese (3.8 M) were the largest Asian group, followed by Filipinos (3.4 M), Asian Indians (3.2 M), Vietnamese (1.7 M), Koreans (1.7 M) and Japanese (1.3 M).

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, 2010 Census

### Latin American, Latino and Caribbean Center

The Center for Caribbean and Latin American Studies promotes the understanding and appreciation of the historical, social and cultural lives of Latin American and Caribbean societies, and of Latino in the U.S. through education, community events, study abroad, international exchange, community outreach and research. Because of the importance of the Latino community as one of the largest minority groups in the U.S., the Center as part of the University's mission of fostering diversity and global awareness plays an important role in providing educational opportunities to Latino students and promoting Latino cultures. The Center organizes educational and cultural activities that aim to increase the recruitment and retention of Latino students.

The Center is located in Carroll Hall.

**Contact Information**: Dr. José Carlos del Ama, PH.D., Director at 860-832-3211 or <u>delamaj@ccsu.edu</u>.

### Did you know?

National origin discrimination includes discrimination because a person (or his or her ancestors) comes from a particular place. The place is usually a country or a former country, for example, Colombia or Serbia. In some cases, the place has never been a country, but is closely associated with a group of people who share a common language, culture, ancestry, and/or other similar social characteristics, for example, Kurdistan.

Source: http://www.eeoc.gov/policy/docs/national-origin.html#II

### Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Center (LGBT)

The LGBT Center provides a safe space that focuses on resources for the campus Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer and Ally community. The Safe Zone Concept has been adopted by CCSU. The Center offers Safe Zone training. This program promotes awareness and non-judgmental treatment of sexual minorities. Safe Zone provides safe spaces that are highly visible and easily identifiable to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender persons, where support and understanding are key and where discrimination is not tolerated.

The Center is located in the Student Center, RM 305.

**Contact Information:** Crystal Nieves at 860-832-2091 or <u>cnieves@ccsu.edu</u>.

The LGBT Center Advisory Board provides input, advice and vision regarding strategic plans for the Center and campus life for LGBTQ students, staff and faculty. For additional information contact Nicholas D'Agostino, Associate in the Office of Diversity and Equity at 860-832-1653 or Nicholas.dagostino@ccsu.edu

### Did you know?

Some Central Connecticut State University students are known by a first name that is different from their legal first name. In an effort to accommodate these students the University has created a preferred first name option for student information as it appears in select locations. For information go to the CCSU website for policy and procedure:

http://web.ccsu.edu/registrar/policies/preferredFirstNa meProcedure.asp

### **MOSAIC Center**

The MOSAIC Center is located on the second floor in the Student Center. The purpose of the center is to create a welcoming area for multicultural affairs. The center is a support system for all the cultural and religious groups. MOSAIC provides many resources for student organizations to take advantage of to help program events, discussions, and forums for the year. The MOSAIC Center also participates in co-sponsorship with other clubs and organizations to help foster unity among the campus community.

The Center is located on the second floor in the Student Center.

Contact Information: 860-832-1892

### Did you know?

**Three Largest Connecticut Race/Ethnic Groups** 

- The Connecticut White population is 2,546,262 persons or 71.2%.
- The Connecticut Hispanic population is 479,087 persons or 13.4%.
- The Connecticut Black population is 335,119 persons or 9.4%.

Source: http://www.connecticut-demographics.com/

### **Student Clubs and Organizations**

### Africana Students Organization (ASO)

The purpose of the Africana Students Organization (ASO) shall be to promote a sense of awareness of African culture on the CCSU campus through events, empowerment discussions, and support systems; to further educate the people of CCSU on the different cultures that constitute the continent of Africa and the issues that concern us; and, to encourage positive conceptions of African cultural background and the African Diaspora.

### **The Chinese Students Association**

The Chinese Student Association is an undergraduate student-run campus club. Our goal is to expand the communication between Chinese students and local friends and to experience some of the rich aspects Chinese culture as well as to introduce and integrate cultures of other origins.

### **Hillel Jewish Student Organization**

Hillel Jewish Student Organization is dedicated to the development of a continued process of learning, awareness raising and strength building, as well as embracing being Jewish today. Hillel Jewish Student Organization meets regularly on campus. Students develop activities through their planning board.

### Latin American Student Organization (LASO)

LASO is a volunteer student organization comprised of various members representing different communities and backgrounds.

### **Muslim Student Association**

MSA's mission is to create friendly relations between the Muslim and non-Muslim students on campus and to present Islam to the people of other faiths and cultures. Club membership is certainly not limited to the Muslims on campus. EVERYONE is encouraged to join!

### NAACP

To inform youth of the problems affecting African Americans and other racial and ethnic minorities; to advance the economic, education, social and political status of African Americans and other racial and ethnic minorities and their harmonious cooperation with other peoples; to stimulate an appreciation of the African Diaspora and other people of color's contribution to civilization; and to develop an intelligent, militant effective youth leadership while promoting racial tolerance and unity.

### PRIDE

PRIDE supports LGBT students on campus and provides educational and awareness programs for the entire campus community. PRIDE meets on a weekly basis in the Student Center. All are welcome!

### South Asian Students Association (SASA)

The purpose of the South Asian Students Association (SASA) is to promote international friendship by improving intercultural relations and creating a stronger bond of unity between Eastern and Western cultures; to further the acknowledgment of South Asian countries (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh) their culture, traditions, customs, norms, languages and religious belief; and, to encourage South Asian students to spread their culture by arranging activities such as field trips, cultural shows, intercollegiate events, and other cultural events.

### **United Caribbean Club**

Come join the festivities of the United Caribbean Club where we promote the unity of the political, cultural, and educational ideals of the Caribbean student. Calling all West Indians!

For additional information on student organizations go to <u>https://ccsu.collegiatelink.net/Organizations</u>.

### Nondiscrimination in Education and Employment Policy

Central Connecticut State University (CCSU) is committed to a policy of nondiscrimination in education and employment. No person shall be discriminated against in terms and conditions of employment, personnel practices, or access to or participation in programs, services, and activities with regard to: age; ancestry, color; gender identity and expression; intellectual disability; learning disability; mental disability; physical disability; marital status, national origin; race; religious creed; sex, including pregnancy, transgender status, sexual harassment and sexual assault; sexual orientation; or any other status protected by federal or state laws. Discrimination in employment-based on genetic information is prohibited. In addition, CCSU will not refuse to hire solely because of a prior criminal conviction, unless that refusal is permitted by Connecticut law.

Harassment on the basis of any of the above protected classes is prohibited. Harassment may occur in a variety of relationships, including faculty and student, supervisor and employee, student and student, staff and student, employee and employee, and other relationships with persons having business at, or visiting the educational or working environment.

This policy is directed at verbal or physical conduct that constitutes discrimination/harassment under state and federal law and is not directed at the content of speech. In cases in which verbal statements and other forms of expression are involved, CCSU will give due consideration to an individual's constitutionally protected right to free speech and academic freedom.

Retaliation is illegal. No individual who opposes an allegedly discriminatory act or practice shall suffer retaliation as a result of such participation. Complaints of retaliation may be filed within a reasonable time of the alleged retaliatory act with the Chief Diversity Officer or any manager not directly involved in the alleged retaliation, who will then notify the Office of Diversity and Equity (ODE).

This policy shall apply to all individuals affiliated with CCSU including, but not limited to, students, employees, applicants, agents and guests and is intended to protect the rights of concerned individuals.

### Definitions

### Discrimination

Discrimination is defined as conduct that is directed at an individual because of his or her protected class and subjects the individual to different treatment so as to interfere with or limit the ability of the individual to participate in, or benefit from, the services, activities, or privileges provided by the university or otherwise adversely affects the individual's employment or education.

#### **Discriminatory Harassment**

Discriminatory harassment is defined as verbal or physical conduct that is directed at an individual because of his or her protected class, and is sufficiently severe, persistent, or pervasive so as to have the purpose or effect of unreasonably interfering with an individual's work or academic performance or creating an intimidating, hostile or offensive work or educational environment.

### Retaliation

Retaliation is subjecting a person to a materially adverse action because he or she made a complaint under this policy or assisted or participated in any manner in an investigation under this policy.

### Responsibility

The responsibility for implementation of this policy is assigned to the Chief Diversity Officer, who may delegate duties as appropriate. The ODE will promptly address each complaint and make reasonable efforts to expeditiously affect a resolution. The investigation of such complaints will be managed with appropriate sensitivity.

Revised October 25, 2011; June 13, 2014-changed mental disorder to mental disability

### **BOR/CSCU Sexual Misconduct, Sexual Assault and Intimate Partner Violence Policy**

### **Central Connecticut State University Statement**

Central Connecticut State University (CCSU) will not tolerate sexual misconduct against students, staff, faculty, or visitors, whether it comes in the form of intimate partner violence, sexual assault, sexual exploitation or sexual harassment, as defined in the BOR policy. In an ongoing effort to prevent sexual misconduct and intimate partner violence on the CCSU campus, the University provides education and prevention programs for the CCSU community and pursues all criminal and administrative remedies for complaints of sexual misconduct.

CCSU is a community dependent upon trust and respect for its constituent members: students, faculty, staff and those visiting or under temporary contract. As noted in CCSU's Violence Free Campus Policy, members of the University community have the right to a safe and welcoming campus environment. Acts of sexual misconduct and intimate partner violence threaten personal safety and violate the standards of conduct expected of community members.

### Individuals and Entities Affected by this Policy

This policy applies to anyone on the property of Central Connecticut State University, as well as anyone present at CCSU-sponsored programs or events. This policy extends to off-campus violations of both students and employees in limited circumstances as noted below:

Students: "Off-campus misconduct may be subject to the jurisdiction of the University and addressed through its disciplinary procedures if one of the following conditions is met:

 (i) a student engages in prohibited conduct at an official University event, at a University-sanctioned event, or at an event sponsored by a recognized student organization; or (ii) a student engages in prohibited conduct under such circumstances that

reasonable grounds exist for believing that the accused student poses a threat to the life, health or safety of any member of the University community or to the property of the University."<sup>1</sup>

 Employees: The decision of whether to investigate and discipline employees for off-campus misconduct will be made by the appropriate university administrator on a case-by-case basis in accordance with collective bargaining agreements, CSU/university policies, and state regulations.

### Did you know?

Sexually explicit calendars, cartoons, and jokes of a sexual nature are all examples of items that my create a hostile work or learning environment.

### **Statement of Policy**

The Board of Regents for Higher Education (BOR) in conjunction with the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities (CSCU) is committed to insuring that each member of every BOR governed college and university community has the opportunity to participate fully in the process of education and development. The BOR and CSCU strive to maintain a safe and welcoming environment free from acts of sexual misconduct and intimate partner violence. It is the intent of the BOR and each of its colleges or universities to provide safety, privacy and support to victims of sexual misconduct and intimate partner violence.

The BOR strongly encourages victims to report any instance of sexual misconduct, including sexual harassment, sexual assault, sexual exploitation, stalking and intimate partner violence, as an effective means of taking action by reporting such acts to the appropriate

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> CCSU Student Code of Conduct, Part B

officials and pursuing criminal or disciplinary remedies, or both. The only way that action can be taken against anyone who violates another in such a manner is through reporting. Each and e very BOR governed college and university shall provide those who report sexual misconduct with many supportive options, including referral to agencies that provide medical attention, counseling, legal services, advocacy, referrals and general information regarding sexual misconduct. Each and every BOR governed college and university will preserve the confidentiality of those who report sexual misconduct to the fullest extent possible and allowed by law. All BOR and CSCU employees, victim support persons and community victim advocates being consulted will make any limits of confidentiality clear before any disclosure of facts takes place. Other than confidential resources as defined above, in addition to employees who qualify as Campus Security Authorities under the Jeanne Clery Act, all BOR and CSCU employees are required to immediately communicate to the institution's designated recipient any disclosure or report of sexual misconduct received from a student as well as communicate any disclosure or report of sexual misconduct the employee received from another employee when misconduct is related to the business of the institution.

Affirmative consent must be given by all parties before engaging in sexual activity. Affirmative consent means an active, clear and voluntary agreement by a person to engage in sexual activity with another person. Sexual misconduct, as defined herein, is a violation of BOR policies and, in addition, may subject an accused student or employee to criminal penalties. The BOR and each of its governed colleges and universities are committed to providing an environment free of personal offenses. Sexual relationships of any kind between staff, faculty and students are discouraged pursuant to BOR policy.

The Board of Regents for Higher Education hereby directs the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities to implement the Policy stated above pursuant to the following provisions:

### **Terms, Usage and Standards**

**Consent** must be affirmed and given freely, willingly, and knowingly of each participant to desired sexual involvement. Consent is a mutually affirmative, conscious decision – indicated clearly by words or actions – to engage in mutually accepted sexual contact. Consent may be revoked at any time during the sexual activity by any person engaged in the activity.

Affirmative consent may never be assumed because there is no physical resistance or other negative response. A person who initially consents to sexual activity shall be deemed not to have affirmatively consented to any such activity which occurs after that consent is withdrawn. It is the responsibility of each person to assure that he or she has the affirmative consent of all persons engaged in the sexual activity to engage in the sexual activity and that affirmative consent is sustained throughout the sexual activity. It shall not be a valid excuse to an alleged lack of affirmative consent that the student or employee responding to the alleged violation believed that the student reporting or disclosing the alleged violation consented to the activity (i) because the responding student or employee was intoxicated or reckless or failed to take reasonable steps to ascertain whether the student or employee reporting or disclosing the alleged violation affirmatively consented, or (ii) if the responding student or employee knew or should have known that the student or employee reporting or disclosing the alleged violation was unable to consent because the student or employee was unconscious, asleep, unable to communicate due to a mental or physical condition, or incapacitated due to the influence of drugs, alcohol or medication. The existence of a past or current dating or sexual relationship between the persons involved in the alleged violation shall not be determinative of a finding of affirmative consent.

**Report** of sexual misconduct is the receipt of a communication of an incident of sexual misconduct accompanied by a request for an investigation or adjudication by the institution.

**Disclosure** is the receipt of any communication of an incident of sexual misconduct that is not accompanied by a request for an investigation or adjudication by the institution.

*Sexual misconduct* includes engaging in any of the following behaviors:

(a) **Sexual harassment**, which can include any unwelcome sexual advance or request for sexual favors, or any conduct of a sexual nature when submission to such conduct is made either explicitly or implicitly a term or condition of an individual's education or employment; submission to or rejection of such conduct by an individual is used as a basis for academic or employment decisions affecting the individual; or such conduct has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an individual's academic or work performance or creating an intimidating, hostile or offensive educational or employment environment. Examples of conduct which may constitute sexual harassment include but are not limited to:

- Sexual flirtation, touching, advances or propositions
- Verbal abuse of a sexual nature
- Pressure to engage in sexual activity
- Graphic or suggestive comments about an individual's dress or appearance
- Use of sexually degrading words to describe an individual
- Display of sexually suggestive objects, pictures or photographs
- Sexual jokes
- Stereotypic comments based upon gender
- Threats, demands or suggestions that retention of one's educational status is contingent upon toleration of or acquiescence in sexual advances.

Retaliation is prohibited and occurs when a person is subjected to an adverse employment or educational action because he or she made

a complaint under this policy or assisted or participated in any manner in an investigation.

(b) *Sexual assault* shall include but is not limited to a sexual act directed against another person Without the consent (as defined herein) of the other person or when that person is not capable of giving such consent.

Sexual assault is further defined in sections 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-70b, 53a-71, 53a-72a, 53a-72b and 53a-73a of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(c) **Sexual exploitation** occurs when a person takes non-consensual or abusive sexual advantage of another for anyone's advantage or benefit other than the person being exploited, and that behavior does not otherwise constitute one of the preceding sexual misconduct offenses. Examples of behavior that could rise to the level of sexual exploitation include:

- Prostituting another person;
- Non-consensual visual (e.g., video, photograph) or audiorecording of sexual activity;
- Non-consensual distribution of photos, other images, or information of an individual's sexual activity, intimate body parts, or nakedness, with the intent to or having the effect of embarrassing an individual who is the subject of such images or information;
- Going beyond the bounds of consent (for example, an individual who allows friends to hide in the closet to watch him or her having consensual sex);
- Engaging in non-consensual voyeurism;
- Knowingly transmitting an STI, such as HIV to another without disclosing your STI status;
- Exposing one's genitals in non-consensual circumstances, or inducing another to expose his or her genitals; or

 Possessing, distributing, viewing or forcing others to view illegal pornography.

Sexual exploitation is further defined as a crime in Connecticut State Law.

(d) Intimate partner, domestic and/or dating violence means any physical or sexual harm against an individual by a current or former spouse of or person in a dating or cohabitating relationship with such individual that results from any action by such spouse or such person that may be classified as a sexual assault under section 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-70b, 53a-71, 53a-72a, 53a-72b or 53a-73a of the general statutes, stalking under section 53a-181c, 53a-181d or 53a-181e of the general statutes, or domestic or family violence as designated under section 46b-38h of the general statutes. This includes any physical or sexual harm against an individual by a current or former spouse or by a partner in a dating relationship that results from (1) sexual assault (2) sexual assault in a spousal or cohabiting relationship; (3) domestic violence; (4) sexual harassment (5) sexual exploitation, as such terms are defined in this policy.

Offenses that are designated as "domestic violence" are against family or household members or persons in dating or cohabitating relationships and include assaults, sexual assaults, stalking, and violations of protective or restraining orders issued by a Court. Intimate partner violence may also include physical abuse, threat of abuse, and emotional abuse.

- Physical abuse includes, but is not limited to, slapping, pulling hair or punching.
- Threat of abuse includes but is not limited to, threatening to hit, harm or use a weapon on another (whether victim or acquaintance, friend or family member of the victim) or other forms of verbal threat.
- Emotional abuse includes but is not limited to, damage to one's property, driving recklessly to scare someone, name calling,

threatening to hurt one's family members or pets and humiliating another person.

- Cohabitation occurs when two individuals dwell together in the same place as if married.
- The determination of whether a "dating relationship" existed is to be based upon the following factors: the reporting victim's statement as to whether such a relationship existed, the length of the relationship, the type of the relationship and the frequency of the interaction between the persons reported to be involved in the relationship.

(e) *Stalking*, which is defined as repeatedly contacting another person when contacting person knows or should know that the contact is unwanted by the other person; and the contact causes the other person reasonable apprehension of imminent physical harm or the contacting person knows or should know that the contact causes substantial impairment of the other person's ability to perform the activities of daily life.

As used in this definition, the term "contacting" includes, but is not limited to, communicating with (including internet communication via e-mail, instant message, on- line community or any other internet communication) or remaining in the physical presence of the other person.

### Confidentiality

When a BOR governed college or university receives a report of sexual misconduct all reasonable steps will be taken by the appropriate CSCU officials to preserve the privacy of the reported victim while promptly investigating and responding to the report. While the institution will strive to maintain the confidentiality of personally identifiable student information reported, which information is subject to privacy requirements of the Family Education Rights Privacy Act (FERPA), the institution also must fulfill its duty to protect the campus community. Confidential resources are defined as follows: For the Universities, entities with statutory privilege, which include campus based counseling center, health center and pastoral counseling staff members whose official responsibilities include providing mental health counseling to members of the University community as well as off campus counseling and psychological services, health services providers, member(s) of the clergy, and the local Sexual Assault Crisis Center and Domestic Violence Center. For the Colleges, confidential resources are limited to entities with statutory privilege, such as off campus counseling and psychological services, health services providers, member(s) of the clergy, and the local Sexual Assault Crisis Center and Domestic Violence Center. The personnel of these centers and agencies are bound by state statutes and professional ethics from disclosing information about reports without written releases.

Information provided to a confidential resource by a victim of a sexual misconduct or the person reported to have been the victim of sexual misconduct cannot be disclosed legally to any other person without consent, except under very limited circumstances, such as an imminent threat of danger to self or others or if the reported victim is a minor. Therefore, for those who wish to obtain the fullest legal protections and disclose in full confidentiality, she/he must speak with a confidential resource. Each BOR governed college and university will provide a list of such confidential resources in the College or University's geographic region to victims of sexual misconduct as well as publish these resources on-line and in various publications.

Where it is deemed necessary for the institution to take steps to protect the safety of the reported victim and/or other members of the campus community, the institution will seek to act in a manner so as not to compromise the privacy or confidentiality of the reported victim of sexual misconduct to the extent reasonably possible.

### Mandated Reporting by College and University Employees

Other than confidential resources as defined above, in addition to employees who qualify as Campus Security Authorities under the Jeanne Clery Act, all employees are required to immediately communicate to the institution's designated recipient (e.g., Title IX Coordinator) any disclosure or report of sexual misconduct received from a student regardless of the age of the reported victim. All employees are also required to communicate to the institution's designated recipient (e.g., Title IX Coordinator) any disclosure or report of sexual misconduct received from an employee that impacts employment with the institution or is otherwise related to the business of the institution.

Upon receiving a disclosure or a report of sexual misconduct, employees are expected to supportively, compassionately and professionally offer academic and other accommodations and to provide a referral for support and other services.

Further, in accordance with Connecticut State law, with the exception of student employees, any paid administrator, faculty, staff, athletic director, athletic coach or athletic trainer who, in the ordinary course of their employment, has a reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a person under the age of 18 years has been abused or neglected, has been placed in imminent harm or has had a non-accidental injury is required by law and Board policy to report the incident within twelve hours to their immediate supervisor and to the Department of Children and Families.

#### **Rights of Those Who Report**

Those who report any type of sexual misconduct to any BOR governed college or university employee will be informed in a timely manner of all their rights and options, including the necessary steps and potential outcomes of each option. When choosing a reporting resource the following information should be considered:

 All reports of sexual misconduct will be treated seriously and with dignity by the institution.

- Referrals to off-campus counseling and medical services that are available immediately and confidential, whether or not those who report feel ready to make any decisions about reporting to police, a college or university employee or the campus's Title IX Coordinator.
- Those who have been the victim of sexual misconduct have the right to take both criminal and civil legal action against the individual allegedly responsible.
- Those who seek confidentiality may contact a clergy member(s), a University counseling center psychologist, a University health center care provider, the Sexual Assault Crisis Center of Connecticut and/or the Connecticut Coalition Against Domestic Violence – all of whom are bound by state statutes and professional ethics to maintain confidentiality without written releases.

### Options for Changing Academic, Housing, Transportation and Working Arrangements

The colleges and universities will provide assistance to those involved in a report of sexual misconduct, including but not limited to, reasonably available options for changing academic, campus transportation, housing or working situations as well as honoring lawful protective or temporary restraining orders. Each and every BOR governed college and university shall create and provide information specific to its campus detailing the procedures to follow after the commission of such violence, including people or agencies to contact for reporting purposes or to request assistance, and information on the importance of preserving physical evidence.

### **Support Services Contact Information**

It is BOR policy that whenever a college or university Title IX Coordinator or other employee receives a report that a student, faculty or staff member has been subjected to sexual misconduct, the Title IX Coordinator or other employee shall immediately provide the student, faculty or staff member with contact information for

and, if requested, professional assistance in accessing and using any appropriate campus resources, or local advocacy, counseling, health, and mental health services. All CSCU campuses shall develop and distribute contact information for this purpose as well as provide such information on-line.

### Right to Notify Law Enforcement & Seek Protective and Other Orders

Those who report being subjected to sexual misconduct shall be provided written information about her/his right to:

(1) notify law enforcement and receive assistance from campus authorities in making the notification; and,

(2) obtain a protective order, apply for a temporary restraining order or seek enforcement of an existing order. Such orders include:

- standing criminal protective orders;
- protective orders issued in cases of stalking, harassment, sexual assault, or risk of injury to or impairing the morals of a child;
- temporary restraining orders or protective orders prohibiting the harassment of a witness;
- family violence protective orders.

### **Employee Conduct Procedures**

Employees who are reported to have engaged in sexual misconduct are subject to discipline in accordance with the procedures applicable to the employee's classification of employment.

### **Student Conduct Procedures**

The **Student Code of Conduct** provides the procedures for the investigation, definitions of terms, and resolution of complaints regarding student conduct, including those involving sexual misconduct, as defined herein.

The Title IX Coordinator can assist in explaining the student conduct process. The Student Code of Conduct provides an equal, fair, and

timely process (informal administrative resolution or a formal adjudication) for reported victims and accused students.

Reported victims of sexual misconduct shall have the opportunity to request that an investigation or disciplinary proceedings begin promptly; that such disciplinary proceedings shall be conducted by an official trained annually in issues relating to sexual misconduct and shall use the preponderance of the evidence (more likely than not) standard in making a determination concerning the alleged sexual misconduct.

Both the reported victim of sexual misconduct and the accused student are entitled to be accompanied to any meeting or proceeding relating to the allegation of sexual misconduct by an advisor or support person of their choice, provided the involvement of such advisor or support person does not result in the postponement or delay of such meeting as scheduled and provided such an advisor or support person may not directly address the Hearing Body, question witnesses or otherwise actively participate in the hearing process or other meeting pertaining to a report of sexual misconduct and each student shall have the opportunity to present evidence and witnesses on her/his behalf during any disciplinary proceeding.

Both the reported victim and accused student are entitled to be provided at the same time written notice of the results of any disciplinary proceeding, normally within one (1) business day after the conclusion of such proceeding, which notice shall include the following: the name of the accused student, the violation committed, if any, and any sanction imposed upon the accused student. Sanctions may range from a warning to expulsion, depending upon the behavior and its severity of the violation(s). The reported victim shall have the same right to request a review of the decision of any disciplinary proceeding in the same manner and on the same basis as shall the accused student; however, in such cases, if a review by any reported victim is granted, among the other actions that may be taken, the sanction of the disciplinary proceeding may also be increased. The reported victim and the

accused student are entitled to be simultaneously provided written notice of any change in the results of any disciplinary proceeding prior to the time when the results become final as well as to be notified when such results become final.

In accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), the accused student and the reported victim have the right to keep their identities confidential.

### **Dissemination of this Policy**

Upon adoption by the Board all CSCU institutions shall, upon receipt, immediately post and maintain this policy at all times in an easily accessible manner on each institution's website. This policy shall thereafter be annually provided to all Title IX Coordinators, campus law enforcement officers and security personnel, and other campus personnel. Further, this policy shall be presented at student orientation and at student awareness and prevention trainings, and made broadly available at each campus. The policy shall be expanded upon by each institution to provide resources and contact information specific to their institution and geographic area as set forth above.

12/5/2014 – BOR Academic & Student Affairs Committee; 1/15/2015 – BOR, 6/16/2016 BOR

### Did you know?

The **University Health Services** are trained for victims of sexual assault. The office is staffed by a physician, two APRNs and an RN. All are ready to listen and provide medical care and support. The collection of medical evidence is offered at New Britain's Hospital of Central Connecticut.

On-campus: Marcus White Annex; 860-832-1925

### To report an incident at Central Connecticut State University

### **Office of Diversity and Equity (All complaints)**

Rosa Rodríguez, Chief Diversity Officer and Title IX Coordinator Central Connecticut State University 1615 Stanley St. New Britain, CT 06053 Davidson Hall, Rm. 102 860-832-1653 <u>rosa.rodriguez@ccsu.edu</u> or <u>TitleIXReport@ccsu.edu</u>

### Office of Student Conduct (Complaints against students)

Christopher Dukes, Director Carroll Hall, Rm. 202 860-832-1667 DukesC@ccsu.edu

University Police (All criminal complaints except sexual harassment)

860-832-2375

Human Resources (Complaints against employees)

Anna E. Suski-Lenczewski, Chief Human Resources Officer Davidson Hall, Rm. 101 860-832-1756 <u>lenczewskia@mail.ccsu.edu</u>

Office of Student Affairs (Complaints against students)

Dr. Laura Tordenti, Vice President for Student Affairs Davidson Hall, Rm. 103 860-832-1605 <u>Tordentilau@ccsu.edu</u>

### If you want to speak with someone at CCSU

### **Office of Victim Advocacy**

Sarah Dodd, Victim Advocacy and Violence Prevention Specialist 860-832-3795 sarahdodd@ccsu.edu

Women's Center

Jacqueline Cobbina-Boivin 860-832-1655 cobbina-boivinJ@ccsu.edu

**Counseling and Wellness Center (Confidential)** 860-832-1945

### If you want to speak with a community partner

Sexual Assault Crisis Services (Confidential)

860-223-1787 (English) 888-568-8332 (Español)

### Prudence Crandall Center for Domestic Violence (Confidential)

888-774-2900 (24-hour hotline)

### Did you know?

Most sexual assaults are committed by someone the victim knows. Studies show that approximately 80% of women reporting sexual assaults knew their assailant.

Sexual offenders come from all educational, occupational, racial and cultural backgrounds. They are "ordinary" and "normal" individuals who sexually assault victims to assert power and control over them and inflict violence, humiliation and degradation.

Source: http://www.connsacs.org/learn/index.htm

## Procedures and Timetables for Processing of Complaints

In accordance with Section 46a-68-46 of the Affirmative Action Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, the following procedures provide an internal process for the handling of complaints involving claims of discrimination or harassment, including sexual misconduct/violence.

This procedure is designed to further implement Central Connecticut State University (CCSU) policies relating to Nondiscrimination in Education and Employment, Sexual Harassment and Sexual Misconduct by providing a process through which individuals alleging violation of these policies may pursue a complaint. This includes allegations of retaliation, discrimination, harassment based on age, ancestry, color, disability, gender identity or expression, genetics, national origin, marital status, race, sex (including pregnancy, transgender status, sexual harassment and misconduct), religious creed, sexual orientation, prior criminal conviction and any other status protected by federal or state laws.

When responding to an internal complaint, disclosure of information relating to the internal complaint and the identity of the complainant will be handled with appropriate sensitivity and in accordance with applicable laws.

### A. Process for Filing Internal Complaints of Alleged Discrimination or Sexual Harassment and Misconduct

### 1. Who may file:

Any employee, applicant for employment, student, applicant for admission or any other person, including visitors.

### 2. When to file:

Complainant(s) are encouraged to file as soon as possible but must file no later than ninety (90) calendar days following the complainant's first knowledge of the alleged discriminatory act. Once filed, the internal complaint must be resolved within ninety (90) calendar days.

### 3. Where to File:

The Office of Diversity and Equity handles internal complaints alleging violations of the Nondiscrimination Opportunity in Education and Employment, Sexual Harassment and/or BOR/CSCU Sexual Misconduct, Sexual Assault and Intimate Partner Violence policies. The Chief Diversity Officer (CDO) or his/her designee reviews and, if necessary, conducts an investigation into each complaint that, if proven, would constitute a violation of CCSU policies. Complaints against students are file with the Office of Student Conduct. See CCSU Student Code of Conduct and Statement of Disciplinary Procedures.

### **All Complaints**

Rosa Rodríguez Chief Diversity Officer and Title IX Officer Office of Diversity and Equity Davidson Hall, Rm. 102 860-832-0178

#### **Complaints against Students**

Christopher Dukes Director Office of Student Conduct Carroll Hall, Rm. 202 860-832-1667

Complaints against students may be referred to the Office of Student Conduct. The OSC Director serves as a Title IX designee.

### Reports against the President, Chief Diversity Officer or Office of Diversity and Equity Employees

If a discrimination complaint is made against the President, Chief Diversity Officer or an Office of Diversity and Equity employee alleging that these employees directly or personally engaged in discriminatory, the complaint shall be referred to the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO) for review and, if appropriate, investigation by the Department of Administrative Services, except if any such complaint has been filed with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission or the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities, the CHRO or Department of Administrative Services may rely upon the process of the applicable commission in lieu of such investigation.

### 4. Process for filing complaints

At the time an individual makes his/her complaint, the CDO or designee will provide the individual with the University's respective policies on non-discrimination, sexual harassment and/or BOR/CSCU Sexual Misconduct, Sexual Assault and Intimate Partner Violence Policy and the procedures and timetables for processing internal complaints.

### No Basis to Proceed.

At any point during the processing of the complaint, the CDO or designee may determine that there is no basis to proceed under the Nondiscrimination in Education and Employment Policy, Sexual Harassment Policy and/or Sexual Misconduct Policy. The CDO or designee shall refer the complaint as appropriate. The CDO or designee shall notify the complainant and, if necessary, the respondent of the outcome as appropriate, in accordance with applicable state and federal laws.

### **Investigatory Process**

The Office of Diversity and Equity shall provide the respondent with a written summary of the complaint, including a description of the alleged discriminatory acts, within ten (10) business days of the filing of the complaint. If the complaint is in writing, the Office of Diversity and Equity shall provide the respondent with a copy of the written complaint or summary of the complaint. Disclosure of information shall be in accordance with applicable state and federal laws.

The CDO or designee shall weigh all evidence pertaining to the internal complaint, make findings of fact, recommendations, and, with the consent of the parties and appropriate executive officer, propose settlements to the University President. Without investigation, the CDO or designee may also mediate issues between

parties where the allegations, if proven, would not constitute a violation of CCSU policies.

The complainant and the respondent (person accused) will be allowed to have one non-participating support person present for the interview(s). For represented employees, this support person could be a union representative; however, if the support person is not a union representative, the employee who is the respondent will be asked to sign a union waiver. For more information, see the Right to Union Representation section.

### Timeline

Internal complaints shall be investigated and resolved within ninety (90) calendar days of the receipt of the complaint, including the written notification to the complainant(s) and respondent(s) regarding the results of the investigation. Whenever possible, complaints should be resolved in accordance with relevant University policies at the supervisory, Dean or Director's level with the concurrence of the CDO.

### **Right to Union Representation**

In accordance with federal law and applicable collective bargaining agreements, represented employees may have the right to request and receive union representation during an investigatory meeting.

Nothing in this procedure is intended to expand, diminish or alter in any manner whatsoever any right or remedy available under a collective bargaining agreement, personnel policy or law.

#### Determination

Upon the conclusion of its investigation, the CDO or designee will determine whether or not discrimination or harassment in violation of CCSU policy occurred. A preponderance of the evidence standard is used to make this determination. A copy of the investigatory report will be provided to the University President.

- 1. Unsupportable Complaints. If the CDO or designee determines that the evidence is insufficient to support the allegation, he or she shall dismiss the complaint.
- Supportable Complaints. If the CDO concludes that the allegations are supported by the evidence, he or she will report his or her findings and recommendations to the appropriate administrator.

### 5. Disciplinary Action

If the CDO or designee believes that disciplinary action against the respondent may be warranted at this or a subsequent stage, a recommendation will be made to the Chief Human Resource Office (for employees) or the Office of Student Conduct (for students).

### **B.** Process for Filing an Appeal

Within fifteen (15) calendar days of the issuance of the Chief Diversity Officer's determination, the complainant or respondent may file an appeal of the determination. The appeal and all supporting documentation shall be submitted in writing to the University President, with copies to the CDO and other parties to the complaint.

The President or designee shall review the investigation and determine whether to affirm or modify the decision. The President or designee may receive additional information if the President or designee believes such information would aid in the consideration of the appeal.

If an appeal of the CDO's determination is filed, the University President or designee shall conduct a review of said appeal and issue a written decision within thirty (30) calendar days of the appeal. The University President shall notify all parties in writing of his/her decision.

AAUP members have the option of appealing the decision using a review panel as outlined in the AAUP Complaint Procedure.

The decision on appeal exhausts the complainant's and the respondent's administrative remedies under this procedure except as provided herein.

### Appeal Process for AAUP Members

The complaint will be processed according to an agreed-upon procedure consistent with the CSU-AAUP Collective Bargaining Agreement, Appendix F. See AAUP Complaint Review Procedure.

### **C. Records Maintenance**

The CDO shall create and maintain a file of each internal complaint received under these procedures. All information, including records and correspondence pertaining to said internal complaint will be kept in this file. Access to the file will be in accordance with applicable State and Federal statutes and collective bargaining agreements. The CDO will secure these files.

All records of internal complaints and dispositions shall be reviewed on a regular basis by the Office of Diversity and Equity to discern any pattern in the nature of the internal complaints.

### **Related policies and procedures:**

- Nondiscrimination in Education and Employment Policy
- BOR/CSCU Sexual Misconduct, Sexual Assault and Intimate Partner Violence Policy
- Consensual Relationship Policy
- Student Code of Conduct and Statement of Disciplinary Procedures

Revised October 25, 2011; Revised June 6, 2014; Revised June 15, 2016l; Revised June 12, 2017.

### Did you know?

The counselors in the Student Wellness Center are considered <u>confidential employees</u> and cannot release any information without your authorization unless permitted by State or Federal laws, e.g., suspicions of child or vulnerable adult abuse and neglect.

### Policy Regarding Reporting Suspected Abuse or Neglect of a Child

The Board of Regents for Higher Education (BOR) of the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities (CSCU) accept that institutions of higher education foster educational opportunities for people under the age of 18 years. The BOR, in acknowledging the special care required for children, strives to the utmost to protect children on its campuses from any form of abuse or neglect.

Pursuant to state law, with the exception of student employees, any paid administrator, faculty, staff, athletic director, athletic coach or athletic trainer, collectively referred to as "mandatory reporters" who in the ordinary course of their employment has a reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a person under the age of 18 years has been abused or neglected, has been placed in imminent harm or has had a non-accidental injury is required to cause a report to be made to the Department of Children and Families (DCF) within 12 hours of becoming aware or suspecting abuse, neglect or imminent harm to a child.

The BOR recognizes that each CSCU campus must be a safe and secure environment for children to grow and develop. Therefore, the BOR further requires mandatory reporters to report any witnessed or suspected abuse or neglect of a child on a CSCU campus to their immediate supervisor in addition to DCF. The supervisor must report the incident to their director or vice president who must then inform the campus President and the System Office Vice President for Human Resources or his/her designee.

If the director or vice president reasonably believes that a reportable incident has occurred, and, if the suspected perpetrator is a BOR or CSCU employee, he/she will immediately contact their Chief Human Resources Officer who shall assign an objective person to investigate the report. An employee under investigation may be placed on administrative leave pending the results of the investigation. Employees who report suspicions of abuse or neglect are protected
from any disciplinary action unless the report is determined to have been maliciously made. An employee who fails to report, but is later determined to have had previous knowledge of the abuse, may be subject to discipline.

A report is required if there is reasonable cause to suspect that a person under the age of 18 is in imminent harm, has had non accidental injuries or has been abused or neglected. Reasonable cause to believe or suspect that child abuse has occurred is sufficient to make a report.

All staff designated as mandatory reporters are required to take the DCF Mandated Reporter Training, either on-line or in person, and Mandated Reporter Training will be included in New Employee Orientation. Compliance with training will be monitored by each CSCU campus's Department of Human Resources. A copy of this policy shall be disseminated annually to all employees.

Reasonable steps will be taken to preserve privacy while promptly investigating and responding to the report. While the institution will strive to maintain the confidentiality of the information reported, which information may be subject to privacy requirements of the Family Education

Rights Privacy Act (FERPA), the institution also must fulfill its duty to protect the CSCU community and to assure that the appropriate disciplinary processes are implemented.

BOR approved 1/17/14 and Revised 1/15/15; requires annual distribution to employees

#### To file a report or for additional information contact:

All Abuse and Neglect Incidents	All Suspected Incidents of Sexual Abuse		
Anna Suski-Lenczewski Chief Human Resources Officer	Rosa Rodríguez, Chief Diversity Officer and Title IX Coordinator		
Davidson Hall, RM 101	Davidson Hall, RM 102		
New Britain, CT 06050-4010	New Britain, CT 06053		
860-832-1751	860-832-1653		
lenczewskia@mail.ccsu.edu	rosa.rodriguez@ccsu.edu		

41 | Page

# **Consensual Relationship Policy**

Central Connecticut State University (CCSU) stands for excellence in teaching and learning in an environment of inclusion, trust, and respect among all members of the university community. All employees with managerial, supervisory, or evaluative responsibilities for students or other employees carry a special responsibility to adhere to the highest ethical and professional standards and to avoid any actions that may appear to undermine this atmosphere of trust and respect and thereby hinder the University's educational mission.

Because of the inherent imbalance of power and need for trust, all employees with evaluative or supervisory authority over students and employees should be aware that dating or sexual relationships that might be appropriate in other circumstances have inherent dangers when they occur between employees, or between an employee and a student.

Consensual relationships can create real conflicts of interest and appearances of impropriety that can impair the integrity of academic and employment decisions. There are also special risks in any sexual or romantic relationships between individuals in inherently unequal positions of power, such as students and teachers or supervisors and employees. In addition, although these relationships may begin and remain consensual, they may easily be later characterized as nonconsensual given the inherent power differential between the parties, and such relationships could potentially lead to sexual harassment charges.

#### **Prohibited**

Between employee and student: Consensual romantic, dating, or sexual relationships between any employee and any student over whom that employee exercises direct or otherwise significant academic, supervisory, or evaluative authority or influence are prohibited at Central Connecticut State University. The evaluative relationship can take a variety of forms, such as teacher to student, advisor to advisee, coach to athlete, supervisor to student employee, or similar relationship.

#### Strongly Discouraged

#### Between employee and student:

Romantic, dating or sexual relationships between employees and students over whom said employee does not have supervisory or evaluative authority are strongly discouraged. Such relationships are not only susceptible to future conflicts of interest, but also may present the appearance of impropriety.

If this situation exists, no employee should agree to supervise or evaluate a student with whom he or she has, or formerly had, a consensual relationship. A faculty member should inform the Dean if such a student wishes to enroll in a credit bearing course that he or she is teaching so that alternate arrangements can be made. Nor should a faculty member direct the student's independent study, internship, or thesis; participate in decisions regarding grades; or write letters of recommendation or reference.

#### Between employee and employee:

CCSU discourages employees with supervisory or evaluative authority from engaging in romantic, dating or sexual relationships with employees who they supervise or evaluate. If such a relationship exists or develops, the supervisory employee must notify his/her manager so that arrangements can be made for the unbiased supervision and evaluation of the employee. These situations are handled on a case-by-case basis and may require transfer or reassignment of one or more employees.

#### In the event of a sexual harassment charge

Anyone who enters into a romantic, dating or sexual relationship where a professional power differential exists must realize that if a charge of sexual harassment is subsequently filed, it may be difficult to defend the charge by claiming that there was mutual consent. Employees could be held personally liable in a criminal or civil lawsuit.

43 | Page

#### Sanctions

All violations of this policy should be reported to Human Resources for investigation and appropriate administrative action, up to and including disciplinary action.

Policy approved April 2012

To file a report contact or for additional information contact:

Anna Suski-Lenczewski Chief Human Resources Officer Davidson Hall, RM 101 1615 Stanley Street New Britain, CT 06050-4010 860-832-0031

## Did You Know?

The Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act (20 USC § 1092(f)) is the landmark federal law, originally known as the Campus Security Act, that requires colleges and universities across the United States to disclose information about crime on and around their campuses. The law is tied to an institution's participation in federal student financial aid programs and it applies to most institutions of higher education both public and private. The Act is enforced by the United States Department of Education.

Source: Clery Center

# **Discrimination Complaint Agencies**

An individual has the right to file a complaint of discrimination with any or all of the relevant agencies listed below. The individual can also simultaneously file a complaint utilizing the University's internal discrimination complaint procedure.

The Connecticut Commission on Human Rights & Opportunities:

Capitol Region	Eastern Region
999 Asylum Ave.	100 Broadway
Hartford, CT 06105	Norwich, CT 06360
Tel: (860) 566-7710	Tel: (860) 886-5703
Southwest Region1057 Broad	West Central Region Rowland
Street Bridgeport, CT 06604 Tel:	State Government Center
(203) 579-6246	55 West Main Street, Suite 210
	Waterbury, CT 06702-2004
	Tel: (203) 805-6530

Complaints should be filed with the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities no later than one hundred and eighty (180) days after the alleged act of employment discrimination occurred.

The Equal Employment Opportunities Commission

John F. Kennedy Federal Office Building Government Center, RM 475 Boston, MA 02203 Tel: (617) 565-3200

Complaints should be filed with the Equal Employment Opportunities Commission no later than one hundred and eighty (180) days after the alleged act of employment discrimination occurred, <u>except</u>, that in a case when the aggrieved person has initially filed a complaint with the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities, such complaint should be filed no later than three hundred (300) days after the alleged act of employment discrimination occurred.

45 | Page

Alternatively:

Connecticut Permanent Commission on the Status of Women

18-20 Trinity Street Hartford, CT 06106 Tel: (860) 240-8300

State of Connecticut: Employee Grievance Procedure

(Contact Human Resources Office or union representatives for Grievance forms and/or procedures).

Regulation of Wages Division, Connecticut Labor Department

200 Folly Brook Boulevard Wethersfield, CT 06109 Tel: (860) 263-6000

Wage and Hour and Public Contracts Division

United States Labor Department 135 High Street Hartford, CT 06103 Tel: (860) 240-4277

U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights

33 Arch Street Ninth Floor Boston, MA 02110 Tel: (617) 289-0111 Fax: (617) 289-0150

We have talked long enough in this country about equal rights. It is time now to write the next chapter –and to write in the books of law. & Lyndon B. Johnson

46 | Page

# **Other Important Information and Resources**

Affirmative Action Plan: Copies of the plan are available at the library, the Office of Diversity and Equity and the CCSU website: <u>http://www.ccsu.edu/diversity/affirmativeAction.html</u>

**Code of Conduct**: The Office of Student Conduct is responsible for developing ways to respond effectively to incidents or issues that threaten to disrupt the learning environment. The goals of the office of Student Conduct include resolving discipline cases in a developmentally sound manner consistent with University policy and applicable state and federal laws; encouraging the teaching and development of life-skills, such as healthy decision making, civility, and accountability; and maintaining integrity in regards to the health, safety, and security of all members of the CCSU community. For copy of code go to: <u>http://web.ccsu.edu/studentconduct/</u>

**Crime Report:** In compliance with the **Clery Act** (Campus Crime Statistics Act), all employees of the University (excluding "Privileged Contacts") notified of a sexual assault are required to inform the CCSU Police of non-personally identifiable information for inclusion in campus crime statistics unless the matter has already been reported to the police. To access the report go to: http://www.ccsu.edu/police/clearyReport.html

Helping Victims/Survivors of Sexual Misconduct Protocol: A copy of the protocol is available at:

http://www.ccsu.edu/diversity/files/SexualMisconductProtocol14-15.pdf

# Did you know?

Electronic harassment can include text messages, posts to social media sites such as, Facebook, email and other electronic methods used to harass someone. Notes

48 | Page

49 | Page



This document is available in alternate format by contacting the Office of Diversity and Equity at 860-832-1652.

This booklet is provided to employees, students and applicants for their general information and guidance only. It does not constitute a contract either express or implied, and is subject to revision at the University's discretion.



Central Connecticut State University is an equal opportunity educator and employer.

June/2017

Office of Diversity & Equity This publication is available in alternative formats.



Ř

# Report an Incident of Sexual Harassment or Misconduct at CCSU

#### • All Complaints •

Title IX Coordinator Office of Diversity & Equity Davidson Hall 102

titleixreport@ccsu.edu 860-832-1653

#### \* Complaints Against Students \*

860-832-1667

# \* Criminal Complaints •

860-832-2375

#### Someone to talk to at CCSU...

 Office of Victim Advocacy sarahdodd@ccsu.edu 860-832-3795

> • Women's Center • 860-832-1655

Office of Student Affairs
 860-832-1601

 Residence Life = 860-832-1660

• Student Wellness Services • -Confidential-860-832-1945

#### Off-Campus & Confidential Services

Sexual Assault & Crisis Services -860-223-1787 - Prudence Crandall Center -Domestic Violence Hotline 888-774-2900

 Employee Assistance Program -The Lexington Group, Inc. 800-676-4357

External Reporting Agencies

CT Human Rights & Opportunities 860-566-7710 U.S. Dept. of Ed., Office of Civil Rights 617-289-0111 Presentations

10/30/2017



·		



#### ODE RESPONSIBILITIES

- Nondiscrimination in Education and Employment Policy
- Title IX compliance
- BOR\CSCU Sexual Misconduct Reporting, Support Services and Processes Policy
- ADA compliance Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action



OFFICE OF DIVERSITY AND EQUITY (ODE)

#### TRAINING AGENDA

• The Context

- CCSU Employee Responsibilities Quiz
- Reports to the State of Connecticut General Assembly Higher Education Committee
- Case Studies
- Questions



# TITLE IX IS A...

Federal law that prohibits discrimination based on the sex (gender) of employees and students of educational institutions that receive federal financial assistance

Prohibition of sex discrimination includes prohibition of sexual harassment and sexual violence

# HIGHER EDUCATION AND SEXUAL MISCONDUCT







Sports PENN STATE

April 4 (1911)

## HIGHER EDUCATION AND SEXUAL MISCONDUCT





\*\*\*\*

2



# WHICH OF THE FOLLOWING IS <u>NOT</u> CONSIDERED A PROTECTED CLASS UNDER CCSU NONDISCRIMINATION AND ANTI-HARASSMENT POLICIES?

- 1. Genetic information
- 2. Criminal record
- 3. Political affiliation
- 4. Sex
- 5. Gender identity or expression

-0%



Harassment and discrimination following:	are prohibited based on the
Age	Marital Status
Ancestry	National Origin
Color	Race
Criminal Record (state employment)	Religious Creed
Disability (Intellectual, Joarning, mental and physical disability)	Genetic information
Sex (pregnancy and sexual harassment or misconduct)	Sexual Orientation
Gender Identity or Expression	

#### WORKPLACE/EDUCATIONAL **ENVIRONMENT INCLUDES:**

Any place a student/employee must be as part of their education/employment:

- conferences
   residence halls

- buildings
   training
   study abroad
   transportation
   off-campus meetings

Misconduct can also be investigated when it occurs during unpaid breaks (lunch), University sponsored social events and at "company" parties (picnics, retirement and holiday parties, etc.)

events/athletic
classrooms

#### IN THE BOR POLICY, SEXUAL MISCONDUCT **INCLUDES WHICH OF THE FOLLOWING:**

- 1. Sexual harassment
- 2. Sexual assault
- 3. Sexual exploitation
- 4. Intimate Partner Violence
- 5. Stalking
- 6. All of the above

0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% and the second 1

### WHO IS THE TITLE IX COORDINATOR?

- 1. Dr. Richard Bachoo
- 2. Sarah Dodd
- 3. President Toro
- Anna Suski-Lenczewski
   Rosa Rodriguez

0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 1



# YOUR RESPONSIBILITY - BOR SEXUAL MISCONDUCT POLICY

All employees (including student workers, graduate assistants and interns and any other person a CCSU campus member may reasonably see as an agent of the University) are <u>reapriced to</u> repart inidents of exercit microardext repartieless of the allegad victim's age to the University's Title IX Officer."

Board policy requires that a report must be made to the CT Department of Children and Families whenever a person under the age of eighteen (18) years of age may have been sexually assaulted.

\*Title IX Officer - Rosa Rodríguez rosa.rodriguez@ccsu.edu 860-832-0178.

# ALL EMPLOYEES, EXCEPT FOR STUDENT WORKERS, ARE DEEMED "MANDATORY REPORTERS" BY THE BOARD OF REGENTS

1. True

2. False

×



#### MANDATORY REPORTING - BOR POLICY REPORTING SUSPECTED ABUSE OF NEGLECT OF A CHILD

Any university employee deemed a "mandatory reporter' who has a reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a person under the age of 18 years has been abused or neglecical, has been placed in imminant larm or has had a non-accidental univ y is envirted to report the incident to the Department of Children and Families within 12 hours of becoming aware or suspecting abuse, neglect or immanent harm to a child.

DCF Conteilum Number 1-800-842-2288 & TDD: 1-800-624-5518 \*Pursoni to state bay, with the exception of studied tendors/even and administrator, facility, public, athelics administic cach or antifetic tradem had be deemed or matricel to strate address received.

#### **MANDATORY REPORTING**

Any university employee deemed a mandatory reporter is required to report such incidents to their immediate supervisor in addition to DCF.

For more information on this policy contact:

Anna Suski-Lenczewski CCSU's Chief Human Resources Officer Ionctaeskia Ecctuadu or 860-832-1757

#### WHAT RIGHTS DO BOTH COMPLAINANTS AND **RESPONDENTS HAVE DURING THE COMPLAINT** PROCESS?

- 1. University appointed attorneys
- 2. Union representation (if applicable)
- 3. To have a support person
- 4. To receive notice of the outcome
- 5. To request a review of the decision



#### **RIGHTS OF ALLEGED VICTIM & ACCUSED:**

▶ To be treated fairly and with respect

The right to have a support person during any meeting or proceeding related

The right to fave a support possin during any meeting of proceeding factors to the allegation of sexual misconduct.
 As long as this person's unobvenient deaw I delay any meeting related to this cenduct and does not drextly address the Hearing Body question witnesses or otherwise actively participate in the hearing process or other meeting pertaining to a report of sexual misconduct.

► To receive notice at the same time of the outcome

 $\blacktriangleright$  The right to request a review of any decision regarding the sexual misconduct matter in which they are involved

#### **COMPLAINT PROCEDURES AND OPTIONS**

Internal Process: 90 day timeframe
Complaint Procedure – See packet

- External Process:
   CHRO (180 day Imeframe)
   EEOC (180 day Imeframe\*)
   OCR Pracess 180 day timeframe

\* The 180 calendar day living deadline weekended in 300 calendar days it a state or local agency enforces a law that prohibits employment discumsation on the same basis EEOC gas.

#### **INVESTIGATION STANDARDS**

#### Reasonable person

- Behavior that a reasonable person would consider offensive
- In the eye of the beholder. Impact not intent!
- Preponderance of the evidence
- More likely than not

# WHAT OFFICES ARE CONFIDENTIAL AT CCSU (MARK ALL THAT APPLY)?

- Counseling and Wellness Center
- 2. Employee Assistance Program
- 3. The Women's Center
- 4. The Office of Victim Advocacy
- 5. Career Services

0% 0% 0% 0% 0%



#### **ON-CAMPUS RESOURCES** TO REPORT AN INCIDENT:

# Office of Diversity and Equity (All complaints) Chief Diversity Officer, The IX Coord splar

860-832 1652 Davidson Hall, Room 102 Office at Society Conduct (Complaints against students) Grining Conduct (Complaints against students) Growill Hall, Room 202

CCH Palice (Criminal complaints) Police Osporton Bollog Osporton 800-332-2375

#### **ON CAMPUS RESOURCES** SOMEONE TO TALK TO:

CCSU Vidim Services Sarah Dodd 860-832-3795 Carroll Hall, Roon 24B CCSU Warnen's Center Jacqueline Cabblina-Boivin 860-832-1655 Siudeni Center, Room 215 Residence Life 860-832-1660 Mid Campus, Room 118

Student Wellness Services (Confidential) Health Services: 860-832-1925 Counseling Services: 860-832-1945 Office of Stedent Alfairs 860-832-1601 Davidson Hall, Room 103

Any university administrator

## **OFF-CAMPUS CONFIDENTIAL RESOURCES**

YWCA Sexual Assault Crisis Service 24 Hour Spanish Hotline: 888-568-8332 Prudence Crandall Center for Domestic Violence 24 Hour Hotline: 888-774-2900 Suicide Provention Lifeline 24 Hour Hattine, 560-273,8255

Hospital of Central Connecticut 100 Grand Street New Britain, CT 06050 860-224-5011

10/30/2017














#### SCENARIO 1

A student to whom you have provided mentorship in the post, drogs by your office to prodate you on their sensetr. They tell you that they recently withdrew from a course for the first time in their college coreer. They continue to tell you that, while they were really interested in the colloss topic, the professor was constantly making sexually explicit jokes and it was "just really annoying". The student tells you that the rest of the class seemed to think the professor was hilartous.

Questions to Consider 1. What are your Initial thoughts on this scenario? 2. What are some things you would NOT want to say to the studem? 3. What are some things you would say to the student?

4. What is your responsibility as a CCSU employee?

### SCENARIO 2

You are a professor and a student with whom you have had limited interaction comes to your office hours for the first time. The student tells you hat he knows that he is failing the class and he has had a really 'tough's semister". When you ask what happened, he tells you that he was sexually assulted several months earlier and has had trouble focusing on school ever since. He quickly follows this with a request to "keep this confidential, akay2".

Questions to Consider 1. What are your initial thoughts on this scenario? 2. What are some things you would NOT want to say to the studem? 3. What are some things you would say to the student?

would say to the student? 4. What is your responsibility as a CCSU employee?







Transformation and in

#### SARAH DGDD 248 CARBOLL NALL 860-812-3795

Professional advocacy services for students and employees

Collaborates with other departments on prevention and awareness initiatives

Leads evaluation efforts

# TITLE IX IS A\_

- Federal law that prohibits discrimination based on the sex (gender) of employees and students of educational institutions that receive federal financial assistance
- Prohibition of sex discrimination includes prohibition of sexual harassment and sexual violence

"and have give 12"

# TITLE IX TRAINING AGENDA

	CCD) Lineal Research (1 Pale)
	Sec
	Beddid Depring
	Computer Dynamics
1	On and Off Gargese Resources
17	Understanding Street Assails Internet Partner Visions and Stationg
	Respecting to Stations Web Have Experimental Securit P(constants)
	The KN have seen as a second sec







1001010-09284-222



#### MANDATORY REPORTING -**BOR SEXUAL MISCONDUCT POLICY**

All employees (including student workers, graduate assistants and interns and any other person a CCSU campus member may reasonably see as an agent of the University) are required to report incidents of sexual misconduct regardless of the alleged victim's age to the University's Tidle IX Officer.<sup>4</sup>
 Board policy requires that a report must be made to the CT Department of Children and Families whenever a person under the age of eighteen (18) years of age may have been sexually assaulted.

\*Title IX Officer - Rosa Rodriguez rosa.rodriguez@ccsu.edu 860-832-0178.

Title (X Trivnerg 2016 - 2017

#### MANDATORY REPORTING - BOR POLICY Reporting suspected aruse of reglect of a cuild

Any university employee deemed a "mandatory reporter"\* who has a reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a person under the age of 18 years has been abused or neglected, has been placed in imminent harm or has had a non-accidental injury is required to report the incident to the **Department of Children and Families within 12 hours** of becoming aware or suspecting abuse, neglect or imminent harm to a child.

\*Pursuant to state law, with the exception of student employees, any paid administrator, faculty, staff, athletic director, athletic coach or athletic trainer shall be deemed or referred to as "mandatory reporters."

True 13, Training 2016 - 2017

# **MANDATORY REPORTING**

Any university employee deemed a mandatory reporter is required to report such incidents to their immediate supervisor in addition to DCF.

For more information on this policy contact:

Anna Suski-Lenczewski CCSU's Chief Human Resources Officer lenczewskia@ccsu.edu or 860-832-1757

Title 15 Yr annig 2016 - 30-7

# **RIGHTS OF THOSE WHO REPORT**

- To be treated seriously and with dignity
- Provided support services materials that include: on- and offcampus resources; information regarding reporting options (including campus police); information regarding their rights
- Provided with options for changing academic, housing, transportation and working arrangements
   Prompt handling of their concerns

4

# RIGHTS OF ALLEGED VICTIM & Accused:

- To be treated fairly and with respect
- $\bullet$  To have a support person during any meeting or proceeding related to the allegation of sexual misconduct.
  - As long as this person's involvement doesn't delay any meeting related to this conduct and does not directly address the Hearing Body, question witnesses or otherwise actively participate in the hearing process or other meeting pertaining to a report of sexual misconduct.
- To receive notice at the same time of the outcome
- To request a review of any decision regarding the sexual misconduct matter in which they are involved

7 dath Training 2016 - 2517

# **INVESTIGATION STANDARDS**

- Reasonable Person
  - Behavior that a reasonable person would consider offensive
  - -In the eye of the beholder. Impact not intent!
- Preponderance of the evidence standard
- -More likely than not

Fille IA Tearing 2016 - 2017

# RETALIATION

No retaliation, reprisal or intimidation in conjunction with a complaint of discrimination/harassment shall be tolerated by the University.

Tide IX Transing 2016 - 20





Office of Diversity and Equity (All complaints) Chief Diversity Officer/ Title IX Officer Rosa Rodríguez 860-832-1652 Davidson Hall, Room 102

CCSU Police (Criminal complaints) Emergency: 911 Routine - Police Dispatch 860-832-2375

Any administrator

Office of Student Conduct (Complaints against students) Christopher Dukes 860-832-1667 Carroll Hall, Room 202

T up 0. Training 2016 2017

# ON-CAMPUS RESOURCES SOMEONE TO TALK TO:

CCSU Office of Victim Advocacy Srah Dodd 60-932-375 Cauroll Hall 248 Women's Center Jacqueline Cobina-Bowin 860-832-1655 Student Center, Rom 215 Residence Life 860-832-1660 Mid Campus 118 Student Walkness Services\* (Confidential) Health Services: 860-832-1945 Office of Student Affairs 680-832-1945 Office of Student Affairs 680-832-1601 Davidson Hall Room 103

This office is the only office at CCSU staffed with confidential counselors.

Totle DCTmexing 2016 || 2017

# **OFF-CAMPUS CONFIDENTIAL** RESOURCES

- YWCA Sezual Assault Crkis Service 24 Hour Hotme 860.231.187 24 Hour Spanish Hotline 888 569 8312 **Prudence Crandall Center for Domestic Violence** 24 Hour Hottme 888-774.1980
- Suicide Presention Lifeline 24 Hour Holine: 860 273-8255
- Hospital of Central Connecticut 100 Grand Street
   B60.224.5011

Tide A Tristing 2016 - 20-7



#### SEXUAL MISCONDUCT: SEXUAL HARASSMENT

Unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, sexually motivated physical conduct, and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature.

 $\mathcal{T}(a, 0) = \sup_{i \in \mathcal{T}} \{ (a_i)_{i \in \mathcal{T}} \}$ 

# QUID PRO QUO: "THIS FOR THAT"

- Subjected to unwelcome requests for sexual favors or conduct
- $\circ$  Submission to the conduct is a condition of employment, education, benefit, etc.
- The harasser generally has some type of supervisory or power relationship over the person being harassed

Tide Octraining 2016 2018

# **HOSTILE ENVIRONMENT**

- Unwelcome verbal or physical conduct directed at another
- Because of that individual's protected class (e.g., gender/sex) • That unreasonably interferes with the person's work or
- academic performance
   Sufficiently severe, pervasive or persistent
- Purpose or of creating a hostile work or educational
- environment

Tide IX Tr + ang 2016 ± 2017

# **FORMS OF HARASSMENT**

- Language/posters with of a prejudicial nature
- Offensive graphic (okes)
- Taunting
- Name calling
- Use of offensive words
- Threatening
- Unlawful or inappropriate Internet use
- "Accidental" collisions or brushing up against
- Physical Assault

Tide | K Texns g 2016 - 2017

#### SEXUAL MISCONDUCT: SEXUAL EXPLOITATION

Sexual exploitation occurs when a person takes nonconsensual or abusive sexual advantage of another for anyone's advantage or benefit other than the person being exploited, and that behavior does not otherwise constitute one of the preceding sexual misconduct offenses.

Esta DicTrocking 2016 - 2017



# SEXUAL MISCONDUCT: SEXUAL ASSAULT

Sexual assault may include a sexual act directed against another person when that person is not capable of giving consent, which shall mean the voluntary agreement by a person in the possession and exercise of sufficient mental capacity to make a deliberate choice to do something proposed by another.

Sectoregize and
#### **PREVALENCE AT CCSU**

Approximately 11% of undergraduate women experienced attempted or completed sexual assault.

Approximately 3% of undergraduate men experienced attempted or completed sexual assault.

#### Approximately 6% of graduate student women and 0% of graduate student men experienced attempted or completed sexual assault.

" del N Ten veg 2018 - 2017



The majority of incidents occurred off-campus

90% of victims/survivors knew the person that harmed them

Approximately 3% of victIms/survivors notified law enforcement

40% of victims/survivors told a close friend

Tide IA Franking 2016 - 2017



Review restriction of the second seco

in a second s

and the second second



10

#### FILM CLIP AND DISCUSSION

t want a mittak t waart my fault **It waas** rape.

th:	s file contains cerabile	
38643	North Account from may be	
19	going to scene people	
River	the care of yoursel even	
	ons orang the appendix d	

Treatives and

#### **DISCUSSION QUESTIONS**

What caught your attention during this clip?What concerned you while watching the clip?What questions did the clip raise for you?

Tido A. Franking 2016 || 2017





Title X Training 2015 2017



#### INTIMATE PARTNER VIOLENCE, DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND/OR DATING VIOLENCE

A pattern of abusive behavior in any relationship that is used by one partner to **gain or maintain power and control** over another intimate partner. It may be physical, sexual, emotional, economic, or psychological actions or threats of actions that influence another person.

Ede A Trawig 20 6 20 7








#### STALKING

#### Definition:

repeatedly contacting another person when contacting person knows or should know that the contact is unwanted by the other person, and the contact causes the other person reasonable apprehension of imminent physical harm or the contacting person knows or should know that the contact causes substantial impairment of the other person's ability to perform the activities of daily life.



## Persons age 18 – 24 experienced the highest rate of stalking victimization, 3 in 4 of all victims knew their offender in some

Baum, K., Catalano, S., and Rand, M. (2009). Stalking Victimization in the United States Burneau of Justice Statistics Special Report. U.S. Department of Juance

I in 4 stalking victims reported some form of cyberstalking was used. The most common fear cited was not knowing what would happen next.

Title IX Timung 20:6: 2017

#### **BEHAVIOR OF STALKERS**

- = Follow you and show up wherever you are.
- Send unwanted gifts, letters, cards, or e-mails.
- Damage your home, car, or other property. Monitor your phone calls or computer use.
- Use technology, like hidden cameras or global positioning systems (GPS), to track where you go. Drive by or hang out at your home, school, or work.
- Find out about you suffig public records or online search services, hiring investigators, going through your garbage, or contacting friends, family, neighbors, or co-workers.

Tide IX Traning 2016 | 2017



# WHY DO STUDENTS DISCLOSE TO FACULTY/STAFF?

They believe that they will be believed.
 They feel close to the staff member and want comfort.

- They are having difficulty with classes or with other aspects of
- their life and really need assistance,
- They feel like they need to explain a behavior.
   To warn a staff member about another student.
   They are suddenly triggered.
   Travis Travis Travis 101

#### CASE STUDY ACTIVITY

 ${\rm Directions:}$  in groups of 3 - 5 please read your Case Study card and discuss the questions below. Prepare to report back to the larger group.

- How would you respond, in the moment, to the student/colleague who has approached you? (i.e what are concrete things you can say or do)
- 2. What are things you would not want to say or do in response to the student?
- 3. What is your responsibility as a CCSU employee?
- 4. What questions does that raise for you?

freehought.int



#### YOU HAVE SUPPORT.

	SIUDENLAFTAR
ALL DE	*
	Φ/Φ         (100 m)           Φ/Φ         (100 m)

You are not alone In supporting a student or colleague who has experienced unwanted behaviors.

## THANK YOU.

Sarah Dodd Victim Advocacy and Violence Prevention Specialist sarahdodd@ccsu.edu 860-832-3795 Carroli Hali 248



World yould a possessation region classroom? Blease contact missing to constrate?

Fide D: Tries # 2016 - 2017



Content from this presentation comes from the Red Flag Campaign, a project of the Virginia Sexual and Domestic Violence Action Alliance (Action Alliance) www.theredflagcampaign.org

#### Have you seen red flags on campus?



The Red Flag Campaign Is designed to address dating violence and promote the prevention of dating violence on college campuses.

#### Prevalence of Dating Violence

Dating Violence occurs in **1 out of every 5** college relationship.



C. Sellers and M. Branney, Maleut Behavior in CaRege Student Dating Relationships," Journal of Contemporary Criminal Justice (1996)

Dating violence is a pattern of abusive behavior in a relationship that is used by one partner to gain or maintain power and control over another. It may be physical, emotional, sexual, psychological, or economic. What are some examples of Red Flags

that might indicate an abusive relationship?

#### **Red Flags for Dating Violence**

- When a person....
- \* Jealousy:
- \* Gets angry when his/her partner spends time with other people \* Calls his/her partner over and over
- \* Emotional abuse and victim blame
- Uses derogatory language to describe partner
  Constantly finds fault with his/her partner
- \* Makes partner feel bad about himself/herself
- \* Isolation
- \* Makes all the decisions in the relationship
- \* Makes her/his partner "pay" for spending time with other people \* Persuades his/her partner to give up activities he/she enjoys

#### **Red Flags for Dating Violence**

#### When a person....

- Coercion
- \* Ignores her/his partners wishes or needs
- Manipulates or forces partner to do something against his/her will
- \* Physical and sexual abuse

  - Crabs or pushes partner
     Throws or breaks objects
     Forces his/her partner to have sex or do sexual things
- Stalking
- Harasses someone to the point of fear
   Repeatedly follows someone
- Sends frequent unwanted messages to someone directly or through friends

## If you observed a red flag in a friend's relationship....

Why might a person choose to <u>not</u> say something or do something about the behavior? Why might a person choose to say something or do something about the behavior?

#### Scenario 1

You're sitting in the Student Center with Joe and Emily who have been dating on and off for about a year. Joe excuses himself to get some coffee. You then notice Emily open Joe's backpack and take out his phone. She tells you that she has to check his texts, emails and social media to make sure he's not cheating on her. She admits to doing this often because she's worried about Joe talking with other girls. She then asks that you don't tell Joe.

- \* What could you do if Joe was your friend?
- \* What could you do if Emily was your friend?

#### Scenario 2

You're walking back from class with your friend Kayla whose cell phone is incessantly ringing. You ask her if everything is alright and she states that her ex- boyfriend John has been texting and calling her all day. Her phone continues to go off and she appears to be frustrated. Kayla tells you that John needs to know everything she's doing all the time and it's getting amoying especially since she ended the relationship three weeks ago. She also tells you that he comes to campus every day and begs her to talk about things but she refuses.

How do you respond to Kayla's concerns about Joe's behavior? What are some important components of healthy relationships?

#### Signs of a healthy relationship

#### When each person...

- \* Communication: shares thoughts and ideas
- \* Trust: Is honest and accountable to his/her partner
- \* **Connection:** Feels there are other people to rely on besides partner
- \* Balance: Has equal decision-making power
- \* Safety: Is peaceful, is emotionally supportive
- \* Boundaries: Respects someone's personal limits and privacy, recognizes a person's right to end a relationship

#### Resources

#### On-Campus

CCSU Office of Victim Advocacy 860-832-3795 Carroll Hall, 248 Women's Center Women's Center Coordinator 860-832-1655 Student Center Room 215 Residence Life 860-832-1660 Mid Campus Hall Student Wellness Services (Confidential) Health Services: 860-832-1925 Counselling Services: 860-832-1945

#### Off-Campus - Confidential

YWCA Sexual Assault Crisis Service 24 Hour Hotline: 860-233-1787 24 Hour Spanish Hotline: 888-568-8332 Prudence Crandail Center for Domestic Violence 24 Hour Hotline: 888-774-2900 Sulcide Prevention Lifeline 24 Hour Hotline: 860-273-8255 Hospital of Central Connecticut 100 Grand Street New Britain, CT 60505 860-224-5011

#### Reporting

Office of Diversity and Equity Title IX Compliance Officer Rosa Rodriguez 860-832-1652 Davidson Hall, Room 102 Office of Student Conduct Christopher Dukes 860-832-1667 Willard Hall, Room 107 University Police Emergency (Police, Frie, Medical);911 Routine Police Service Requests Dispatch 860-832-3375

Detailed information on resources and reporting can be found in your packets.



#### Questions or comments?

 Lyndsay Ruffolo, Red Flag Campaign Co-Chair ruffoloyd@ccsu.edu
 860- 832-3309

 Nick D'Agostino, Red Flag Campaign Co-Chair nicholas,dagostino@ccsu.edu 860-832-1653

Please e-mail Lyndsay or Nick if you are interested in getting involved in the campaign. We have many volunteer opportunities!

## STAND UP CCSU

CCSU Students Stand Against Sexual Violence

For most information see #34an BUPOCES





 Members of a cross-campus committee focused on violence prevention

 Professionals and students with experience in prevention and advocacy work

 Individuals who deeply care about student safety and well being here at CCSU

It happens here: Sexual Assault at CCSU

For more internation and #Dianau/DODD

 Approximately 11% of female undergraduate students experience completed or attempted sexual assault while attending college. roximately 3% of male

 Approximately 3% of male undergraduate students at CCSU experience completed or attempted sexual assault while attending college.



The majority of survivors knew the person that assaulted them them
Approximately 3% of survivors notified law enforcement
Survivors were most likely to turn to a close friend or roommate for support.





CCSU students in support of Stand Up CCSU – March 2017



#### Discussion:

Why do people choose <u>not</u> to intervene in a given situation?

a choraine an AllanduPicka

Why do people choose <u>to</u> <u>intervene</u> in a given situation?





#### Tips for Intervening

- Approach everyone as a friend
- Do not be antagonistic
- Do not use violence
- Be honest and direct when possible
- Recruit help if necessary
- Keep yourself safe
- If things get out of hand or become too serious, contact the police



An ware internation are ethanol/2008

#### Thank You. Really, we appreciate this time in class.



Sarah Dodd Office of Victim Advocacy Carroll Hali 248; 860 – 832- 3795 sarahdodd@ccsu edu

Formula information and #StempLPOCOJ

Posters

 $\overline{)}$ 

# CENTRAL CONNECTICUT STATE UNIVERSITY Ruthe Boyea Womens Center Presents... Take. Back eaker: evon Dooling

In 2012, NBA great Keyon Dooling faced a life-altering moment of choosing life over career. Dooling, formerly of the Boston Celtics, experienced a serious mental health breakdown due to PTSD suffered from keeping secret his childhood sexual abuse. The trauma of concealing this from the and friends had taken its toll. Overmedicated pa and hallucinating. Dooling entered a Boston-area hospital He began to talk about his abuse and to heal. Today, Dooling speaks publicly, examining issues of masculinity, sexual abuse and assault, PTSD, and recovery.

Wednesday April 12th 2017 6:30 pm

For More info, Contact Zoë Grant, Julia Ferraguto, or Jacqueline Cobbina-Boivin at the Ruthe Boyea Women's Center 860-832-1655 or Student Center, Room 215 Central Connecticut State University

All events are open to the CCSU community This event is being held at a handicap accessible

# Semesters Student Center





CENTRAL CONNECTICUT STATE UNIVERSITY PRESENTS -



# Why We Say Something

A Conversation with CCSU Activists Working to End Relationship Violence

# Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Alumni Hall • 4:30 to 6:00 pm • Reception to Follow



Sarah Dodd, Moderator Victim Advocacy and Violence Prevention Specialist CCSU Office of Victim Advocacy



Charisse Levchack Assistant Professor in Sociology



Stephanie Guererra Residence Hall Director Residence Life



**David Perez** CCSU student majoring in Sociology RA & StandUPccsu Organizer



Inez Bonilla Team Advisor Academic Center for Student Athletes



William Fothergill Associate Counselor Student Wellness Services Coordinator of CCSU Man Enough Initiative

Special thanks to our sponsors and community partners:

Office of Diversity & Equity



Victim Student Wellness Advocacy Life Services

**Division of Student Affairs** Administrative Athletics Affairs

Department of Psychological Sciences Department

Criminology

CCSU IS AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EDUCATOR AND EMPLOYER

# Stand Up CCSU Presents Courage Through Controversy: Standing Up To Rape Culture

DATE DATE Wednesday, April 5, 2017 TIME

тіме 4:30 рт – 6:00 рт

IOCATION Alumni Hall, Student Center

Trigger warning: This presentation does include information about sexual violence which may be triggering to survivors.

> the viral social media campaign #JustSaySorry and has contributed to several books on sexual violence. Her keynote Kamilah Willingham is a feminist writer, speaker and activist dedicated to gender equality and civil rights. She was address will explore rape myths that cloud our understanding of sexual violence, the importance of compassion for prominently featured in the 2015 campus sexual assault documentary The Hunting Ground, is the co-organizer of others and ourselves as we challenge rape culture and the future of the movement to end gender-based violence. Sponsored by the Office of Victim Advocacy, Diversity and Equity, Student Affairs, Administrative Affairs, Student Conduct and Athletics.

CCSU is an Equal Opportunity Employer and Educator

Office of Victim Advocacy

Community Community

# INTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S STRIKE Solidarity is our weapon.

# 3/8/17 @ 12 PM STRIKE IN THE STUDENT CENTER CIRCLE!

# WE, THE WOMEN OF THE WORLD,

ARE FED UP WITH VIOLENCE ADDRESSED AT US, BE IT PHYSICAL, ECONOMIC, VERBAL OR MORAL. WE WILL NO LONGER TOLERATE IT PASSIVELY. WE DEMAND THAT OUR GOVERNMENTS STOP USING MISOGYNISTIC INSULTS AND START TAKING REAL MEASURES TO SOLVE THE NUMEROUS PROBLEMS RELATED TO OUR SAFETY: FREE ACCESS TO MEDICAL CARE INCLUDING ABORTION, THE ESTABLISHMENT OF SEVERE LEGAL PENALTIES TO BE APPLIED TO OUR OPPRESSORS IN CASES OF RAPE, DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND EVERY GENDER-BASED CRIME WE ARE EXPERIENCING INCREASINGLY. WE DEMAND OUR GOVERNMENTS ENFORCE EFFECTIVE SECULARIZATION AND RECOGNIZE THAT BEFORE OUR BIOLOGICAL CONDITIONS, WE ARE FIRST OF ALL HUMAN BEINGS.

## Stand Up & Talk About It

The Hunting Ground: Film Screening & Guided Discussion March 28,2017 7:30pm-9pm Marcus White Living Room

## Stand Up & Listen

Courage Through Controversy: Standing up to Rape Culture Kamilah Willingham April 5,2017 4:30pm-6pm Alumni Hall, Student Center

# #standupccsu

## Stand Up & Take Action

## Stand Up & Dance

Stand Up Day April 10,2017 11:00am-2pm **Student Center Circle** 

Free Zumba Class with Clothing Drive for YWCA Sexual **Assault Crisis Services** April 19,2017 7:30pm-9pm Kaiser Gym, CCSU Campus



#StandupCCSU

#StandupCCSU

andu/ JUSU





CCSU is an Equal Opportunity Employer and Educator

Join the Stand Up CCSU Community Organizers and Support Survivors and the YWCA!

# FREE Deba Class Clothing Drive

Wed. April 19th 2017 Kaiser Gym 7:30pm

Participants encouraged to bring a donation (sweat pants and t-shirts) for the hospital bags the YWCA provides to survivors.

Stand Up CCSU











